We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food ,service and atmosphere”
Review of Beans & Cornbread

Beans & Cornbread
Ranked #2 of 201 Restaurants in Southfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic food ,service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our first visit and as my husband said.".We found our new favorite place to eat".From the moment we walked in we were greeted by friendly wait staff and seated.The restaurant is both cozy and gives you a feel for being in New Orleans.Loved all of the vintage family photos.The corn bread and sweet potato poppers were brought in a basket and they were so delicious I could have made a meal on them ;) The gumbo tastes amazing and both of us were very pleased with our dinner entrees. I had pork chops with friend okra and red beans and rice.My husband ordered the cajun salmon and said he would definately order it again when we return....which will be very soon! The quality and the quantity of the food served combined with a very helpful and friendly wait staff is very hard to find ...but we did this evening!!Thank you Tameka for wonderful service!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryemc1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    68
    23
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Down Home Soul Food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Love the food! If you like down home Soul Food this is the place for you. Small and quaint resturant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kdubb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
398 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good Gumbo and Cornbread!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Visited my son in Detroit for Father's Day. He previously lived in Southfield and always wanted to try Beans & Cornbread. Tonight we tried it and we were not disappointed, Great Service and the cornbread and gumbo as starters were outstanding. Full of flavor; a must have. Our party of 5 tried several meals and all were very good. The shrimp and grits were a hit, shrimp and sausage had a spicy bite. Excellent. If you are in the Detroit area and want soul,or Louisiana Cajun food; try Beans & Cornbread - A real treat!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PITTparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh, pa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Glad for the referral!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A friend of a friend suggested the place.....

FANTASTIC food, value, and service
Downhome southern food, I think I might have tried everything....and nothing disappointed. Would definitely return next time I am in Detroit!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Group meal”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Was not billed as quoted in advance
Buffet was not buffet friendly, and we had to keep waiting for food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beans & Cornbread also viewed

 

Been to Beans & Cornbread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing