We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Business Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
GreenLeadersSilver level
Byron Center, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overnight Business Stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. Was quiet and comfortable! There appeared to be a few wedding parties that were staying here but never heard a sound all night. Will stay again when traveling to town for business.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakerdude96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    111
    87
    43
    18
See reviews for
51
40
17
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Very worn hotel, linens don't fit the beds, AC loud, carpets old and worn. In general needs major renovations.The restaurant is quite expense with very little good or healthy choices. Room furniture needs to be replaced.

Room Tip: away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennisf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDSGM, Manager at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Hell Dennis,

I read over your review and would like to thank you for your honesty regarding the state of our facilities. We thank you for staying here with us at apolgozie that your stay was not up to your standards. We strive in excellent customer service and I have forwarded your comments over the the proper departments so that we may get these issues resolved.

Thank you and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southfield hotels

Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel had the best and plesant staff you could every want to have, and not only that they have the best cookies you could ask for.

I was very impressed with the house service we were at ease with the sanatiation or our rooms and the efficenicy of the staff. We plan on recomending Dubbletree to our friends and family . Thank you so much for making this a pleasant and fun time for us. By the way the Cookies were the Greatest!!

Room Tip: I was on the first floor and I slept great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Had an awesome stay with friends from the city... We came to visit for a festival in Detroit... Had a ground floor room which was very convenient... Overall my stay was great.. The staff were friendly, fast and efficient. The cleanliness of the room I was impressed with... And the comfort of the bed one of the best...Just a few housekeeping problems I noticed... For example not replacing items after room has been cleaned, and not cleaning off the pullout tray where you make coffee..but if not for those minor issues we will be back...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 125Ajays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Great price with the amenities you'd expect at a large city Marriott. There was quite a bit of mold on the wall (see photo). No towels at the pool, cloudy pool water first thing in the morning. Nice open lobby. Just used this as a place to sleep while visiting Detroit so I didn't interact with the staff.

Room Tip: Next to the highway so no great views here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank selbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDSGM, Manager at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hello,

On behalf of the Detroit Marriott Southfield hotel we would like to thank yoy for staying with us; I do apologiize that your stay was not up to your standaards. Our staff strives in providing the best customer service for our guest and nothing less is unacceptable. I have shared your comments with the proper staff and departments and we are working on getting the issues resolved. The hot heat that we've been having is the result of the mold and the staff is working on fixing that as well as making sure our pool stays stocked with the proper amemities especialliy when we are sold out. I hope that you will stay with us again and this hasnt changed your mind or opinion on our services.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Overall it's a middle of the road Marriott experience. The hotel could use some updating; feels tired. The staff is professional and friendly, the bar area is comfortable and pleasant and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDSGM, Manager at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hello,

I read your review and would like to thank you for your honesty regarding our facilities and staff. We always stirve for excellent service and apologize that your stay was not up to your standards. We hope it hasnt changed your mind about our facilities and will stay again with us in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I have stayed at this location for business several times, most recent stay was June 14th. The staff from the front desk to maintenance and housekeeping are always so friendly and helpful. They have a good bar and restaurant,reasonable price for meals, familiar wait staff on return trips, attentive, professional but low key. The rooms are very comfortable and clean but aging. This is close to the business areas and freeways, easy access to highways. I've always stayed as a solo business traveler, would stay here again no question.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janej112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#5 of 20 in Southfield
233 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#2 of 20 in Southfield
283 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Southfield

Property: Detroit Marriott Southfield
Address: 27033 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48033-6235
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Southfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Detroit Marriott Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Southfield Hotel Southfield
Marriott Southfield
Southfield Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing