We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“been in better Baymonts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Reviewed 4 August 2014

walked in to view an open towel door behind the front desk ( not a welcome sight) ...Elevator must have been built in the early 1900's ( moved extremely slow) ....Seemed as though no one put fresh items in the room ( 1 pack of sugar, 2 Decaf Coffee's w/ no regular, no soap) ....Payed by Priceline in advance ($142) , but REALLY glad I happened to check my Bank Account when I got home because there was a charge for $250 taken from my account !! When I called to inquire why , I was nicely told that the room was a non-smoking room ( my wife and I are in our 60's and don't smoke)...I was apologized to and told that they were re-crediting our account as we spoke ...however , when I called in later that day to inquire why the $$ was not credited yet, was told that it would take 7 to 10 days! (funny, it took them less than 15 hours to TAKE my money, but now I have to wait 7-10 days for them to replace it ? )Free internet Sewrvice ? Very Poor ! Anyways, I have stayed at a number of Baymonts, but will consider others when visiting next time .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Baymont_S_Haven, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your concerns. We apologize that your experience here at the Baymont wasn't a pleasant stay for you. As new management has taking over this hotel new improvements are to come and our staff is up for any suggestions our guests would like to offer. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced here. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked this hotel simply because there were no other hotels /B&Bs left available for our family of 4. Luckily we only needed to spend 1 night.

A majority of the staff are very unprofessional and not too friendly.

The beds are uncomfortable and AC very noisy – we ended up turning it off and opening the window. Unfortunately that didn’t help since at the back of the hotel there is a Wall Mart with its trucks and right behind it is the highway – thus a lousy night’s sleep.

The breakfast was a disaster. The food choices are very limited. This is one of those hotels that appear to dilute the orange juice from concentrate with water and then add sugar to it – gross! In addition, the breakfast room was simply a zoo – packed with people and there were not anywhere near enough tables and chairs for all. After eating a couple of bananas and trying a sip of juice (while standing up) we left the room. This is especially disappointing considering a steep price per night in this hotel (~ $200) – what a rip off.

I have to say that the room itself was clean. Regardless, when we will be planning our next visit to South Haven, I will make sure to make plans way in advance in order to avoid ending up with this place again. Do not recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Baymont_S_Haven, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our hotel has many upcoming updates that will be improving our hotel for a better experience for our guests. Our breakfast is continental and we are open to any suggestions that our guest would like to offer. We apologize your stay wasn't a great experience and hope you check out our hotel improvements in the future. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

No value here, high cost for a not great place, half the place was under construction, people were noisy, we were on the first floor and could hear everyone walking above, sounded like herds of elephants, the people were nice but not overly helpful, the breakfast had gravy and biscuits, waffles (if you wanted to wait 10 minutes per person in line), and cereal. Bottom line, find someplace else.

Room Tip: Make reservations early enough to get a room somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HyDee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Baymont_S_Haven, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We are in a tourist town and the busiest time for business is in the summer as well as the best time for out side repair work. We do apologize for thee inconvenience. We are under new management and are improving many different things within the hotel and we appreciate your concerns with the amount of waffle makers we have for our guest and will take into consideration. We again apologize for the unpleasant stay you had experienced. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank muffinjules79
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM_Baymont_S_Haven, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Nolan F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM_Baymont_S_Haven, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
1  Thank PatValind
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM_Baymont_S_Haven, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM_Baymont_S_Haven, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
15.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
17.4 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven

Address: 1555 Phoenix St, South Haven, MI 49090-7908 (Formerly Ramada Lighthouse Inn and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range: £58 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baymont Inn & Suites is a 100% non-smoking hotel conveniently located just off of I-196 on Exit 20. We offer Deluxe Complimentary Breakfast Bar, Indoor Heated Pool and Hot Tub with adjacent Sundeck, Fitness Room, Free Wireless High Speed Internet, Business Center, Full Service Conference Center with Catering provided by Brann’s Catering, Meeting Room with a capacity of up to 50 people. All guest rooms offer Microwave, Mini-fridge, Hair dryer, 32” LED TV and Coffee maker. We are 1 mile from downtown South Haven's shopping district and 1.5 miles from the beaches.Our Conference Center is perfect for Wedding receptions, Family/Class reunions, Birthday Parties, Business meetings or any other large events of up to 300 people.Our Award winning staff will help fulfill any of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Lighthouse Hotel South Haven
Ramada South Haven
South Haven Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing