We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B experience”
Review of Sand Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Castle Inn
Ranked #7 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a very well maintained and attractive property with excellent amenities, and on-site private parking. Our room (Royal Suite) was adequately furnished; bed was comfortable; effective and quiet air conditoning; clean, fresh, and inviting. Had a large porch/deck just for that room. Area is quiet, but near everything South Haven is noted for walkably. Staff was friendly and helpful; and provided afternoon refreshments (bring your own cocktail), sweets and coffee for later evening, and a tasty brekfast -- well prepared and abundant. Enough tables are available on the wrap-around porch to allow a lovely breakfast al fesco. A guest refrigerator is provided in the living room. We could not have expected more. Price was also very reasonable during the week. Will be happy to return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a lot of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

The staff was really nice which was great. We came for the film festival and they had things well in hand. Breakfast was good. The room was clean and well sized. I liked the semi-private balcony and access to a pool. Close enough to downtown to be able to get there quickly without having any of the attendant noise and traffic of downtown. Pipes clanked a bit, but that is to be expected in an older place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandCastleInn, Owner at Sand Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We would like to thank this guest for visiting the Sand Castle and for taking the time to review the Inn. We look forward to seeing this guest again at the Inn. Just wanted to make a clarification about the “clanking pipes, expected in an older place.” The Sand Castle Inn is one of the historic buildings in South Haven and has all the charm of those years. In 1996, the entire inside of the Inn was rebuilt and replaced and everything inside; plumbing, electric, furnishings, all fixtures, bathrooms, walls, ceilings, floors, everything was replaced and is brand new. Every room has its own private bathroom. For the readers of this review: the noises mentioned were never heard prior to this guest’s arrival and nothing since their departure.
Please visit thesandcastleinn.com and view the pictures of our front and side porch. Is this your idea of a fine dining room? You’ll enjoy a scrumptious hot and fresh breakfast made memorable by its gourmet quality and the sheer novelty of your surroundings overlooking the park across the street. To be precise, your surroundings are just three walkable blocks to downtown South Haven and one block to nothing but white sugar-sand Lake Michigan beaches and clean, clear water as far as the eye can see. The inn looks like a castle with towers and turrets, and it feels like a castle with 10 upscale guest rooms, each luxuriously decorated and each with its own private bath. In addition to all the amenities B&B guests expect, Sand Castle has a private heated pool in the event walking a block isn’t your cup of tea. This is a place to park your car and go everywhere on foot – to very good restaurants, dockside pubs, wineries, galleries and shopping. And most nights you get a glorious sunset over the lake – at no extra charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed three nights at the Sandcastle in South Haven Mi.. The facility was impeccably clean and the employees of the Inn were extremely helpful. Always trying to please us. Not that they were annoying, just enough so that you felt welcome. The location is perfect. So close to the beach and yet close to the river and shopping and dining. The pool was a welcome sight. Tucked in a private area and perfect temperature. Sandcastle is also affordable. We found other Inns but none with the amenities for the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Majestic Room. It has a large deck with comfortable chairs. You can sit in the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lars192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My girlfriend and I were looking for a B&B in South Haven extremely close to the lake, an outdoor equipment rental, and walking distance to the downtown strip. Sand Castle Inn was perfect for us. We were able to enjoy casual breakfast each morning, rent equipment throughout the day, and then walk to dinner each evening. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spencer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

In town on the Memorial Day Holiday visiting friends. We only needed a place for just 2 nights. Most places required a 3 night minimum. Sand Castle did not have that requirement. We stayed in the "Trellis Room". It has a private, ground level entrance with a very small patio/deck with seating and a small table. Our entrance into the home was through another door from our bedroom through the kitchen. (or we could go out our private entrance, go around the house and into the side door.) This seemed a little strange.
Bed comfort was not that great. The sheets were clean but worn and very low thread count. Our room was quite warm. No individual room temperature control. Ceiling fan worked but was a little noisy. Bathroom very clean, towels were plush, nice toiletries provided.
We enjoy staying at b & b's mostly because of the interesting people we meet at breakfast. Also, the antiques and decor. This b & b was different. There is no dining room. Guests either sit inside on a sofa or chairs in the entry way or at tables that seat 2 each on the porch. (there was one table that sat 4) The decor was fine but not really awe inspiring. Maybe I've been spoiled, but I felt like there just wasn't enough room for all the people that were there. Where is the living room or parlor? Where was the dining room? Anyway, just my personal preference. The establishment was clean and I had no reservations in putting my head on my pillow or taking a shower. The food, served buffet-style, was okay. I felt that the egg dish served on both mornings could have been cooked longer. Again, personal preference. The fruit served was quite good. But something still seemed a little lacking. The staff was quite courteous and genuine. I would stay here again but would lower my expectations. (there are two 3 story condos semi-attached to this b & b. Very close quarters and you share the pool with them)

Room Tip: Trellis Room is right next to the pool. Lots of noisy kids. Something to consider in the summertim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoBindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandCastleInn, Owner at Sand Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We would like to thank the guest for visiting the Sand Castle and for taking the time to write a review. All of these reviews are shared and discussed with our entire staff, and they allow us an opportunity to either improve or continue doing those things that are appreciated. So, thank you.

The guest stayed in the Trellis room which has a large private deck surrounded by beautiful landscaping and overlooking our swimming pool. The deck has a chaise lounge, two comfortable chairs and a table and two chairs where guests sometimes prefer to have a private breakfast together. Regarding “lots of noisy kids”, the Inn is not suitable for children under 13 and, as a practical matter, we have very few (if any) children stay at the Inn.
The Trellis Room was reviewed by another guest (see 6/29/13) who raved about the room. So, for this guest, we would like to point out that we are a 10 room inn. All of the rooms are unique and special. The guest has indicated that they would stay here again, and we would like to encourage them to do so. If this room was not a good match for you, we will reserve one of our other 9 rooms next time.

The large white wicker front and side porch is the location of choice to enjoy breakfast. Tables and chairs are available for eating. Other beautiful furnishings, including a swing seat, are also available for relaxing. The porch overlooks the park across the street and is a wonderful summer setting that easily exceeds a formal, indoor dining room for breakfast. The Inn also features a large living room inside which is designer decorated and furnished.

I’m going to take a chance and read between the lines of this review. It seems like the guest is describing bed and breakfast inns where the owner rents out bedrooms in the house and everybody eats at the family dining table at the same time forcing guest interaction. Bed and Breakfast Inns have evolved and virtually all the Inns in South Haven and Saugatuck are not operated that way anymore. Some of our innkeeper neighbors do serve breakfast at a set time. All guests are expected to be there, and, if late, the guest will not be served breakfast at all.

The Sand Castle Inn is a summer, beach side resort and presents a casual and comfortable approach to everything. No regimented breakfasts. Breakfast is served between 9 and 10:30. The seating on the front porch offers significant opportunities to meet and interact with the Innkeepers and other guests.

Hope to see all of you at The Sand Castle soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

LOVE the Sand Castle Inn! As soon as we walked in the door we felt like we were at "home away from home". The house is beautiful, our suite (the Tower Suite) was lovely and oh so comfy! Carlene is an absolute sweetheart and so is her mom! Breakfast was DELICIOUS. We loved the whole atmosphere of the Inn. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klefthelm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sand Castle Inn! We stayed in the Tower Suite. The room was very clean and very cozy! Loved the fireplace that you can turn on just by flipping a switch! The innkeeper was very nice and the breakfast that was prepared for us in the morning was delicious, too! We highly recommend staying there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
379 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#5 of 11 in South Haven
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
150 reviews
23.3 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle Inn

Address: 203 Dyckman Ave, South Haven, MI 49090-1006
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range: £105 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Sand Castle Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing