We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice oasis for business or family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice oasis for business or family”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Clean suite like rooms with lots of space, solid appointments and clean. Parking around hotel a little tight. No on site eating facility but a few fast food places close. Good gym and in door pool. Breakfast comp,I entry in AM but very limited. Staff friendl. Has Inn Room Service and Pizza Dekivery and a Tim Hortins ne5 door. 20 minutes to downtown Detroit in non rush hour.

Room Tip: No issues as it sits far enough off highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acieu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    45
    21
    14
    6
See reviews for
56
22
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Firstly, this hotel is providing a canned response here at this site. The poorly written canned response certainly reflects how this place is managed.

The service at this hotel was great. It really was. The cleanliness of the room and bathroom were barely OK. I got a crazy great low rate at this hotel but I got what I paid for. The walls are paper thin and I could hear several conversations through the night. I got to be candid about this next part. The hotel attracts an interesting crowd, to say the least, because the price was low. The hotel was noisy because of families staying there on a short term basis.

Stay here if you need a low rate and can sleep through anything or your not concerned about who else might be staying near you. I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: A room away from families using the hotel as an apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jooksing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSHSSouthfield, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Thank you for staying at the Springhill Suites by Marriott during your last visit to Southfield, Michigan. We understand that you have a choice when you travel, and we’re so glad that you chose us for your accommodations. It was our pleasure to have had you stay with us. I would like to extend an apology regarding your comments about your last stay with us. I understand other guests in the hotel can make or break your view of a hotel and I hope that you understand we try and limit any guest complaints during a stay. We do have a security guard that assists in monitering the hotel on the weekends and if you do ever choose to stay with us again, please make sure to contact the front desk for any issues you may be having during your stay so we can make sure we are attending to each and every guests needs. Every day our team works hard to exceed our guest's expectations. We appreciate all feedback to the hotel so that we can communicate your feedback to our staff, as every comment back to us, both positive and negative, will only make us stronger as a team and help us to improve all areas of the hotel. Thank you again for staying with us and it is my hope you will choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Overall just a typical average springhill suites. Nothing particularly unique about the property. The breakfast is what you expect for a free breakfast. Location is very convenient and easy to find. My biggest complaint would be the noise level. I have never seen a hotel with such thin walls. You can literally hear everything in the halls and in the rooms next door. It gets very annoying, very quick when your trying to sleep at night.

The pool area was just okay but always seemed to be messy and out of towels. The room itself was nicely furnished but it was the little things like the cheap pillows or the paper thin sheets that were really tacky. Maid service was extremely sloppy as two days in a row the maid didn't even put new towels on the racks when she cleaned.

Overall its just an okay property but definitely could use some improvements. The price was right so I can't complain too much. I would stay here again if i could get another cheap rate but definitely not my first hotel choice in southfield.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSHSSouthfield, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for staying at the Springhill Suites by Marriott during your last visit to Southfield, Michigan. We understand that you have a choice when you travel, and we’re so glad that you chose us for your accommodations. It was our pleasure to have had you stay with us. Every day our team works hard to exceed our guest's expectations. It is our goal to not only meet all of our guest's needs and expectations, but to also exceed them. After reading your review I do see that this time, this did not happen and for that I apologize. We would like to be your first choice for hotels in the Southfield area and any feedback you have given us will help us to improve the hotel. The housekeeping comments you have made in regards to the sloppy housekeeping service have been addressed with our staff as well as the pool area looking messy. We hope that the next time you are in the area and stay with us, you will see the improvements we are making at the hotel. We appreciate all feedback to the hotel so that we can communicate your feedback to our staff, as every comment back to us, both positive and negative, will only make us stronger as a team and help us to improve all areas of the hotel. Thank you again for staying with us and it is my hope you will choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My company has it's HQ in Southfield, so many of us travel to the area frequently. I always stay at the Springhill Suites and I have never been disappointed. I was really happy that they finally put in flat screen tv's and replaced the coffee makers with one-cup styled machines. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. They have everything you need for a longer stay (mini fridge, microwave, nice work desk, sofa, etc). The a/c & heat can be a little loud, but that's my only negative. The breakfast is one of the better hotel assortments - plenty of eggs, sausage, waffles, oatmeal, etc. Next door is a Tim Hortons and a deli.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the top. I never heard traffic rooms closer to NW Hwy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynterslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I was visiting my grandchildren in Hamtramck. Due to the after effects of Hurricane Sandy winds, the electricity went out. With 2 little ones I decided to get a hotel with electricity for however long it was going to take. This hotel was awesome in being kind and helping us find 2 rooms so quickly. I am a Marriott Platinum and used to staying in top Marriott lines, so was very pleased to see how clean, well kept, and nice this Springhill Suites was in Southfield MI. We will definately come back to stay here when we have a
chance.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illinoistanner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I travel to the area for business once a year and always enjoy staying at the Springhill in Southfield, MI - the staff are always friendly (especially the lady who puts out the breakfast) and the room rates are excellent considering how upscale the hotel is.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I travel a lot refereeing Ice Hockey throughout the East and Midwest, and stay at a lot of Hotels. This one for the price is very hard to beat. We usually try and save as much as possible for scheduling hotels; and this hotel is a bargain for what you get. The lobby is nice, elevators convenient. Not to mention the rooms are extremely clean, and the rooms are very spacious. We had a fridge in ours which is a trivial feature I think many forget, this is important to me. Not to mention free Wi-Fi is very nice for these hotels. Most in this price range do have it; however the nicer ones tend not to have it and make you pay. You get a one day complimentary wireless. Beds are comfortable, and very important to me is the location. This is located in a great area to travel, not to mention a safe one. Other than that, pretty simple with a pool. The breakfast was just acceptable, not any eggs, bacon, or sausage just yur basic pastries, cereal, and some fruit with juices. All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southfield hotels
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#2 of 20 in Southfield
281 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#4 of 20 in Southfield
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield

Property: SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
Address: 28555 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034-1824
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Springhill Suites Southfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing