We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My wife and I stayed here with her sister and husband for the weekend. Right from the start, we knew were in good hands. Robert and Elaine have the Yelton so dialed in, it seems effortless for them to run the inn. Always available for a chat, yet always giving you space as well. The inn has many nooks where one can disappear, and a great screened in porch that was our favorite spot. We'd have our long breakfast there, and end up there for some wine after dinner, chatting and not worrying if we were bothering anyone because of the layout of the place. Also, the Yelton is very devoid of lots of nick nacks that too often rule the decor of a B&B. AND, they have the largest book collection I've ever seen!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunSister_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2010

I was a very tired, stressed out mommy, looking to just get away. Who would have known that one weekend at Yelton Manor could rejuvenate me so much. Not sure if it was the amazing owners and the way they made you feel immediately like you were home, the beautiful property which is in walking distance to town and steps from the beach, the amazing cookies and brownies for all day snacking, the "good for you" hors d oeuvres that are usually accompanied by a good conversation with the staff/owners, the popcorn and variety of movies available at night if you just want to stay in, or the amazing breakfast. This place is cozy, clean, and staff is excellent. I would recommend this to anyone!!!! This is a luxury Bed and Breakfast, and if you want a 5 start place this is it!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali__09__77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The Yelton Manor is the consummate bed and breakfast run out of a lovely, fastidiously maintained Victorian house, nestled in sumptuous gardens just across the street from Lake Michigan. You are treated to a wholesome and delicious homemade breakfast every morning and scrumptious appetizers in the evening, with a constant flow of fresh popcorn and sweet snacks available in between. The house holds a treasury of delightful reading material in every crevice. There are countless DVD's to borrow for viewing in your beautiful room. The staff is very friendly and anticipate your every need. They are welcoming without being intrusive. The quaint town of South Haven is in easy walking distance to enjoy shopping and casual and fine dining. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway to an ideal home away from home, this is definitely your place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Elaine Herbert & Robert Kripaitis along with their staff have created a truly unique and "Top of the Crop " Bed & Breakfast experience. The character and charm that surronds you the minute you walk in the door is complimented with charming hosts, impeckably clean rooms (no dust or worn furniture), along with delicious whole simple natural foods that are prepared and served with flair. The staff that it takes to run this charming facility were never in sight, always working behind the scenes and were invisible making our experience even more unique. The grounds are filled with beautiful plantings and natural herbs that are used in preparing meals and ordorves at the Inn. We have traveled the world and have stayed at many different B & B's. But this Inn is top shelf and is unequaled with any of our past experiences. Elaine & Robert have created a "camelot" setting in a wonderful victorian style get-away Inn. We are planning our next trip and look forward to staying with Robert & Elaine once again. What a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenjaminCBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

This is one beautiful B&B ! The original period home has been very tastefully enlarged to include about 10 bedrooms , at least 6 parlors / reading nooks , a charming screened porch , and much more. The bedrooms are all different in size, configuration, antique furnishings and decor.
The grounds are completely devoted to flower gardens. The location is in easy walking distance to the Old Harbor tourist area and the beach. In addition , they have a 2nd beautiful period house on the property with additional bedrooms : I didn't see the interior but I'm sure its as great as the manor house.
What changed my mind about the B&B experience? The building decor,furnishing and maintainance is equal to the finest hotels. It is designed to give residents lots of options for relaxing and breakfasting in the common areas , while still having a good degree of privacy.
The proprieters are friendly , professional and dedicated to making their guest's stay the best ever. The gourmet breakfast was excellant too. I'm looking forward to next time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmitch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

First timer and it was excellent. The kindness and helpfulness made it very relaxing. The location was outstanding as it provides an easy walk to Lake Michigan. After a long day of sun, the jacuzzi is much needed with a glass of wine. The house was very peaceful and quiet. There were delicious desserts to snack on and a spectacular homemade breakfast in the morning. As if that doesnt sell you, a sensational garden out front that provides lots of green foliage and pleasant aromas for one to enjoy. This was a great place and I cannot wait until I go back. I definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy01mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Yelton B&B over this past Memorial Day weekend. It took me until today, almost a week later , to write this review because I have been basking in the afterglow of our stay ever since.
We stay in B&B's every chance we get when we go out of town and rate Yelton at the top of our list. The rooms are meticulously clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The food is truly gormet and can't be beat. The staff is friendly, helpful and all smiles.
The wide white sand beach is literally right across the street and the gift shops, just a short walk away, are everything you would expect to find in an old beach front tourist town.
Don't miss this gem if you are in the area and looking for a great B&B experiance.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOPRALLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
2.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
22.6 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#6 of 16 in South Haven
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 140 N Shore Dr, South Haven, MI 49090-1135
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range: £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two gorgeous Victorian mansions, named "Top of the Crop in Luxury B&Bs" by The Chicago Tribune and consistently ranked #1 lodging in Michigan by TripAdvisor! Expansive gardens, lovely decor, porches and parlors, fireplaces and jacuzzis, lake view balconies, great food, 1000's of books and video, dedicated innkeepers. All rooms have private bath, CTV/VCR/DVD, CVD stereos. Closest B&B in South Haven to sandy beaches of Lake Michigan and walkable to everything. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yelton Manor Hotel South Haven
Yelton Manor b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing