We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will want to go back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Resort Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“You will want to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2005

My wife and I had the pleasure of being guests of Bob and Jan at their Victoria Resort. What a great place to stay if you want to feel as comfortable as you are in your own home. I know I cant wait to go back, and I know you will feel the same after your experience.

As soon as you get Victoria Resort, your greated by the most friendliest staff. They check you in, walk you around, and show you all that is available to you. The staff assures you that they are always available if you need anything. The rooms are wonderfully decorated, and feel more comfortable than any equal valued hotel you can find.

Breakfast has always been my favorite meals of the day, and Bob prepares one of the best! You just cant pass it up.

Victoria's location is ideal, because they are close enough to all the restaurants and shopping, yet its as quiet and pieceful as being out in the country.

Hope your stay is as great as mine was. Thanks Bob and Jan!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    43
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
227
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2005

Last weekend, my husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Victoria Resort for an autumn getaway and were very pleased with our experience for several reasons. Since we called just the day before, we needed to stay our first night in a Cozy Queen, which was very cozy indeed, but very prettily decorated and well maintained and the price was modest. The second night we switched across the hall into a Queen Mini-Suite, with much more elbow room and a sitting area, equally attractive and well maintained.
The owners, Bob and Jan, are both friendly and personable and clearly want their guests to enjoy their stay. Bob is the breakfast chef and serves freshly prepared, delicious items which vary from morning to morning, and include quiche and moist and delicious banana cranberry bread. The breakfast area is charming and looks out over the spacious front lawn to the quite street beyond.
A short walk and you are strolling on the Lake Michigan beach. A few minutes by car and you are downtown Grand Haven, where you can shop, have an espresso and dinner at several good places.
We enjoyed our weekend and will return!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2005

Enjoyed our stay. Intend to return and have already recommended to others. Warm hospitable staff, clean and spacious grounds (and rooms), food delicious, etc.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2005

Our room was one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in. My wife and I found the Victoria after a recommendation from my sister who had stayed there. We thought that what we really wanted was a place right on the beach, but the comforts of the Victoria made it the best choice we could have made - its only a block and a half from the beach. Our room was large with a king sized bed, a whirlpool tub, couch / sitting area, and a gas fireplace surrounded by custom built cabinets hiding a TV, small refridgerator, iron, video player, etc. The towels were plush and made us feel special. The whirlpool had a large water spout that filled it quickly - very nice. We slept great in the bed, the shower and bathroom were spotless, and breakfast was excellent including Bob's hustle and local knowledge. We didn't even use the pool or tennis courts but we did ride the bicycles that were provided for guests. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines, Il
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2005

Went in the Fall to South Haven for a "Sisters Weekend" and had a great time. Our 3 bedroom cottage was spacious, clean, and well-furnished. A nice deck for the early risers to have their coffee. The colors are gorgeous this time of year. Just a short drive from Chicago, this is the perfect getaway for singles, families or couples (they also have a B&B, besides the cottages). Our hosts, Jan and Bob, couldn't be more gracious and friendly. We tried everything they suggested - winetasting, antiquing, a beautiful bike-ride (Vistoria Resort provides the bikes!) down the Kal-Sag (sp?) bike path, a trip to an apple orchard, watching sunsets on the beach (just a block away), a drive to Saugatauk, and sitting at the campfire at night. Plenty to do and a great place to do it from. Friendly staff, delicious baked goods, wonderful accomodations, and a short distance to town. I would highly recommend Victoria Resort for a great getaway any time of the year, but it is especially lovely in the Fall.

Helpful?
2 Thank skycyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evanston, il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2005

We just got back from the Victorian Resort Bed and Breakfast in South Haven, Michign and my only complaint is that I couldn't stay longer. It was extremely pretty and well-kept and every person on the staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was well-designed and comfortable with a huge platform whirlpool bath that was luxurious. Breakfasts were delicious. You step outside to this charming neighborhood and can walk to the town or beaches or just around. We're planning a return as soon as possible!

Helpful?
2 Thank zazenpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2005

My family stayed at this resort not long ago & really enjoyed our stay. The food and staff were outstanding. The location is great - close to the beach. We have highly recommend this resort to our friends & they loved it too!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
2.5 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
7.0 mi away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#4 of 16 in South Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Resort Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Resort Bed & Breakfast

Property: Victoria Resort Bed & Breakfast
Address: 241 Oak St, South Haven, MI 49090-2302
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Resort is that beautiful blend of vintage turn-of-the-century resort with modern bed and breakfast amenities. Most of the rooms in the B&B are appointed with a whirlpool tub and fireplace, while a few original basic rooms are still available. The bed and breakfast is appropriate only for adults.The Victoria also offers cottages as vacation rentals, for weekly summer vacations or shorter visits during the fall, winter and spring. Some cottages have a wood fireplace and whirlpool tub, making a great getaway option for couples. Several other cottages are more appropriate for a large family gathering.On the property guests will find outdoor sitting areas, outdoor pool, bicycles to borrow, a tennis court and basketball court. The location in convenient to the public beach at the end of the street, and downtown South Haven is a ten to fifteen minute walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel South Haven
Victoria Resort Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing