We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Westin Delivers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Denver, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Westin Delivers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The price is reasonable for a high end hotel. The room is well appointed and quite comfortable. The restaurant has a warm atmosphere and the food is very good. The lounge was very active and has plenty of seating around the bar or at high-top tables. The indoor swimming pool and spa on the 3rd floor is a bonus. Starbucks in the lobby is also a nice touch. The parking garage was a little tricky to navigate but after a few minutes, I was able to find the hotel's rear entrance. I might consider using the valet next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sojava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Westin Southfield Detroit. We’re thrilled to learn that you received a restful night’s sleep on our Heavenly Bed and were able to take advantage of thoughtful amenities. Our Valet Associates would be pleased to assist you in the future and we thank you for your kind review. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    204
    134
    67
    40
See reviews for
127
118
41
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alliance, Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I was here for a wedding this past weekend. We drove from Ohio and the Hotel got us early check in, fast with no problems. The room was just perfect. Very clean....plenty of room. The bathroom was very roomy with DOUBLE shower heads. The reception was at the hotel. All of the staff was very courteous and constantly asked everyone if they needed anything and if we were enjoying ourselves. Very good experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
We were certainly honored to have been a part of the enjoyable wedding you attended and we thank you for sharing your appreciation of the attention you received from our dedicated Associates. Knowing that your accommodations fully met your expectations makes us very happy and we look forward to greeting you again soon. Thank you for your wonderful review of The Westin Southfield Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel overall was very nice but the parking structure was so dang far from the room. We got lost trying to pick a hallway to go down..ridiculous. Some doors were closed or locked so we had to guess which way to go next.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realtalk313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
While we’re very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, we do apologize for any confusion you encountered when making your way to your room. We will share your comments with our Management Team in the hopes of finding a better to way to direct our guests from the parking facility. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
556 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Staff is very accomdating. Hotel is quiet. I love their room AC units. They are very quiet and not the usual jet engine blower. The rooms are big and clean. Bed was comfortable. Would definitely stay here again if in area.
The pool area would be my only complaint. As soon as we walked into the area, we smelled chlorine and our eyes started to burn. It appeared that the HVAC unit may not have been working. This is dangerous and should be corrected. Did not stay long.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenisSunDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Southfield Detroit with us. Your kind words about our luxurious accommodations and amenities are certainly appreciated. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered in our pool area. There is no reason that you should have felt uncomfortable in that area and we will promptly look into why this was the case. Thank you for alerting us to this issue. We would love to welcome you back again in the future and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights on business. The office I was visiting was in the building, so it seemed to make sense to stay here even though the price seemed a little high for the area ($140/night). The rooms are in need of a refresh. The bathroom had mold growing around the edges of the bathtub and shower walls and the bathroom fixtures were pretty tarnished and it appeared they had not been cleaned in quite a while. Westin promotes the bedding and how comfortable it is, but I did not find the bedding to be all that comfortable. I'm also not sure why they put a heavy, thick duvet on the bed in the middle of the summer. The cooling system did not cool the room enough to even use the covers, regardless of the fact that I set it at 63 degrees. I also ate in the hotel restaurant twice. The food is not very good and the service is unbelievably slow. I was not impressed - I'll probably just stay at one of the other nearby hotels in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandagirl501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We do apologize that your recent stay with us was not at all what we expect for our guests. Our rooms are meticulously cleaned and we will be sure to alert our Housekeeping Associates as to the unacceptable condition of your room. Our luxurious comforters are placed on our Heavenly Beds throughout the year, being made available to guests that feel they need them and are easily removed from the beds for those that don’t. It is definitely disappointing to hear that your stay did not fully impress you and we hope to be able to welcome you back for the exceptional stay that you deserve in the future. Thank you and be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel was very clean and the staff was great. Ignore the negative comments. I stayed because I was told by one of my cousins that is was a great place to stay. They were right I had no problems what so ever. I gave it a shot and I was not disappointed. I went to my uncles funeral on short notice and needed somewhere to stay close to the city. I would recommend this hotel. Plus it has free parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We are so pleased to hear that your stay at The Westin Southfield Detroit added a bit of comfort to an otherwise challenging time during your visit to Detroit. Thank you for sharing how much you appreciated our attentive Associates and comfortable accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future during better circumstances and we hope you will pass our thanks along to your cousin for their recommendation. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel... Ignore all the negative comments... helpful staff... clean beautiful rooms, breakfast buffet well worth the price... parking free... thanks Jason for the great choice of room

Room Tip: corner rooms are larger... upper floor facing the back would be my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerDan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We certainly do appreciate hearing from our guests and learning that their stays were refreshing and comfortable. It is our top priority to provide our valued guests with an exceptional experience and it makes us very happy to read that we met that goal with you. Please come and stay with us again soon at The Westin Southfield Detroit and we thank you for your review. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southfield
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 19 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.7 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#6 of 19 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Southfield Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Southfield Detroit

Property: The Westin Southfield Detroit
Address: 1500 Town Center, Southfield, MI 48075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Southfield Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the quiet suburbs and only being 20 minutes from downtown, The Westin Southfield Detroit is near many Fortune 500 headquarters and with access to the Southfield Town Center's 5 corporate towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Southfield Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Southfield Detroit Hotel Southfield
Westin Southfield Detroit
Southfield Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing