We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complimenting the work of Halima”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - Northwestern Hwy.
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I have been staying in hotels all over the world in the course of my travel for my job, and was so impressed by the way Ms Halima conductes her job and herself. She is always very professional, curtious and and very knowledgeable about her job. I was so impressed with her understanding of any details that deals with my stay whether its explaning my bills or directing me to somewhere or giving me details about how to get whatever I needed, that I felt I had to log on and express my appreciation for everything she did and the way she handles her job, She definitely made me feel so much at home that I will definitely encourage my friends to stay in this hotel whenever they come to Michigan hoping they will have the good fortune to get to stay when she is on duty.She is definitely an asset to this organisation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor away from traffic noise and quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chibuzor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - Northwestern Hwy., responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Chibuzor,

Thank you very much for your great review of your stay at our Homestead Studio Suites Detroit – Southfield. Your kind words about the service you received from Halima is so wonderful to hear and very encouraging. I’m so glad Halima took such good care of you and that great service made you want to recommend our hotel. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

I never been to Detroit before and i was suppose to stay with my cousin but they didn't have any power so i had to check into a hotel i seen the hotel off the free way so i went to see their avalibilty i no it was about 10am but i was tired the clerk was so helpful she got me a early check-in and was so nice she even called me to make sure my room was comfortable her name was Conswella yes i if i ever come back to Detroit thats were i would stay now that's customer services .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - Northwestern Hwy., responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at our Homestead Studio Suites Detroit – Southfield. It’s wonderful to hear how our staff, and Conswella in particular, took such great care of you. Thank you for posting this review. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed at the Homestead Suites (Southfield, MI) previously and really enjoyed my stay. Conswella was very helpful and also a very hard worker dedicated to her duties. Whenever I came to the guest services desk she was very friendly and knowledgeable about near by restaurants and shopping establishments. Conswella is an excellent asset to the Homestead Suites and if I visit the Detroit area again I'll know that I will always feel at home.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryJerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - Northwestern Hwy., responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the Homestead Studio Suites Detroit – Southfield. I am so happy to hear Conswella took such good care of you. It’s always great to hear how our staff is delivering on our commitment to great guest service. Thank you again for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed one night, 3-29-12. When I walked into the lobby, staff was talking and not very welcoming. Ingrid was nice. The first room they gave me, the sheets had old stains or iron scorches on them. The second room, kitchen area was clean but there was a spot on the ceiling that was peeling....and left hanging. The mattress was not comfortable & I didn't sleep well. Both rooms, the Ottoman had multiple stains. I had no remote for the tv, and they never brought one that worked. My first & last time staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyJB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - Northwestern Hwy., responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience at Homestead Detroit - Southfield. Providing for your total satisfaction, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, is my staff's primary duty. Hearing that we failed in your case is truly disheartening, and for that, I offer you my sincerest apology.

Please understand that maintain strict quality control standards, which demand that every room is inspected prior to making it available to our guests. Clearly there was a failure in our system during your stay. In response to your comments, I’ve personally met with all of our staff and used your review to demonstrate in which specific areas we can improve.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed at the homestead while visiting Detroit for a week.The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was nice with a kitchen and free wi-fi. The area was safe and there were several restaurants near by. I would definently stay again.

Room Tip: The deluxe king rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - Northwestern Hwy., responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to publish such nice comments of your stay at the Homestead Detroit - Southfield. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. The biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our company motto is "Excellence Every Day, Every Way," and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice; after all, that's how Extended Stay Hotels(sm) got to be the largest extended stay lodging brand in North America.

We hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I have been staying at the Homestead Hotel in Southfield, Michigan since shortly after it opened until the present time. I stay at the hotel every other week. The hotel has become my "home away from home" .... the management and staff are great .... they are like family. They all take great care to make sure that my stays are always without any problems. I will be coming to Michigan for the next few years and this is the only place that I will stay ... mainly because of the management and staff.

Michael De Fortuna

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - Northwestern Hwy., responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Michael,

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Homestead Detroit - Southfield. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Exterior looked okay, but once I walked into the lobby the impression changed right away. The room was even worse. The whole corridor smelt like paint, and as soon as I opened the room door I saw a run down kitchen counter top. Furniture seemed to be from the 80's, and my wife said 20 years ago it was probably a nice hotel, but I guess the up keep was lacking. The whole sink top in the bathroom was scratched up and it was made from hard plastic. The tube TV was for sure from the 80's, and the mattress of the bed felt like it only had 7 spring coils in it. The carpet was all right. The mirror closet door was cracked and the track was sort of grinding when I tried to slide it open. The two chairs were both dirty with stains. Nothing from the kitchen I would use for cooking because they looked foul and filthy. I actually thought about bidding for another room in the area and check out right away, but there was no internet access. I called the front desk and she said it was $4.99 a day plus tax for internet. The worst part of our stay was that they put us next to a few rooms that housed about a dozen people who partied all night till 5:30am going in and out of their rooms slamming the doors---I could not believe the front desk did not put a stop to their partying, because I am quite sure their noises made were heard even at the front desk since we were on the ground floor. I hardly slept and I was dragging myself into our car driving back to Toronto, Ontario. I had to make frequent stops because of that for I was so fatigued. This hotel is 1 star at best, and I would not trust Priceline ratings any more, because last time we go to Chicago we also won a 2 star hotel room at the airport and it turned out to be a 1 star at best also.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank lasallejai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southfield
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - I-696
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#2 of 20 in Southfield
294 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#4 of 20 in Southfield
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 20 in Southfield
64 reviews
2.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Farmington Hills
Extended Stay America - Detroit ...
#10 of 13 in Farmington Hills
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - Northwestern Hwy.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - Northwestern Hwy.

Address: 28500 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034-1802 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Detroit - Southfield)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range: £56 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - Northwestern Hwy. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - Northwestern Hwy. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Southfield
Homestead Suites Southfield
Southfield Homestead Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing