We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearly the Very Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Everything about the Yelton Manor is for the comfort and happiness of the guests. So many great things; The food is yummy and healthy, with 2 main choices and variety of tasty sides. Real maple syrup, artisan jams and jellies all presented by a friendly staff. There is an afternoon snack with pita, hummus, almonds, home grown sprouts, cheeses and more. Little chocolate snacks are everywhere.

The Yelton rests a few short steps to the beach with the lake visible spread out right in front.The houses (there are two) are spacious, with very attractive antique furniture, placed to create a natural, comfortable flow inside. There is a large porch, dining room, den and a breezeway all set up with tables so everyone can find a place to feel comfortable.The garden is fantastic! Flowers, herbs, ornamental grasses, flowering shrubs, large pots with plants all over and all accessible by a neatly kept short grassy path. More tables and a swing are situated in the garden for relaxing out in the fresh air.

Books! Books are everywhere by the hundreds. Coffee table books, travel books, humor, love, pets, history...little piles of books, books on shelves, books in the hallways and all of it neatly stacked. I know there are more than just "hundreds" but just how many I couldn't say but there is literally a library. In the office are a formidable collection of DVD movies. Every recent title I could think of was there. Classics too. Suffice it to say that if it rains at some point, you will have something to keep you happily occupied. Let me put it this way, you don't need to bring any books with you.

Our host Elaine is a real hoot. She loves to joke and is genuinely warm and real. She and her staff are more than happy to answer questions, suggest restaurants, give directions or help with anything that can make your vacation a success. To me it seemed they genuinely cared about making you feel welcome and at home.

Finally, our room was just great. The whole house is immaculate and there is a freshness everywhere but our room had something even more special about it. The pretty stained glass, perfectly comfortable bed, neat antiques, I just loved it! I slept great and woke up completely refreshed from day one. Sometimes travelling can lead to an adjustment but I just was so pleased and happy with everything.

I can't say enough about the Yelton Manor. I've never done this before but I gave Elaine a hug when we said goodbye. I felt like we had a new friend. I would recommend this wonderful place to everyone. There is no doubt we'll stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank deefree49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have stayed at several b&bs in south haven but Yelton Manor is by far the best! This was our third trip to the manor and this year we brought along our young adult children to share in the fun! The staff of the Yelton is exemplary, from the cheerful Check-in tour guide to the expertly serving breakfast staff! Elaine is an exquisite chef with an eye to health and detail. One really feels pampered after a weekend here and we will return....the ultimate compliment!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Susan611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Yelton Manor has the best of everything! The staff is extremely friendly, and their attention to detail is second to none! The gardens are gorgeous and well cared for, and the food… out of this world!!! Everything is made fresh daily, and deliciously healthy. If you can tear yourself away from the beautiful surroundings inside the Manor, the beach is just across the street, and downtown shops and restaurants are a short walk away. Yelton Manor, the best of everything: Quality, service and hospitality!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FL_Girl201406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Once again, my wife and I a wonderful stay @ Yelton Manor. Any other choice in SoHa would never measure up. The surroundings, accommodations, and a communing of great minds with gentle spirits was the perfect blend. Service? Superior. Hospitality? Impeccable. The Sunset: Unforgettable.

Enjoy a perfect West Michigan waterside sunset... then stay the night: Yelton Manor.

Thank you, Elaine & Robert!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyD19380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our girls trips to South Haven begin with our stay at Yelton Manor. The service and attention to detail is outstanding. The gardens are a wonderful place to soak in the atmosphere. Being across the street from the beach allows early morning walks to begin your day. The inviting common rooms allow us the opportunity to visit together. Many wonderful memories and looking forward to many more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAS979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Yelton Manor is nestled in absolutely gorgeous gardens that you can tell are given a lot of love. Inside, the public rooms are filled with 100s, if not 1,000s of books and DVDs if you want to just chill. Or if the weather is sunny and warm, the beach is right across the street, and a walk to town for shopping is only about 1/2 mile. If you're a foodie, you're going to LOVE the food! All the food is made fresh at the Inn and is delicious and healthy. The Inn is immaculately clean and cared for and the staff is so attentive and relaxed that you will feel like you've known them forever. Love this place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Borninsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Revisited Yelton Manor again this Spring - a wonderful birthday trip - and the Manor was the highlight of the weekend. Innkeepers Elaine and Robert are so gracious, and the staff is so friendly - it was a pure delight. We stayed in a different room this time vs. our "regular" favorite room - but found the different rooms wonderful in its own ways (big jacuzzi tub! yay!). As a regular visitor to the Manor, I can certainly say that everyone is treated wonderfully, and welcomed as family. There are stories upon stories at the Manor, and every single time I've ever been - and I suspect that is in the double digits for visits - the quality, and the hospitality, and the absolute care and attention to detail make this B & B the premier spot for West Michigan's "Gold Coast". Definitely a "must visit" spot. I will be back, for many, many years to come - as long as I have birthdays!

Room Tip: Lilly Room is very nice and private - it oozes quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sohatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
2.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#6 of 16 in South Haven
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#3 of 16 in South Haven
135 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
15.5 mi away
Kingsley House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 140 N Shore Dr, South Haven, MI 49090-1135
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range: £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two gorgeous Victorian mansions, named "Top of the Crop in Luxury B&Bs" by The Chicago Tribune and consistently ranked #1 lodging in Michigan by TripAdvisor! Expansive gardens, lovely decor, porches and parlors, fireplaces and jacuzzis, lake view balconies, great food, 1000's of books and video, dedicated innkeepers. All rooms have private bath, CTV/VCR/DVD, CVD stereos. Closest B&B in South Haven to sandy beaches of Lake Michigan and walkable to everything. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yelton Manor Hotel South Haven
Yelton Manor b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing