We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Five Guys

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Five Guys
Ranked #29 of 201 Restaurants in Southfield
Cuisines: Fast food
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Sterling Heights
Level Contributor
195 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A great place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I meet my buddy for lunch once a week. This week it was at Five Guys. This is about the 10th time I have eaten here and I have never had a burger that wasn't hot and tasty. They should be because they are cooked to order. There is a long list of condiments to chose from and all are included in the price. The free peanuts in the shell are better than you get at the ball park.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DETROIT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GOOD GRUB”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Short menu of items prepared to order. There are peanuts to snack on while waiting for your order. Popular among area laborers and commercial drivers. Delicious two-hand burgers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MARCUS_WAS_HERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Really can't go wrong here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Five Guys to me is one of the better burgers around. They're always fresh and the availability of condiments on them is pretty darn good. You really can't go wrong with their burgers here. They're made to order so you're not getting a burger that was made ages ago and kept warm underneath a heat lamp.

The fries are also more than ample although inconsistent to me. Sometimes they can be greasy and sometimes they can be a bit dry, but more than enough fries to accompany any meal.

If you're looking for ambiance, this isn't the place. They've still got high praise ads and testimonials from all over the country but that's starting to wear a little thin. Who really cares about a five star rating they got five years ago in a city we've never visited? So yes, they need to upgrade their dining room somewhat. But again, Five Guys has never billed themselves as high end dining. It's not a place one wants to impress a date nor propose in, but if one wants a good burger + fries, this isn't a bad place to go to!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smogboy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
272 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was my first time trying Five Guys Burgers and Fries. I had a bacon cheeseburger and I thought it was outstanding. They cook the burgers well done. You can choose the toppings. So it makes it very easy to order. I also tried fries. They were good, but nothing special. My bacon cheeseburger was $7, which is not cheap, but worth it in my opinion. Lady who took the order was polite. Gentlemen who were making burgers were working hard and concentrating on what they were doing. Place was clean. I really liked the burger, so I will be back. And now that I tried Five Guys, I will visit their other locations. The one I visited today in Southfield is not in a most upscale area. It is safe though. It's mixed. I was there to have a burger, not to marry anybody. Really appreciate those guys hard work.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 135catherineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great grilled cheese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

As vegetarians, we often have trouble finding decent food on the road. The grilled cheese sandwiches at this location were nice and stuffed, and the fries were delicious. The peanuts a nice way to take the edge off of your hunger as you wait for your food. The only thing that was missing was the Coca-Cola combo machines that many other locations have. We had to stick to plain old Coke products without extra flavoring.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Batfan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Guys also viewed

 

Been to Five Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing