We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best getaway ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Resort Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Very friendly staff, good food and the room was amazing! We will be coming back for our next special occasion. Also the couples massage is a must! Everything was perfect! Thank you so much Victoria resort staff for making our aanniversary wonderful!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Victoria Resort Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi Jon! Thanks for staying with us this past March. I'm so glad you had a great experience with us, and we're definitely looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a winter wonderland-type weekend in January 2014, and truly enjoyed it. The king size room was large and in impeccable condition. Breakfast was tasty. The staff was extremely friendly and informative, and readily supplied a corkscrew and wine glasses that we'd left at home. We would happily return!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tcw729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Victoria Resort Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts! I really enjoyed your description of the "winter wonderland-type weekend"... this has been exceptionally snowy January so far :-) Glad you decided to join us - hope to see you another time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We bid on an overnight stay at this resort from the Pure Michigan Tourism Conference and won! Hadn't been over to this side of Michigan much, but really enjoyed our trip and great hospitality of this resort. Easy booking, check in, check out...and the owner and her team were so helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very tasty and comfortable and we met two great couples and enjoyed the experience. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2JoyRiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan l, Owner at Victoria Resort Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We love hearing from our guests and do our best to make their stay as pleasant and fun as possible. Happy new year! Jan (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We needed to escape our kids, so booked a trip to this B & B in South Haven. We'd never been to this part of our state before, so really waded through the various links and reviews. It was an excellent choice, close to town, close to the beach - not that we could use it this time of year, but beautiful to watch! We chose the Mini-suite, because my normal schedule has me up early, and he has a busier second half of the day, so I could wake up and head to the little sitting room with a book while he was able to keep sleeping. Breakfast room was pretty, the dishes were even pretty and interesting. Breakfast was tasty and filling, with enough choices for anyone. I noted another lady there had been getting special dishes for a gluten free diet. Our hostess Jan was so friendly, and when we mentioned being away from the family on Halloween, and asked if we could buy a bag of candy and pass it out on the B & B porch (there's 2 separate buildings in addition to the cottages), she not only said yes, but gave us a big bowl of candy to pass out, and put towels on the chair seats of the porch because of dampness from an earlier rain. She was terrific. The lobby area of the B & B building is small, but equipped with a bowl of treats for residents, and menus to local restaurants. DO NOT MISS CLEMENTINES! There wasn't a computer for public use that I saw, but then, we went there to get away from it all, not bring it with us.

The suite was small, but had everything we needed. The sitting room had the cutest loveseat in it, along with a mini-fridge and coffeemaker. It could have used a little tv, since it made a good place for snacking, but was still a nice alternative to "all in one room". The bed was comfy and the fireplace was really welcome with the dreary weather we had our third day. There was a hot tub for 2 in the room, which felt good, but my one negative is that I have replacement knees, so had a really hard time getting in & out of it. Maybe some handicap handles in the tub somewhere? I had to rely on my husband to pull me up, since I can't flip to my knees to do it myself, and with torn rotator cuffs in each shoulder, that wasn't great for me either. However, if you don't have those issues, you'll love the room!

Downtown was in the midst of renovations, so had a number of torn up places, but since we were in off-season, it made sense as the time to do it. Pretty town, the view at night of the pier & lighthouse from the beach was spectacular. Like I mentioned, Clementine's was great and where many locals eat. We also enjoyed Su Casa for a late evening Mexican meal. The theater in downtown has 3 movies going and is really inexpensive compared to other towns. They do $.50 bucket refills of popcorn, and the B & B can hook you up with a refillable bucket to take.

Like others have said, there's bikes to borrow if you want to explore, a tennis court & basketball court, as well as a smaller in-ground pool, if you are there in the right season. Lake Michigan's gorgeous beach is a heartbeat away. The grounds themselves are beautifully landscaped, and still had plenty of blooming flowers at the end of October. There were several bench areas to sit and smile in, and grills available if you wanted to cook your own food.

All in all, a wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable getaway!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Victoria Resort Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Oh my gosh that was so much fun on Halloween! If you're available, let's plan on handing out candy next year too! And thank you for sharing about your experience with us - we really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

What a great place! We stayed in "Bushie's Bungalow" and it was exactly as neat and clean as shown in the photo on the website. The grounds are attractive and the location two short blocks from beach access. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is worth a return trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AphraB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Victoria Resort was a birthday surprise to Dawn who wanted to see South Haven. Two-hours from Chicago... An easy 3-day, 2-night excursion at a great price for being this close to sugary-sand beaches and sunny-side-up sunsets. Bicycles are provided for a short ride to the South Haven Pier and downtown shops and restaurants (you can drive too, plenty of parking at beaches and downtown South Haven).
Rooms are clean, very "homey", whirlpool tubs a very nice touch. Didn't care too much for fake, non-burning fireplaces but warmly-lit bedroom with it was a nice touch.
Staff was very helpful and courteous. Breakfast at this B&B was delicious. Highly recommend and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_And_Dawn_143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Victoria Resort was a birthday surprise to Dawn who wanted to see South Haven. Two-hours from Chicago... An easy 3-day, 2-night excursion at a great price for being this close to sugary-sand beaches and sunny-side-up sunsets. Bicycles are provided for a short ride to the South Haven Pier and downtown shops and restaurants (you can drive too, plenty of parking at beaches and downtown South Haven).
Rooms are clean, very "homey", whirlpool tubs a very nice touch. Didn't care too much for fake, non-burning fireplaces but warmly-lit bedroom with it was a nice touch.
Staff was very helpful and courteous. Breakfast at this B&B was delicious. Highly recommend and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_And_Dawn_143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Haven hotels
2.5 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
383 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Resort Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Resort Bed & Breakfast

Address: 241 Oak St, South Haven, MI 49090-2302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range: £64 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Resort is that beautiful blend of vintage turn-of-the-century resort with modern bed and breakfast amenities. Most of the rooms in the B&B are appointed with a whirlpool tub and fireplace, while a few original basic rooms are still available. The bed and breakfast is appropriate only for adults.The Victoria also offers cottages as vacation rentals, for weekly summer vacations or shorter visits during the fall, winter and spring. Some cottages have a wood fireplace and whirlpool tub, making a great getaway option for couples. Several other cottages are more appropriate for a large family gathering.On the property guests will find outdoor sitting areas, outdoor pool, bicycles to borrow, a tennis court and basketball court. The location in convenient to the public beach at the end of the street, and downtown South Haven is a ten to fifteen minute walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel South Haven
Victoria Resort Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing