We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Westin Southfield for a weekend getaway, and we could not have picked a better place! We booked the Westin "Indulge Package", which includes a late checkout, champagne and strawberries delivered at a time of your choosing, and room service breakfast for two. The parking was free (always a plus), and checking in was extremely fast, the staff were also very professional and friendly. The room itself was in great condition, albeit the shower head was loose, causing water to spray on the ceiling. The linens were clean, and the room was fully stocked with amenities (coffee, shampoos, etc.). We chose to have our champagne/strawberries (which were both delicious, the strawberries were even covered in chocolate) delivered at 10PM that night, and it was brought to our room by an extremely polite and professional employee right on the dot. We ordered our breakfast (which was delicious, fresh, and hot) via the door-hang card and it was delivered at the specified time right on the dot.

Overall, the Westin of Southfield was a great choice, I would stay here again in a second!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, and Starwood Preferred Guests get their own floors here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad1640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

It is with great pleasure that we read your review and are extremely happy to learn that you both had a wonderfully refreshing and romantic weekend getaway at The Westin Southfield Detroit. Ensuring our guests have a completely satisfying experience is an essential part of our high standards. Our Maintenance Engineers will promptly investigate any problems with the showerhead in your room, and we thank you for alerting us to this concern. We hope to welcome you and your wife back again on your next trip to the Southfield area and until then, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent 5 nights here recently and was pleasantly surprised from the moment we pulled into the lot. The bellhop was attentive, and check in was a breeze. Front desk staff was polite and quick.
Lobby was nicely setup, with a restaurant, bar and Starbucks on the same level.

Parking was simple, level 2 has a skywalk right to 2nd floor of hotel.

Rooms were nicely equipped, clean and updated. Plenty of space, with a small couch in the room.
Fridge was more like a wine cooler....didnt get cold enough to chill a can of soda. I spoke with others in the hotel, and they said the same thing about the fridges. Not sure the reason behind that......
Bathrooms are nice size, you dont feel cramped....shower was a bit strangely setup....but no complaints worthy of typing.

Breakfast buffet in restaurant wasnt bad at all....

Would stay again if the circumstances required another trip to Detroit. 20 min drive to downtown, and several places in the area to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

It is our ultimate goal to be a comfortable home for our guests during their stay, and welcoming you to The Westin Southfield Detroit was certainly our pleasure. We truly appreciate your gift of feedback, as with the support of our guests, we are always monitoring our standards and high quality of service. Thank you for being our valued guest and we will be sure to share your kind comments with our Associates. We look forward to greeting you again in the future. Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel is nice and really set up for the business traveler. Only about 30-40 minutes from the airport and the concierge is helpful is setting up a taxi if needed. The staff was very responsive. The only drawback to this hotel are the food prices at dinner.

The breakfast buffet was more than adequate. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We love hearing that because of an enjoyable experience, our guests would consider staying with us again! Thank you for your kind remarks for our Associates; we will be sure to share them with everyone. It is unfortunate that you felt our dining prices were not acceptable and we will review your comments with our management team. We would be thrilled to have you stay with us again and we appreciate the time you took to share your story with us. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked three rooms for family for the weekend. Although this hotel classifies itself as a business hotel, it is nothing short of a catered event nightmare. for three days there at least two events going on at the hotel. 100's of non-hotel guests milling about, loud music, and slow service. Valet service was practically non-existent (at $20 per day) due to the poor guy running around directing event parking. Restaurant service even for a coffee was slow.

Hotel itself was ok, aside from loud neighbors yapping and giggling until 4:30 am, and others smoking in a non-smoking hotel.

Not recommended, unless of course you enjoy the urban party scene.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank termnalvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

While our hotel does certainly welcome its fair share of business travelers, we do also welcome many leisure travelers and additionally cater to weddings, reunions, meetings and the like. We do apologize if any events that were occurring at our hotel created a less-than pleasant experience for you and we wish that you had reached out to us during your stay to alert us to your concerns. You are correct; our hotel is a 100% smoke-free facility and we apologize if that policy was not adhered to by others. We would love to welcome you back in the future where we can provide you with the rejuvenating experience our guests are accustomed to. Thank you for your review. Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a nice hotel for business stay due to location. However, staff, food and service is very average. When there are any business/ college seminars in the hotel (or hotel is full), internet gets really slow. I had to use my mobile internet multiple time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhinavaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

It’s always wonderful to receive the gift of feedback from our guests and we appreciate you sharing the areas of your stay that you enjoyed, as well as those that need our attention. We do apologize for the slow connection to our Internet during a very busy time at our hotel. We will be sure to share your comments with our Associates so that we may work to improve our service levels. Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon to The Westin Southfield Detroit. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My family stayed at the Southfield Westin on Saturday and Sunday night, 5/17 and 5/18/2014. The beds were very comfortable, the fifth floor where we stayed was quiet, but there were several annoying issues.
1. The roads leading to the hotel are in deplorable condition, i.e. Evergreen road, etc., prepare for a bone jarring ride.
2. My wife confirmed with hotel staff after she booked the room and was told we would be staying on the fifth floor. Upon arrival, front- desk staff issued key cards for a room on the sixth floor. Upon entering the room it was quiet obvious that someone else was staying in the room, as evidenced by toiletries in the bathroom, shoes left out and a suitcase in the room. Thank goodness we didn't walk in on someone with our five year old child! This may be an honest mistake but shows lack of attention to detail in my opinion. Housekeeping staff contacted the front desk and new key cards were issued and delivered to us for, you guessed it, the, fifth floor.
3. Key cards do not work consistently. That goes for unlocking the room and using the elevator. This is a safety concern and annoyance that should be resolved asap.
4. Only one thin bar of soap left on the bathroom sink, nothing in the shower/tub.
5. In my experience each hotel room has a phonebook and a binder or folder listing important hotel phone numbers, services, nearby businesses, etc. Both of these things were missing. Many hotel chains supply a cheap ink pen and pad of paper. My room had a small pad of paper, but like the phonebook and other hotel info, the pen was nowhere in site. More lack of attention to detail.
6. Piece of baseboard next to closet angled at base of wall unattached. A quick nail or glue would've fixed it.
7. If this was a nonsmoking hotel, it is not enforced. cigarette smoke reeked in the hallway outside of my room and I had to stuff a towel at the base of the door to block entry into my room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

It seems there several areas during your stay that could have been improved upon to provide you with the refreshing stay that you expected, and for that, we do apologize. Your comments have prompted us to re-emphasize with our staff the importance of quality customer service and we thank you for alerting us to your concerns. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future for a stay that closer resembles the Westin experience. Until then, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I am a Starwood Member and this hotel is only pretending to be a luxury Westin. The air conditioning is not working and my room is humid and has smells. When I called management they admitted they knew and could do nothing about it. The toilet won't stop running as well. Very poor performance for a Westin.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordFlavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We certainly do apologize that your recent stay at our hotel did not meet the refreshing and rejuvenating experience we wish to provide each of our guests. We did have recent issues with our HVAC systems, and we hope that all components are now working properly. It would be our hope to be able to welcome you back in order to regain your trust in our brand and we thank you for sharing your concerns. Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#3 of 20 in Southfield
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#4 of 20 in Southfield
251 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Detroit Southfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#7 of 20 in Southfield
329 reviews
3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Southfield Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Southfield Detroit

Address: 1500 Town Ctr, Southfield, MI 48075-1141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range: £97 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Southfield Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the quiet suburbs and only being 20 minutes from downtown, The Westin Southfield Detroit is near many Fortune 500 headquarters and with access to the Southfield Town Center's 5 corporate towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Southfield Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Southfield Detroit Hotel Southfield
Westin Southfield Detroit
Southfield Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing