We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay after Red Wings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family stay after Red Wings”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Booked this hotel through Priceline. Staff were super friendly. Also upgraded to concierge floor. I agree with the other reviews that this hotel is a bit dated. Drafty windows & very loud AC/Heater unit were the down sides. Stayed for pricey breakfast buffet. Service was excellent, food was ok. Reasonable stay for what we paid.

Room Tip: Check out the AC unit before settling in your room. Continuously woke us up as noisy/clangy unit ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    110
    86
    43
    18
See reviews for
49
40
17
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and our two boys stayed for a family event over a weekend in December. We were upgraded to the Concierge Floor. We had requested an allergy free room with extra pillows and towels. All was perfect when we arrived late in the evening. The beds were very comfortable. The shower and bath products were divine! The front desk staff, especially Sabiena went out of her way to make us feel at home! The breakfasts were included with our room rate. The food was yummy and again the dining staff fantastic! We only had one slight glitch in the evening of our second night, there was only one person running the front desk/gift shop/phone lines. I had to wait 20 minutes for my question to be answered while she multi-tasked. They need a second person at the desk in the evenings too. It was a snowy weekend. The pool roof was leaking ice water into the pool...brrrr if you swam under that . The hot tub was scalding hot. A child could get burned in that water. We didn't see the exercise room until the morning we were leaving, but it looked well maintained.

Room Tip: End Rooms are very spacious! With extra room for little ones to play and run around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Back again for another stay at this hotel. It continues to be a pleasant experience. Only complaint would be lack of a fridge in the room.
Room was clean and quiet. Really like having a thermostat to control the heat, rather than just a guess-work dial.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowhere
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

You come to expect a minimum level of service from Marriotts but something must have happened in the past few months as it seems like they've upped their game. Detroit isn't a particularly touristy town (like Chicago) but the staff here was simply wonderful. Everyone was polite, helpful, pleasant and welcoming. It's great to see a genuine smile and the hotel as a facility definitely shines. Well done!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDsAtNoWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel from late Friday night to Sunday morn. We were in town for an NFL football game. The hotel is about 20 mins to Ford Field which is right next door to Comerica Field. It is about 30 mins to Great Lakes a Crossing Mall.

The bed is comfy. The Tv is a flat screen. The shower has a tub but was a bit dated. The water pressure was pretty good as far as I recall. I believe the hotel had free wifi and free parking. We did not use the pool but checked it out. The water was cold and it did not look very clean. Overall it was good for our needs. I believe we booked 2 nights for around $100 with taxes. A good value. We would prob stay here again for that price.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AtwoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights for the Michigan State-Michigan football game. Have stayed here once before, about three years ago, and the hotel remains a very good place to stay. Very reasonable weekend AAA rate ($87/night). Room and bathroom very nicely furnished, very nice buffet breakfast. Nothing spectacular, but certainly well worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasgmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were going to see a show in Ferndale, Michigan and Southfield looked like it had a lot of hotels so I booked a hotel on Hotwire and ended up with the Marriott for $56 + tax/fees for a total of $70US. It was easy to find, right off of M10, you could see it off the highway. Our mapquest directions to the show were a little odd but it was quite close once we figured out where to go.,

Check in was very smooth, reception clerks very friendly and helpful. The hotel has free parking and free wifi. I saw an indoor swimming pool but we didn't use it, there also appears to be a fitness room but we didn't check it out.

We stayed in a room on the 5th floor, we were just overnighting here so we didn't use any amenities. The most important thing for me in a hotel is the bed, this one was extremely comfortable, lots of pillows, down comforter. There was a small fridge in the room, supplies to make tea or coffee.

The shower was fine, hot water and every toiletry I needed-shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, soap, lotion and hand soap. There was a portable hair dryer in the bathroom.

Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 20 in Southfield
229 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 20 in Southfield
279 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Southfield

Property: Detroit Marriott Southfield
Address: 27033 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48033-6235
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Southfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Detroit Marriott Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Southfield Hotel Southfield
Marriott Southfield
Southfield Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing