We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambiance, service and friendliness make it memorable.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Ambiance, service and friendliness make it memorable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Beautiful facility - full of character, tasteful decor and wonderful common spaces (books and nooks galore)!
Excellent hosts - friendly, helpful and personable. Subtly make your stay pampered and relaxing.
Great location

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WMPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    14
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
35
427
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I wanted an end of summer escape before school started (I am a teacher). I researched online many B & B's on the west side of Michigan. We had never been to South Haven and everything I had read about the Yelton Manor was very positive. The room was a bit pricey for me, but I am a firm believer in spending money for new experiences and unforgettable memories. It was well worth it. Our room was beautiful. We stayed in the Rose Suite. The bed was very comfortable...we both slept very well. The whirlpool tub in our room was a bit tight for two, but we made it work and it was soooo relaxing. They even provide scented oils for it! The food was fresh and delicious. They try very hard to provide healthy lower fat choices with fresh ingredients. They were piloting a new coffee cake called spumoni cake which was very moist and tasty! I also tried their homemade granola which was sweet and yummy. My boyfriend loved the chocolate chip cookies which are available round the clock. The owners are ver pleasant and accommodating. They have a room stock full of DVD's for guests to choose from. our TV was a bit small, I would recommend upgrading when they have a chance...my eyesight isn't what it used to be! The owners can recommend restaurants and other items of interest for their guests. The sunset from the pier was stunning and there is a public beach on Lake Michigan across the street from the manor. We ate breakfast with two different couples both mornings and enjoyed chatting with each of them. The house itself is filled with comfy nooks and crannies and more books than you could ever imagine. All in all it was a wonderful weekend at a first class resort. Thank You!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Just returned from a weekend at the Yelton Manor with my husband to celebrate our fifth wedding anniversary. Robert and Elaine took very good care of us. The healthy, filling and delicious breakfasts were the perfect start to our days. And their recommendations for local restaurants were spot on - Su Casa and Brix Corner Oven were two favorites. The location of the Manor was great for everything we wanted to do - it's across the street from the beach, a five minute bike ride to the Kal-Haven trail and a short walk into town and to the South Beach area. We stayed in the Ivy Room which was very clean and comfortable. Stay at the Yelton Manor - you'll love it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSalle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Wonderful 2 night stay with great hosts and fabulous(and healthy) food. Loved the quiet, the beach, the books and the great restaurant suggestions. They even make your dinner reservations.Total relaxation!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed one night in the guest house (Mendelson Room) and one night in the main house (Orchid Room). Both are just beautiful. The gardens are incredible! Wow! More secluded in the guest house and a continental breakfast is left outside your door in the morning. In the main house a full hot (delicious!) breakfast is served on the main floor. The location is perfect. Elaine and Robert were great hosts and made us feel as if they were truly sad to see us leave. The price was a little steep ~ but comparable to the other B&Bs in South Haven. We will be back!

Room Tip: Stay in the guest house if you want to have more privacy/seclusion, the manor if you want to sociali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendykzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

We came to have a relaxing getaway after our wedding and it was more than we could have asked for. Robert and Elaine know how to treat their guests and make their inn a warm and hospitable place. It oozes this from the outdoor gardens, to the piles of the book stacks and yummy treats everywhere. The Yelton Manor can be equated with Grandma's house in terms of coziness!

An added bonus is that The beach Is directly across from the Inn and the downtown is also within walking distance. Great place for couples looking to get away from it all! We actually preferred to sit with our lunch and dinners on the gorgeous porch at the Inn rather than eat at the crowded restaurants downtown.

Our room was lovely too! Spacious and beautiful in the Manor Guest House. We loved having the privacy and peacefulness that this getaway at the Yelton Manor provided. We will be back!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrldtravler G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We love the gracious warmth and complete attention to detail that distinguish Yelton Manor from all other luxury B&Bs we've visited. The rooms are well-appointed, immaculate, spacious, and have a restful character; we loved the Camellia and the Magnolia rooms, both on the second floor. The website photos are lovely but do not fully capture the beauty. There are many charming and peaceful nooks throughout: a serene screened porch, a patio nestled in the gardens (we enjoyed a bottle of wine and watched the sunset from there), a second floor sunroom, and many others. There are books, baked treats, afternoon kitchen snacks, music, beach towels, and many, many details that have made our stays perfect. Breakfast is sumptuous, healthy, varied, and either private or communal depending on the guests' preference. All this being said, it is the character of the hosts, Elaine and Rob, that give Yelton Manor the extra sparkle that make it truly 5+ star. They are experienced, professional innkeepers, dedicated to offering a personalized, perfect experience for their guests. We loved their wit, kindness, and warmth.

Room Tip: There are a variety of configurations available; if you describe your preferences when you call, Rob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMurasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
2.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#5 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
22.6 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#7 of 16 in South Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 140 N Shore Dr, South Haven, MI 49090-1135
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two gorgeous Victorian mansions, named "Top of the Crop in Luxury B&Bs" by The Chicago Tribune and consistently ranked #1 lodging in Michigan by TripAdvisor! Expansive gardens, lovely decor, porches and parlors, fireplaces and jacuzzis, lake view balconies, great food, 1000's of books and video, dedicated innkeepers. All rooms have private bath, CTV/VCR/DVD, CVD stereos. Closest B&B in South Haven to sandy beaches of Lake Michigan and walkable to everything. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yelton Manor Hotel South Haven
Yelton Manor b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing