We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely First Class!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
“Absolutely First Class!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Everything was perfect. The location on Lake Michigan is just the beginning. Luxuries run deep, the food is healthy, home made, plentiful and delicious. The hospitality was warm and professional. Comfortable and very clean. Definitely one of the best inns I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the main Manor where the full breakfast is served. We loved everything about The Camelia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    15
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
37
437
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is our 3rd or 4th stay with Yelton Manor, and we can't say enough good about it! My review would echo every positive comment already posted by prior guests, so I won't take the space here to repeat it all. We have only ever stayed in the Guest House, not in the main Manor, but we would likely select a Manor room on our next visit.

Travelers should note that in the Guest House, there is no coffee or tea service other than the carafe of coffee with the delightful mini-breakfast delivered to your door (as if by magic!). I have not stayed in the main house, and I think that guests enjoy their breakfast on the main level; I don't think their food is delivered to their door. I don't believe there is additional coffee/tea served through the day at the main house either, but the main house serves popcorn, sweets and small nibbles in the afternoon, which can be enjoyed by all guests, and the owner was gracious to offer to make me a cup of tea around 4 p.m., (try their infused iced water in the kitchen! It was ultra refreshing!.)

We will go again, and next time, I'll ask for a dark room and/or bring a sleep mask! I would love to be able to give my grown children gifts of an R&R weekend here soon!

Room Tip: The only guidance I can give guests, is that if you have a special need or request, do not hesitate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgoffsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I are frequent guests at the Yelton Manor in South Haven, MI. We stay there at least once per year to celebrate our Anniversary. Why do we keep going back? Fantastic location...right across from Lake Michigan in the charming city of South Haven. Plus you are within a short driving distance of all the wonderful wineries in the Lake Shore Region (our favorites are The Round Barn and Fenn Valley).

The manor itself is very romantic...the perfect place for couples. They have many rooms to choose from, both inside the main house or in the guest house. If you want a bit more privacy, and a smaller "breakfast in bed" option, choose the guest house. If you want to mingle, meet new people and have a more traditional B&B breakfast, then choose the main house.

The Innkeepers, Robert and Elaine, always make sure all of our needs are met (including "special" needs like flowers, champagne, etc. in the room upon arrival), are quick to offer advice about what's happening in the area, will make dinner reservations, etc.

In short...we love it here and will go back every year for life.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy and don't like eating with strangers, pick the guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at in October 2013. We were warmly greeted when we arrived and then shown our room. I feel the owners and staff here go above and beyond in making you feel welcome and ensuring that you get the experience you are looking for. They served a snack when we arrived that was absolutely delicious! Cucumber water, homemade hummus, amazing jalapeño jelly and fresh sprouts were our favorites. Our room "Jasmine" was very clean and beautiful. We had a fireplace and a 2 person jetted tub in our room as well as an attached bathroom with a stand up shower. This was a first floor room and although we loved the look of the room, we would not choose it again. We were able to hear the guests using the common rooms into the evening and also were woken up in the morning. We are light sleepers, and also we booked this last minute so most rooms were already taken. None of this would prevent us from returning or recommending it to our friends and family, we just would choose a room on a higher floor next time, as we prefer a quieter room. The bed was also a little hard for our liking but again that is just our personal preference. Breakfast was delicious, nutritious and filing. The in-keeper Elaine, walked around, filling drinks, chatting and making area recommendations when requested. There are brownies and chocolate set out all the time and many quiet places to sit and relax around the Inn. They have a large selections of books and movies to enjoy during your stay if you are interested as well. This is truly a 5 star Bed and Breakfast in our opinion.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n3km
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicksburg Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

When thinking of ways to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, we of course had the Yelton high on our list. We've stayed at the Yelton three times in the past, so we knew how FANTASTIC it is for celebrating our relationship. It was an easy decision to spend this special occasion with our friends at the Yelton once again.
We've now stayed in three different rooms in our four visits, and each one is fantastic. Clean, private, quiet, luxurious, all describe the experience at the Yelton. The hosts are what really set the Yelton apart though! Each day, the hosts and staff think of new ways to make each day a new celebration with gourmet breakfasts and treats throughout the day.
To add to the experience of the best B&B in the entire region, the Yelton is located in walking distance to our favorite West Michigan small town, South Haven, and is just across the street from a great Lake Michigan beach. South Haven is full of great food destinations and small shops and of course the North and South Piers for boat watching and miles of great beaches for long walks.
I heartily recommend the Yelton Manor to anyone that is seeking the best overnight stay in South West Michigan!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. The Camelia room has both stand up shower and whirlpool tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoFastBoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Wow! Where do we start?

We were lucky this year to stumble upon South Haven (who knew Michigan had such gorgeous beaches?). And we were even more fortunate to find The Yelton Manor! The owners and staff here do a wonderful job of delivering an outstanding 5-Star B&B experience (The Manor) as well as an equally excellent but more private resort experience (The Guest House).

The property is very impressive and meticulously manicured (with love & pride). You could actually spend a whole weekend indoors absorbing the charm and character of the Yelton's connected properties. We enjoyed both The Manor and The Guest House this season during 3 separate weekend getaways and can't wait to go back next year. At breakfast or during the afternoon snack, you can get the inside scoop on the best of what South Haven (and the surrounding area) has to offer from people that live here year round. Extra touches like the fresh, homemade brownies, freshly made hummus and seasonal local fruit with breakfast made our stays special.

The rooms are all comfortable, fun and unique - and oh so very clean! And the bath rooms have plenty of HOT water. A really top notch experience from start to finish.

The Yelton's location is terrific! The picturesque water and beautiful beaches are only 200 ft from the Manor, and are visible from many of the rooms. Downtown South Haven is only a 7 minute walk, 3 minute bike or 2 minute car ride away and on the way you'll go over the drawbridge that allows tall ships into the harbor channel.

The Yelton Manor... A truly special place with wonderful people!

Room Tip: After experiencing three different rooms - all great! - the only mistake you can make is staying els...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Made a return trip to South Haven via the Kal Haven trail. The highlight was a visit with the Yelton Manor. Staff was truly above and beyond, but that's very much the norm. The Inn and the Manor House have an aura of excellence. Thank you to the Yelton Manor for another great visit. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sohatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Haven hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
339 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
189 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#7 of 16 in South Haven
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 140 N Shore Dr, South Haven, MI 49090-1135
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two gorgeous Victorian mansions, named "Top of the Crop in Luxury B&Bs" by The Chicago Tribune and consistently ranked #1 lodging in Michigan by TripAdvisor! Expansive gardens, lovely decor, porches and parlors, fireplaces and jacuzzis, lake view balconies, great food, 1000's of books and video, dedicated innkeepers. All rooms have private bath, CTV/VCR/DVD, CVD stereos. Closest B&B in South Haven to sandy beaches of Lake Michigan and walkable to everything. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yelton Manor Hotel South Haven
Yelton Manor b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing