We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”
Review of Sand Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Castle Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
LaPorte, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was our first trip to South Haven and the Sand Castle Inn. We could not have been more pleased with our choice! From the moment we checked in until we left, Brenda, Carlene and the staff made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. Our room (the Royal Suite) was spotless and perfect with a huge private balcony. The Inn's location is excellent as it is only one block from the beach and one block from downtown shops and restaurants. We enjoyed our time so much that we've already booked a return trip just one month later! You will love the Sand Castle Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    43
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
18
120
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in August, 2013. The Inn is beautiful, great location to town and activities. The pool was a welcome and relaxing feature. The staff, especially Brenda, were friendly and would go out of their way to assist guests. For example, when we first checked in, the central AC was not working in our room (Majestic), Brenda and Peno (?) immediately installed a window unit that kept us quite comfortable throughout our stay. Breakfast was OK, nothing special. Every late afternoon, Brenda would set out appetizers which was a nice gesture.

Our dissatisfaction was that the Inn furnishings are kind of a hodge-podge of low quality, dirty, outdated contemporary furniture. There are a few antiques and antique replicas but for the most part, it needs an update by an experienced decorator.There are significant stains on the old, berber carpeting, including in the bedroom. Yuck! We kept shoes on to avoid stepping on the unknown stains.

The biggest concern was our bedspread. After the window AC was installed, I laid down on the bed only to find dried dark stains on the bedspread, I pulled the bedspread back and there were white stains on the underside of the bedspread. I about vomited! Brenda immediately removed the bedspread apologizing profusely. There was no replacement bedspread so we went without for the next two nights with sheets. I was hesitant to use the extra blanket out of concern that it hadn't been laundered between guests.The third night, the bedspread was returned looking shining and clean...but still outdated and worn. I suspect that this Inn is not replacing the bedspreads between guests. It almost seems like a health violation.

I would recommend the Inn but I would suggest before you book, ask if they clean ALL bed linens between guests. I'd also ask if they've cleaned or better yet replaced the decade old carpeting and furnishings.

I realize it is the end of the season. There are many areas of the Inn where there is remodeling taking place.I am sure it is constantly under renovation. But, there is just no excuse for soiled bed linens and carpeting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandCastleInn, Owner at Sand Castle Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
We would like to thank the guest for visiting the Sand Castle Inn and for taking the time to write their review. We would like to ask this guest and the other readers of this review to read the one review that has come in since this review was written and the ten reviews received prior to this guest’s review.

We are in our 18th season at the Sand Castle, and a great percentage of our guests are returning guests. We couldn’t still be in business and have guests come back again and again if we did not change the linens and towels between guests! I have to assume that this reviewer mis-spoke when she wrote “ask if they clean all bed linens between guests.”

Carpets are professionally shampooed twice a year and of course, vacuumed daily. Bedspreads and blankets are cleaned as needed. The blanket on the bed is “double sheeted” so that there are three (clean) sheets on all of our beds.

We are inspected every year by two independent consultants and rated. We have never been written up by these inspectors for an unclean Inn. And, of course, we listen to all of our guests and their written and verbal comments. We are frequently complimented on the cleanliness of our Inn.

Again, thanks to this guest for visiting and reviewing us. We learn and improve by listening to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a great b and b. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts on the porch. This b and b has a pool which is very nice. The afternoon treats and evening cookies were a pleasant surprise. Located one block from the beach and an easy walk to town we will definitely return.

Room Tip: The tower room was very nice with a small private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We enjoyed our mid -week stay July 23rd-July 27th. This was our first visit to the Sand Castle Inn B &B. Carlene the innkeeper warmly welcomed us. We received a tour of the Inn and met the friendly staff. The Royal Suite-had a King size bed, flat screen TV, fireplace and a large balcony. We enjoyed the quiet getaway on the balcony each day. The Inn is conveniently located near the beach, and downtown South Haven. The walking distance was great exercise. The Outpost Outfitters rental across the street provided 7 speed bikes and helmets for our bike ride on the nearby Kal-Haven Trail. The breakfast buffet was a nice change compared to other B&B's. We are able to pick, choose and enjoy the delicious breakfasts of a main dish, a variety of pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt and cereal each day. The early evening appetizers, and late night baked goods were a nice treat to end the day. We look forward to our next visit at the Sand Castle Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAShops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We picked the Sandcastle Inn based on a family referral...we weren't disappointed! A terrific location...1 block to the beach, 3 blocks to town, and close to the bike trail. The breakfast was different, plentiful and tasty every day, plus there are appetizers in the early evening, and cookies at night. You can enjoy them all in the very cute living room, or on any of several chairs on the porch. We also enjoyed the pool area; while not huge, plenty of very comfy chaise lounges to relax in the sun. And the people who run and work at the inn were all very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Trellis room on the 1st floor has 2 twin beds, with a great semi private patio right out the back do...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLovinGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Close to town and to the beach - a perfect fit! We stayed in the "crown" room on the second floor. Nice space, fireplace, small porch (enough for two chairs). The other rooms upstairs look nice too, some have larger porches. The pool is great too for a quick dip, but not large enough if many other guests are there at the same time.
The breakfasts are okay - nothing special. Egg cassarole every day and then something else in addition as a main dish - one day it was cheese potatoes, the next: sausage gravy and biscuits, the next: sausage. Each day as a pastry selection: cinnamon rolls for two days and pumpkin bread and banana cake on a other. Fruit salad, bagels, bread, and bananas are available too. Like I said, good- but nothing remarkable.
One really nice thing - each day at 5, there is some sort if before dinner munchers available: dips, cheese and crackers, etc - enough to take the edge off while you get ready to go out for the night. Each night there are fresh cookies or brownies out too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamFitzDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband and I traveled to the Sand Castle Inn May 31-June 2nd for a weekend getaway. When we arrived we were warmly greeted and filled in on everything we needed to know about the inn. When we saw our room, the Majestic Suite, we were impressed by the cleanliness. The room was spacious, and the bathroom was very nicely sized as well. We really enjoyed sitting out on our deck. The breakfasts served were delicious, and quite filling. We also enjoyed the appetizers at 5:00 and the cookies in the evening. My husband and I did not use our vehicle all weekend. We walked all over town enjoying the shops, and the beautiful homes by the lake. We also loved walking along the lake. It was such a nice, relaxing weekend. The Sand Castle Inn was impressive and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
342 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
144 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
189 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle Inn

Property: Sand Castle Inn
Address: 203 Dyckman Ave, South Haven, MI 49090-1006
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Sand Castle Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing