We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep this one QUIET!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seymour House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seymour House
Ranked #5 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
O Fallon, MO
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Keep this one QUIET!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed 4 nights....the best thing about this B&B is that it's awesome. The worst thing is that the next time I try and stay there, they'll probably be booked solid. Situated roughly half-way between South Haven and the Saugatuck/Dougla area on the Blue Star Highway, this is a great get-away while not being too far removed from the good restaurants and attractions of both Michigan communities. One of the best breakfast tables I've seen at a B&B in the Midwest. Patty and Mike are great hosts, wonderful cooks and the daily supply of cookies is guaranteed to add a few pounds to the waistline. Home-made preserves, maple syrup, eggs fresh from the chickens out back...If you like staying in a well-maintained house more than 150 years old...with folks who practice sustainability...this is the place!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bowhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed in August 2012 at the Seymour House. We had actually made reservations in South Haven at the Ramada but we really wanted to stay at a B&B. Our plans were made late and every place I checked was full. The Seymour House had 2 rooms which was what we needed. The rooms were lovely, spotlessly clean, bathrooms were small but clean and very well kept. Who needs a huge bathroom!!! The breakfast were gourmet and beautifully presented and tasted incredibly wonderful. We loved getting our coffee and going out to the back patio each morning. Patti and Mike were friendly and very hospitable. Waits were over 2 hours on Saturday night for dinner and so.........we got a pizza and came back to the house and ate in the dining room - enjoyed a bottle of wine and some friends enjoyed a few beers - we visited with our old friends and new friends we had just met for a couple of hours. Our stay was 3 nights and I could have stayed a week. It was quiet and peaceful. Seymour house is situated evenly between SH and Saugatuck and we were quite happy we had gotten a room in the tranquil setting of the Seymour House especially after being in both towns and experiencing the crowds of people. Don't hesitate to make a reservation.

Room Tip: If you want quiet and peacefulness and a wonderful gourmet breakfast stay at the Seymour House. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

thank you to Patty,Mike and the staff ( without forgetting two lovely cats!) for making our honeymoon so unforgettable! nice breakfasts,comfortable rooms,a lovely house. do not forget to check their book and VCD-DVD collection,especially about two world wars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayse Neslihan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you are looking for a B and B in the area look no further than the Seymour House. A comfortable and inviting bed and breakfast with the most accomodating innkeepers we have ever found in our travels. The rooms are charming, the breakfast is home cooking at it's finest and the overall service is beyond reproach. Dietary restrictions are no problem for Patty as she is very knowledgeable on these matters. My wife happens to be both gluten and dairy free and raved about breakfast. We stayed for 6 nights and could have stayed longer. Thanks Patty and Mike for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBmizzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton Harbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We had a terrific time at this year's New Years Eve Celebration. The evening was well planned, including the space between each course during dinner. This allowed us the opportunity to meet and fellowship with the other guests, who were all a delight and very socialable. Mike, Patty and their staff, especially Andrew, made everyone feel welcome and very special. All the food was homemade and extremly delicious and was at the level of a four-star resturant, including the appitizers, main entree, desert bar and even the sandwich and soup bar that was served at 12:30 am. In addition, the variety and portions of each course were not skimpy, bu abundent and plentiful. So much so, by the time the soup and sandwich bar were set-up, it was a challenge for some of us to consume much of it because we were already stuffed.

The house is beutifuly decorated. Our room was very comfortable, but we did not realize that there was no closet in that room, However, we made do with the small dresser and coat rack on the back of the bathroom door.

After having such a big dinner, the stratta, fruit and baked goods for breakfast hit the spot.

Everything was simply awesome!!!

I would highly recommend this B&B, especially their New Years Eve Package, to anyone. Regardless of who you are. Mike and Patty and their staff will certainly treat you very special.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWW41983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

It's been a month, or more, since Laura and I had the immense pleasure of spending a long weekend with Mike and Patty Kirsch in their tasteful and comfortable B. & B.

We cannot wait to get back and enjoy the warmth, the setting and the fabulous breakfasts.

Thanks so much for making the whole state of Michigan seem more inviting, not just this small corner of it.

Paul Howard

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Overall such a lovely experience...from the M & M bowl in the foyer....the best breakfasts we have ever had...comfortable rooms...friendly/knowledgeable hosts...peaceful setting surrounding the house - enjoyed our cheese and cracker tray out there and also got to know the outdoor kitty kats - Samantha and Seymour. Lots to do around this area - shopping, wineries, beaches. Dune buggy ride out of Saugatuck was great fun. We would definitely go back and recommend to others. Very good price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linboberner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
9.5 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
7.6 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#7 of 16 in South Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seymour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seymour House

Property: Seymour House
Address: 1248 Blue Star Hwy, South Haven, MI 49090-9696
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seymour House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seymour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing