We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tidy and Friendly Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tidy and Friendly Business Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed here on a business trip for two nights. The staff were very cheerful and friendly. No breakfast room service but great buffet and will cook eggs to order. Room was updated, clean and comfortable. Friendly bar at night was perfect. Nice little lobby for budget hotel. We had a great corporate rate. Will use to this place when we are in this area.

Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Raymundo4855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    140
    81
    35
    23
See reviews for
100
56
32
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

My stay was during a bad winter storm and the office I was visiting was closed due to that for 1 of the day's of my trip. The staff from Manager to cleaners were great, they even opened the restaurant for me at lunch as I had no means of going out to find something to eat. The room was great, the complimentary internet is a reason I book HGI's ahead of other chains, and the microwave n room is a nice touch. Customer service of the highest level!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djp1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

I stayed here for a business trip this week and the hotel met all my expectations and needs. Easy to find, about 35 minutes from the airport, extremely friendly staff, good food, comfortable bed, and free Internet. I also received a free bottle of water at check-in and they had free cookies at the desk every evening for the taking.

My room was clean, roomy and had a nice flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave and coffeemaker. I loved that the free internet was so easy to use... and the fact that it was FREE! Plenty of towels and toiletries in the bathroom each day. The restaurant had good food and the server was friendly. I also used the business center to print my airline ticket, the only complaint was that the one printer was broken without any sign about it, so I had to move to the other PC.

I'd most certainly stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenncatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

Just returned from a business stay at the HGI Southfield. I have no complaints and the hotel fully met my expectations. It was easy to find, located near major roadways, about 40 minutes from the airport. Check-in was easy and I was given a small bottle of Fiji water for being a Hilton Honors member (plus coupons for 1 additional bottle for each day of my stay). The plate of cookies and basket of local apples at the front desk were a nice treat.

Room 310 was clean with 2 beds, desk, flat screen tv, mini-fridge, microwave & coffee maker. It is located nearer to the road side of the hotel but noise was not an issue. Connection to the Free wireless internet access was effortless. I think they use some kind of air freshner in the heat/ac unit located under the window because it smelled similar to having my car after taking it to the car wash. Not awful but I could have done without it.

Room service for dinner was prompt and delivered hot. The salad was cold & crisp. Breakfast in the "restaurant" was also fine, consisting of the usual coffee, juices, danish, yogurt, fruit, toast, cereal, oatmeal, eggs, omelettes etc. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank San Diego is best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

I travel frequently for business and I've stayed at this location a couple of times. Each time my experience was enjoyable. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast and dinner service were exceptional. The lounge area was warm and inviting. I would highly reccomend this hotel to any business or leisure traveler.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelkisses1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. 5th floor room. Upon leaving I noticed bed bug bites! I'd post the pictures, but I feel they're pretty graphic. Stay Away!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HotelElite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids Michigan
Level Contributor
154 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

It was a good value. The price was lower than some nearby Hamptons.

The pros: room was typical and fine. The bed was very comfortable. Had microwave and mini-fridge. The breakfast was nothing special but it was better than a Hampton. The chef was friendly and cooked an excellent omelet. Free internet is a BIG plus to me.

There was little I could put my finger on, but it's also underwhelming somehow. Maybe it was the female desk clerk with the bare arms and the tattoos. Maybe it was that there seemed to be no one else working the breakfast. Maybe it was the fact I pre-ordered a foam pillow (I'm allergic to feathers) and it never arrived.

If you are price-sensitive, it's a good value. However, if you are looking for an exceptional experience, I'm not sure this is it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequentflyermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southfield hotels
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#4 of 19 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
1.3 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#6 of 19 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Address: 26000 American Drive, Southfield, MI 48034
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the NEW Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Southfield hotel in Southfield, Michigan our guests will find everything they need, including deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere. The Hilton Garden Inn is located 12 miles from Downtown Detroit and 20.5 miles from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW). We are only minutes away from major businesses such as; Blue Cross Blue Shield, Accenture Corporation, BASF, Charter One Bank, IBM, Lear Corporation, Daimler Chrysler, Denso North America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Hotel Southfield
Hilton Garden Inn Southfield
Hilton Southfield
Southfield Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing