We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even go near this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marvin's Garden Inn
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Reviewed 1 September 2013

If I could rate this with a negative number, I would. Reservation was made through another site and was based on overall ratings and economy. Before the arrival of my travelling companion, checked in and looked over the room. Musty, odorous and shabby. The shower door was broken and immovable, rendering the shower useless. Lighting was horrible and lampshades were lacking finials to hold them in place. Asked for another room and was given the one next door. Actually worse. Coffee pot above the toilet?!! Walls with cracks. Worn sheets and box springs wrapped in plastic. Dirty, streaky windows. Unidentifiable stains on the chair. Lacking a clock/radio or even a phone to contact the outside world. Vacuum cleaner being used in the hallway at 9pm. Loud patrons, including children running up and down the halls. Persons of questionable character walking the grounds. Not many television stations, but of those available were multiple freely viewable porn channels. How could one even think of having children stay here??!!

Within moments of the arrival of my travelling companion, we immediately booked another place nearby (yes, a REAL hotel) and left Marvin's Den of Filth.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tcmcentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

we stayed again this year because last year we found the place to be ok. a few streets away from the woodward dream cruise but once you know where you are going its easy to get around but watch those no left turns. was a bit disappointed this time as the first day went to get some breakfast at 20 after 9 and there was no coffee even left or made up. thank goodness for coffee machines in the rooms. bring some filters and coffee with you as their coffee is not strong enough for the four cup machine. i think they should leave their breakfasts open till at least 10 am. we are on holidays and go to bed late and get up a bit late too. the dennys down the road is closed now so breakfast was a bit harder to find in that area. for the time we spent in the room it was ok and we had the pay for two days and the third was 1/2 price. no pool or anything. wished they had chairs to sit outside your room. read reviews of shootings, etc going on and never heard anything. i noted that it was patrolled by the police quite a bit so that made you feel safer. we had no problems. The rooms could use deodorizers. bathroom was nice. shower was great. staff was helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I booked this hotel via hotwire.com that showed it as a 2.5 star along with Holiday Inn and Best Western. The name of the hotel was not listed in the representative list so I searched for it after I was misled into purchasing the deal. The online reviews were scary (shooting and violence at the hotel), nevertheless my wife and I figured we would actually visit the hotel and check it out.

I came in from Canada, and when I gave the name of the hotel to the immigration officer, he expressed his surprise and commented that we should change our hotel. Our visit to the hotel confirmed the immigration officer's and the online reviews.

The building is in a dilapidated state, the rooms are musty and badly maintained, everything is shabby. Within a few minutes we decided to leave the hotel and requested the receptionist if we could get a refund. Not even once did she ask her what our concerns were and if there was anything the hotel could do to fix the problems (they couldn't even if they wanted to).

We ran as fast as we could from this place, and I am still aghast at how this hotel could be referred to by hotwire. My request to review the rating of the hotel and refund my amount has been met with a polite reference to hotwire's clauses.

Bottom line: even if you accidentally book this hotel, you will be is better off losing your money rather than staying here.

Room Tip: Just avoid this hotel at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rwbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Needed place to stay for wedding last night. Watching MSNBC tonight and seeing police arrest prostitutes at this hotel. Funny thing is we got back from wedding and walking into hotel I said to my wife there were a lot of girls wearing really short dresses. Find another place. Must be rough area because you have to talk to clerk through speaker after 9 pm

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Justanhonestreview4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The rooms are not equipped with irons but a steamers which is fine. Once we realized our did not work we asked for an iron and the hotel states we would need to pay a $10 deposit for this which does not fly as they should be providing something that works in the first place!! Lena the front desk agent is rude and has a very smart mouth as she became irritated at the fact we refused to pay deposit for iron. Despite this it was promptly brought to our room.

Secondly I felt from the look of the hotel I would take my stuff each day (had a 4 night stay) just to be sure things were secure in my car however I mistakenly left a pair of real gold earring in the room. After I spoke with the manager she informed me I can speak with the housekeeper as she turned in a necklace from a room earlier that she found. First why would you have a guest speak with your staff to only get more upset. She took down my number and stated she would call with final outcome as I felt I needed to be compensated but nothing. I have even emailed her and no response. I knew during our conversation she wouldn't keep her word.

Again Staff attitude even manager Faye is horrible . Do Not Stay!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cpinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel is definitely lacking modern amenities. My room had a microwave and a refrigerator, but I was unable to have both plugged in at the same time. The sound on my TV was going, making it impossible to watch because the muffled noise was unbearable. I had to be careful when opening/closing the shower doors, I was worried they were going to fall off. Wouldn't touch the breakfast to save my life, I wasn't sure how old the milk was. The WiFi works occasionally. Front desk staff had a hard time figuring out my business reservations and which days I needed a room for, even with direction. Just a basic hotel, nothing fancy. Next time I would pay a little more and stay somewhere nicer where I felt safer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyjean0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

Small lobby. Hardly a "deluxe contenential breakfast" - juice milk cereal pastry coffee.
Rooms above the lobby (indoor rooms) are nice. Bathroom is nice, but small. No pool or "extras" but price reflects that. Not as hard to find as others indicated... those darned MI left turns!
Pretty quiet, but then again we were there during the week.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Southfield
Red Roof Inn Southfield
#10 of 20 in Southfield
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 20 in Southfield
62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#4 of 20 in Southfield
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#2 of 20 in Southfield
292 reviews
2.4 mi away
A Victory Hotel
A Victory Hotel
#18 of 20 in Southfield
14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - I-696
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marvin's Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marvin's Garden Inn

Address: 27650 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034-4702
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range: £45 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marvin's Garden Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marvin's Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marvin`s Garden Hotel Southfield
Marvins Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing