We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a nice hotel that could use a spruce.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This was a nice hotel that could use a spruce.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This, like most of the pricier chain hotels, seeks to nickel and dime you into oblivion. The room was nice, the service was fine, check-in was quick, but it wasn't spectacular. Nice view from the room. The king room is very comfortable and our bathroom was huge was a very nice shower with great water pressure.

Wifi is extra and even hard wired internet is extra per day. The pool was nice but difficult to find if you don't seek out the information in advance. VERY good price on Priceline for this hotel and at this location I'm not sure you'll do better for your money. The elevators are rather slow, as well. The roadwork in the area is a bit of a headache, though, but certainly not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We’re delighted to hear that your stay at The Westin Southfield Detroit was indeed comfortable and that the service levels you received from our Associates fully impressed you. We do regret that you experienced a few challenges while here and we thank you for sharing your concerns with us, as it helps us to further improve the experience for future guests. Thank you for your kind review and be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    206
    135
    68
    40
See reviews for
127
118
41
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms are really showing their wear, damaged wallpaper, scratched furniture, slightly moldy bathrooms, tub drains in need of snaking. The rooms have pointless oddly powered mini-refrigerators: not cooled and empty. There is a mini bar menu and no mini bar. Our first room has a cigarette jammed in an air duct. The hostess in the restaurant didn't seem to into her job, but we also saw her throwing up in a garage trashcan from our room before we went down for breakfast. Not up to the usual Westin standard.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lbdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Your experience greatly concerns us, as this is not at all what we want for our valued guests to encounter while staying with us. We do appreciate you sharing what areas you feel need our attention and we are aware of certain improvements that need to be addressed within our hotel. As you can well imagine, upgrades take considerable time and as we work towards creating the most refreshing retreat for our guests, we appreciate your understanding. We will certainly discuss your comments with our restaurant Associates; as the experience you described is absolutely unacceptable. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and we hope to have a future opportunity to regain your trust in our brand. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southfield hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The front desk had great employees with awesome assistance. Toyia, who greeted us was very helpful and willing to ask all questions that we had. I would highly recommend the westin. The room was clean, staff was courteous and the overall feel was just what we needed for our night in!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaWhilander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
It’s always wonderful to hear that the service from our dedicated Associates and our heavenly accommodations at The Westin Southfield Detroit provided you with the rejuvenating and refreshing stay that you needed. Thank you for your kind recommendation and for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Until then, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. clean and staff are very friendly. One thing I need to ask Westin management is to please update/replace their pillows and comforters our pillows were stained and yellow color due to over use. Other than that our stay is comfortable.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
It’s always great to hear when our guests enjoy the attentive service levels of our dedicated Associates and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We will have our Housekeeping Associates look into the condition of our bedding and we certainly do apologize that the ones you were provided with did not meet our high standards. We look forward to greeting you again at The Westin Southfield Detroit and until then, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've stayed at this hotel many times and check-in/check-out is so quick and easy. The rooms are always so clean, quiet and comfortable. If I'm in the Detroit area for business, I typically stay here. I usually get a great rate, no matter what day of the week I'm in town. Will definitely stay there again and would recommend it to any traveler.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We’re so pleased to hear that each and every time you’ve stayed at The Westin Southfield Detroit that you have been thoroughly impressed with your experience. Your kind recommendation is sincerely appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again. Until then, stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I'd go back again; it's the best in the area. Staff is really flawless. They're all friendly and personable, and will do anything for you. For example, one night I was feeling awful and went into the bar and asked for tea and toast - no charge and lots of sympathy for my plight. Of special mention are Mario on bell staff and Renato at the front desk. Really liked the people so much.

Down side was that the place is in need of some attention. Light bulbs, refrigerators, outlets work only sometimes. But an overall positive experience. Considering what Detroit has been through in the last few years, it's certainly forgiveable.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite; muc roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
The Associates at The Westin Southfield Detroit work very hard to provide our valued guests with the utmost in care while they are staying with us and we’re delighted to hear that your stay was no exception. We are working to improve areas of our hotel and hope to welcome you back in the future where you can enjoy a truly refreshing Westin experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I happened to be staying overnight at this hotel on business. The hotel accommodations were very good but the stellar part of the experience was your hotel front desk person , Toyla. She was warm, friendly and exceptionally helpful. She really made the stay exceptional. Most hotel rooms are mirror images of each other at this level so one thing each should strive for is exceptional service. This girl provided that!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
First impressions are so important and we’re thrilled that the front desk Associate you specifically mentioned was able to provide you with exceptional service that made your stay at The Westin Southfield Detroit so memorable. We will be sure to share your comments with her, as we know it will make her day! Please come back and stay with us again soon. Until then, stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southfield
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 19 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#6 of 19 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Southfield Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Southfield Detroit

Property: The Westin Southfield Detroit
Address: 1500 Town Ctr, Southfield, MI 48075-1141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Southfield Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the quiet suburbs and only being 20 minutes from downtown, The Westin Southfield Detroit is near many Fortune 500 headquarters and with access to the Southfield Town Center's 5 corporate towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Southfield Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Southfield Detroit Hotel Southfield
Westin Southfield Detroit
Southfield Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing