We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bad”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I'm here now and it's a bad hotel. Avoid. Employees are super nice but I can't believe Wesson outs their name on this. It's awful. Tons of howling wind noise from window. And food in restaurant is Inedible. I'm fairly easy to please but this was bad bad bad. A 2 star is being kind. Westin should close this location immediately. It soils their brand.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank travelermillions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
It is truly concerning to read about your recent stay with us and we offer our sincerest apologies that we did not create the exceptional experience that you deserve. We will promptly discuss your comments with our Restaurant Associates in order to ensure that future guests will benefit from improvements. Thank you for sharing with us. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    207
    135
    68
    40
See reviews for
127
118
41
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Serve fresh raspberry, blackberry, and blueberry in breakfast. That was great. But a lot more to improve on. Consistency in service is one. I has been waited 4 mins outside of empty front desk knocking on door/wall for attention. My green choice points was not added in SPG twice. Worst of all, my door card was not working about 1-2 times per week during my 3+ weeks stay there. Front desk knew about it but apparently no one has solution. At the end I carried 5 cards with me, just in case.
Overall, I think this is a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Chou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your gift of feedback regarding your extended stay with us. We’re excited that you enjoyed a healthy and rejuvenating breakfast and exceptional service levels from our Associates, but we do regret to read that you were faced with inconveniences during your stay. We are aware of problems with our keycards and are working diligently to find a solution that works for everyone. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon for the true, renewing Westin experience that you deserve. Thank you and be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southfield hotels

Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Westin. I typically don't stay in such a large facility so I was pleasantly surprised by the large lobby, multiple conference and event spaces, restaurant, bar, etc. I found my room to be very clean and I was kindly upgraded into a nicer room when I asked if they had any "free upgrades". The bed slept very well and the room was spacious and clean.

The shower was nice and featured a dual head, however, I found them to be much too low for my height.

There are a lot of comments about this property being worn or tired, and I suppose this is true to some extent, however, it doesn't look shabby in the least.

If you've read any of my other reviews, you'll know that I'm particular about the temperature of the fitness center. Unfortunately, this did not meet my satisfaction. There was hardly any moving air by the treadmills and was about 70º F. Much to warm for a 4 mile jog at 8.5 mph. After sweating profusely, I decided to ask the staff to lower the temperature for my morning workout. I was told that they would have maintenance check the temperature and lower it. I was disappointed to find the facility no colder the following morning. If it wouldn't have been so incredibly cold outside, I would have preferred to run outside. I would have given anything to open a window, but the windows don't open and the heat vents that run along the windows were pouring in heat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dornbosj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin Southfield Detroit. We’re pleased to hear that our Heavenly Beds provided you with a restful night’s sleep, but regret that your experience in our fitness center was not as satisfying. We have noted your concerns with regards to the temperature and will have our Maintenance Engineers look into why a lower temperature could not be maintained. Thank you for alerting us to this issue. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Southfield area. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I just returned from staying at this hotel this past week end. We had 2 rooms on the 8th floor. Both rooms were King bed rooms. I paid $5 for 24 hours of internet which seemed reasonable compared to most other Westin hotels. I hear that there was free Wifi in the lobby area though. We parked in the parking garage that is attached to the hotel; so, we only ever saw that area and the front desk during our stay; but, the hotel seems really nice. There was nothing in the room to tell us where the pool was located (I am assuing there was a pool). Free parking was nice too; and, the hotel is very centrally located. We got the rooms for $60 on Priceline.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the 8th floor; and, we liked them....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtwoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We’re absolute pleased to hear that your recent stay at The Westin Southfield Detroit was refreshing and convenient. You are correct; our hotel does have a wonderful indoor pool and any one of our Associates would have been happy to direct to it. We hope that when you visit us again, you will have the opportunity to enjoy it. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Until then, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

This was an excellent hotel. It was very clean and got a great rate with breakfast included. The front desk clerk was very friendly as well as the server in the restaurant. Since it is likely that I will be making several visits to Detroit, I will plan to stay at this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tanaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
It is our ultimate goal to be a comfortable home for our guests during their stay and we’re so pleased that your stay met that goal. We truly appreciate your gift of feedback, as with the support of our guests, we are always monitoring our standards and high quality of service. Thank you for being our valued guest and we hope you return soon. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a bridal shower at the Southfield Westin, and it was an excellent experience. Every person that attended the shower commented that the food was outstanding. The staff was very friendly and hard working. This was a very important event for us, and I am happy to say it was a huge success. Thank you Southfield Westin!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We are definitely pleased to read your review. It was our pleasure to provide you with exceptional service during such a special time in your life and we are honored that you chose The Westin Southfield as a place to create those memories. We hope to welcome you back for any of your event needs or even a future stay! Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

For such a large hotel with great facilities - it's let down by it's tired attitude. A lack of care is apparent throughout the hotel. Gym equipment is old and worn out - the fountain stopped working in the lobby.

The staff were all of an older generation and appeared tired and to be honest - half the time didn't know what they were doing or just didn't care. Especially in the restaurant, slow, lack of attention, no smile. Just very... Tired!!

For a one night stay, fine - no problem but for a 3 night stay I felt ready to leave to more lively and friendly pastures.

A shame - it's an easy fix... Fix your attitudes staff!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank roboto87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know about your recent experience. The service you received is certainly not what we want to provide our valued guests and we do apologize that your stay was not more enjoyable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so you may experience our true and renewing Westin service and we thank you for your review. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southfield
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 20 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#4 of 20 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#6 of 20 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Southfield Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Southfield Detroit

Property: The Westin Southfield Detroit
Address: 1500 Town Ctr, Southfield, MI 48075-1141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Southfield Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the quiet suburbs and only being 20 minutes from downtown, The Westin Southfield Detroit is near many Fortune 500 headquarters and with access to the Southfield Town Center's 5 corporate towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Southfield Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Southfield Detroit Hotel Southfield
Westin Southfield Detroit
Southfield Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing