We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
414 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Dated”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a dated hotel, but I guess it's nice for a city in disrepair. Wireless is spotty. Food service mediocre. Staff pleasant (not rude) but not up to normal Westin standards. Difficult ingress/egress but so are most Detroit area business. Would not return.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rhpatt29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We are sincerely disappointed to hear that your recent experience at our hotel did not fully impress you. While we work very hard to create the most refreshing experience for each of our guests, we know there are times that we may fall short of certain expectations. We encourage our guests to reach out to us when any part of their stay is not exceptional and we hope that we can regain your trust in our hotel with a future stay. Thank you for your comments. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    208
    135
    69
    41
See reviews for
127
120
41
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The ice machine on our floor wasn't working, the sofa bed didn't have sheets/blankets. Called front desk and was told someone would bring us ice (they never did!) and that the sheets/blankets weren't provided as they wanted them to be "fresh". I guess its ok for the sheets on the bed to be older than the sheets on the sofa bed! The Heavenly Shower was minus 1 shower head for "water consumption", there was a lock on the fridge and had to pay it you unlocked it and our Heavenly Bed made more noise than that of a low budget hotel bed. The walls are very thin could hear the person in the next room using their blow dryer. And its located off a highway and you could hear all the traffic. Needless to say we won't be staying there again!

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a freeway view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micrita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies for any issues that made your experience less than impeccable. Our primary goal is to provide a refreshing and comfortable stay for each of our guests and it seems we missed the mark with your stay. As our sofa beds are not used as often, linens are not placed on them until they are needed and we do regret that you did not receive yours in a timely manner. Your gift of feedback helps us to continually improve the experience for future guests and we are truly grateful that you took the time to alert us of the issues that occurred during your stay. Thank you for your review and be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I just finished 8 weeks worth of stays at this property. To sum things up, this hotel is tired and aging, just like the city around it. I guess that shouldn't be much of a surprise, but for the price they charge, and brand they represent, it really should be better and more consistent.

The Good:
-Comfortable Westin Bed, though it does feel a bit old
-Staff is definitely friendly and tries to be helpful
-Room service food is high quality for hotel food and definitely better than average
-If you need to be in Southfield, the location has great highway access

The Bad:
-Property just feels tired, and many maintenance items, such as just about every single key card lock could use replacing/updating
-VERY slow elevators, sometimes waits approach 5 minutes, and again, the key cards rarely worked to access your room, which contributes to the slowness
-The gym is a joke. Smaller than most hotels 1/3 the size. Sometimes the A/C is on, sometimes its not. Sometimes there are towels, sometimes there are not. They need to get rid of the indoor pool, 3 ft. deep, too small to swim laps in pool and expand the gym over to that area. I highly doubt anyone goes to the Westin Southfield for the indoor pool.
-Spotty Service - As I mentioned above, everyone is nice, but the property is very inconsistent. From forgetting to bring me my room service order, to slow check-ins with inconsistent SPG acknowledgement, to missing items in rooms, to false fire alarms that they can't turn off, yet make no announcements about until 20 minutes later, the property is not deserving of the Westin brand.
-The Shower, it is designed for someone at most 5'8" tall. At 6'4, I have to almost sit down to get my head under the showerhead, which also looks like it is from 1985.

All in all, the property is definitely not a bad place to stay, but I wanted to give it 2 stars, as I do not think it is deserving of the Westin brand. If it were a Sheraton, I would give it 3-stars and call it a day, as a Westin, it is a 2-star property.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the non-highway side to avoid noise. Ask for a room on the 3rd floor so you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgordon24d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
It is certainly disappointing to hear that your extended stay with us was not as enjoyable as it should have been. It is always our goal to provide the most rejuvenating and totally refreshing experience for our guests and it seems we missed several opportunities to do just that during your stay. We do appreciate you reaching out to us and letting us know about the issues you faced and we will be sure to address each point with the appropriate departments within our hotel. We do hope to be able to welcome you back for the stay that you have come to associate with the Westin brand and offer our sincerest apologies for the challenging stay you recently had. Thank you and stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southfield hotels

toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Went to Detroit as i never had been before, so i wanted to check it out. Definitely a car place: nice big streets; You need a car to go anywhere and everywhere. Had a nice visit. Detroit gets a bad rap. its actually not a bad place.We had a nice stay. Not much within walking distance of the hotel though, in fact , even with a car, was quite a ways away from any commercial offerings. Initially had an issue with the room>smelled like smoke , but Homer at the front desk took care of us right away. Hot tub was the hottest I've had in a while; very good. Food and service at the restaurant was quick and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmark007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at The Westin Southfield Detroit. While we are positioned outside of downtown Detroit, we do enjoy a convenient location to many area attractions and easy access to major highways which can make your trip into the city effortless. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the dining options within our hotel and look forward to greeting you again in the future. Thank you for your review. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Clean and classy from lobby to room. All interactions with staff were friendly and professional. Loved the shower with two heads and the beds will give you one of your best night's sleep ever.
Thermostat adjusted to very comfortable room temperature and was quiet (at other hotels, sometimes I find it too cold when blowers are on and too hot when blowers are off). Restaurant meals were ok but service was very good. Makes me want to visit Detroit again...well...at least Southfield and the Westin.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jean1Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We’re absolutely pleased to hear that your recent visit to The Westin Southfield Detroit has inspired you to return to the area! Our Associates strive to provide the most attentive care to our guests and we’re very happy that you received a refreshing night’s sleep in our Heavenly Bed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we thank you for your review. Until then, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My overall stay at this Westin was very positive. My particular pros/con's are below:

Pros:
* Parking - free parking in a garage or in an open parking lot. I never had an issue finding a spot available within the gargage which was very convenient considering that it rained several times during my 2 day stay.
* Service- Front desk staff was very nice and the other staff members that I interacted with were also very friendly and helpful.
* Room - Very nice, clean room. Bed was super comfortable. Bathroom was clean with no issues.
* Quick access to the main highways so getting around is pretty easy.
* Pool/ Hot Tub - combination of both were great. Teamps of both were excellent. Definitely was a great start to my work day.

Con's:
* wifi - there is none. Had to connect a Cat 5 network cable in order to have internet in the room. Good thing is that we weren't charged for it.
* Dining Options - Not many options for dining out that won't require you to hop in your car and take a 15-20 minute drive.
* FItness room - if you're not using a treadmill, it's limited on options. 1 multi-exercise machine is a little outdated and the free weights area is cramped if 2 people are trying to work out at the same time.


Overall it's a very nice place to stay and one that we recommend to all of our company business travelers that are visiting in the area. I'll stay again for my next trip in a few months.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LavFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We sincerely appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts with us regarding your recent stay at The Westin Southfield Detroit. The gift of feedback that we receive from our guests gives us the ability to continually improve the experience for future guests and we are sincerely grateful for yours. We’re happy to hear that our Associates, convenient location and luxurious accommodations all made for a memorable stay and we will take into consideration your comments about our Fitness Center. Thank you for your review and we look forward to greeting you again soon. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colt
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We booked our room on the internet at a discounted price that was unbelievable. This motel was awesome! The lobby was like a mall. The elevators were fast! We were on the 6th floor. The parking garage that was attached to the motel was complimentary with your stay. We ate dinner at the motel. It was very pricey but we didn't want to get out in this neighborhood after dark. We felt very safe inside the motel. It is located in a commercial district of Southfield. The view from our room was a housing project ( a very well kept one). The room was extremely large with two chairs in a sitting area. The shower had 2 showerheads and the water pressure was great. The bed was comfy and everything was clean and fresh. There is a charge for use of the internet, so don't connect unless you want to pay. I connected and it was slower than dial-up. I quickly reported it to the front desk and they took the charge off my bill. I had my own internet on my phone so i used that instead. Check out was at noon and we slept in without being disturbed. checkout was speedy and the desk clerk was very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kattoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for your gift of feedback regarding your recent stay at the Westin Southfield Detroit. We’re thrilled that you found everything to your liking in our hotel and were able to enjoy a refreshing night’s sleep on our renowned Heavenly Bed. It’s always wonderful to hear when a guest appreciates the wonderful amenities that make our hotel an exceptional place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and until then, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southfield
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 20 in Southfield
279 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 20 in Southfield
229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#7 of 20 in Southfield
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
743 reviews
13.8 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,070 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Southfield Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Southfield Detroit

Property: The Westin Southfield Detroit
Address: 1500 Town Ctr, Southfield, MI 48075-1141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Southfield Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the quiet suburbs and only being 20 minutes from downtown, The Westin Southfield Detroit is near many Fortune 500 headquarters and with access to the Southfield Town Center's 5 corporate towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Southfield Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Southfield Detroit Hotel Southfield
Westin Southfield Detroit
Southfield Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing