We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wedding week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We booked a couple of suites for the bridal party for my daughter's wedding. They stayed three nights and had a fine time. We also booked the conference room for the bridal shower which was not the best experience because of the stench in the room where the garbage disposal had gotten stopped up...yuck. They probably should've given us some kind of discount on the use of the room, but oh well. Then hubby and I also had one night at the hotel after the wedding. Our stay was fine -- the room was adequate and clean. The staff was extremely accommodating and nice to our group and even allowed us to have a late check-out. Other than the stinky conference room, we had a great experience with this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickiKaye714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    32
    13
    13
    18
See reviews for
31
12
3
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Let me begin by saying I'm a Starwood girl. I'm usually inclined to pay more for a Starwood property - especially a Westin. I love my heavenly bed and bath and the hospitality of the brand. However, this time, the Westin was over $100 more/night than this Holiday Inn Express. Not only did I get a great value but we had an excellent stay. Got an upgrade to a Full 2 room King Suite which was quite nice (and it had a jacuzzi tub.) They had a small but well-kept pool, jacuzzi and fitness center. Breakfast was a particular highlight. Hot eggs, pancake bar, and many great options. Holiday Inn Express just keeps stepping it up and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor near the exit doors and it was fairly loud with people coming and going b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djrhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

When I first walked into the hotel and went up to the front desk there were 2 cans of bug spray sitting on the counter at the check in window. Fortunately, I did not encounter bugs in the room and the clerk said the spray was for the outside. The hot water in my room was brown when i initially ran it but then it cleared after I let it run for 10 minutes or so. The next morning while having breakfast I heard water running in the lobby area and wondered if I had missed seeing a water fountain the night before upon check-in. I looked over at the lobby desk to see a steady stream of water flowing from a dislocated ceiling tile right behind the desk clerk who promptly made a quick call and then ran to a backroom for towels that he used to dry off the counter. The biscuits and gravy are my favorite breakfast item HIE has but I have to stay away from them due to the carbs so I usually eat hard boiled egg...well the eggs were sitting in water and I have never encountered this at a HIE before so I passed on the eggs as well

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

One night stay with two other girl friends. Requested a queen suite with two beds, as there were three of us, however they only had a king-suite, which turned out to be ok. There was a pullout for the third girl, which was very uncomfortable. The hotel was newer and the rooms were clean and modern. Other guests were a little loud and room A/C and heating didn't remain consistant. Nice free-continental breakfast, with hot and cold foods. $100 for the night, but wished they would have offered free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Follansbee, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Conveniently located with huge 2 room suites, 2 TVs, well maintained and clean. Nice indoor pool and excersize room. Spacious breakfast room to enjoy a decent breakfast with a good variety. Very friendly staff. Plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

As a frequent traveler, I stay at this hotel once a month or so on business and am always satisfied. This is a suite hotel, so all the rooms are mini-suites, with a bedroom and a front room with microwave, sink, refrigerator, small table, and sleeper sofa, with TVs in each. I like having a refrigerator and microwave so that I don't have to eat out every night and can prepare my own meals. There are some quick service restaurants in the immediate area, like a Qdoba and Chipotle, and there is a hot dog stand (a "Coney," in the lingo of Detroit) next door. The breakfast is the usual Holiday Inn Express, with something for everyone. The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. Some of the equipment in the workout room is a little beat up, but it all works fine. After a dozen or so visits, I'm happy to continue visiting this particular Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilentDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Spent one Saturday night at this suburban HI Express. Under $100 for a King Suite, two rooms, two TV's, wet bar and free wi-fi. Quiet. Spotless. Usual HI Express breakfast: nothing fancy but plenty of fruit, cereal, yogart, juice and, of course, those cinnamon buns. Extra bonus: largest small hotel swimming pool I've seen. No complaints whatsoever. Great value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 19 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
1.9 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#6 of 19 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield

Property: Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield
Address: 25100 Northwestern Highway, Southfield, MI 48075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southfield Hotel near downtown Detroit destinations. Conveniently located near I-696 and Highway 10, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Southfield keeps travelers connected to the popular attractions and major businesses of downtown Detroit. From the Detroit Art Institute to the Henry Ford Museum, Detroit's legacy appears in many historical attractions. While staying at our Greater Detroit hotel, outdoor lovers can enjoy skiing at one of several local ski resorts during the snowy winters, or they can enjoy water activities at one of the many local lakes during the summer. The growing Southfield community hosts a diverse range of concerts, movies and dining options, such as Arturo's Jazz Theater and Restaurant. This growing community makes for a booming economy, since Southfield is now the premier business district of Detroit. You'll find more than 9,000 businesses and 80 Fortune 500 companies within minutes of this hotel in Southfield. We meet business travelers' needs by offering four meeting rooms and a 24-hour business center. Why settle for disappointing, cheap hotels in Detroit when you can stay in this Southfield hotel offering free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and a new fitness center? Other hotel amenities include a heated, indoor pool, whirlpool and a hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. Call Southfield's Holiday Inn Express hotel now for great room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield Hotel Southfield
Holiday Inn Southfield
Southfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing