We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and that's it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location if you have business in the area, but it ends there. Tried to take a very old building and update it to a modern place. I tried to call to make sure they didn't cancel my reservation as I wasn't getting there till late and it took 3 calls with 8-10 rings before they picked up. I'm a gold member and should have gotten some water when I checked in, but nothing and nothing even in the room. Too late to complain, the next morning I wanted to get a late checkout and called on the room phone and same thing before tried twice and the phone rang 6-8 times and I just gave up. The bed was comfortable enough, the water faucet was loose. When I head back to this area, which I will be each month, I'm thinking of going to the hilton garden inn.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank hart277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel is not equipped to handle the antics of a hockey team. Yes they were kind enough to make arrangements for breakfast (which is fantastic) the staff that actually work it were not happy. They also felt no way about expressing it. If this building were to have a fire the chances are you would not get out safe as you can really only hear the alarm in the hotel hallways. And if you have a child you can be guaranteed they will blame the child ... even after 5 alarms, police, police dog and an extremely nasty fire marsall. The building and rooms are very nice. The 2 woman in the evening and 1 man in the morning at front desk were great but unfortunately they cannot make up for the remainder of the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Tarra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

I am terribly sorry that your experience at our hotel was disappointing. I especially would like to express my concern regarding your comments about you feeling our hotel was not safe. I can assure you that our guests’ safety is our main priority and very much regret that you had a bad impression of us. I guarantee you that all of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.

Once again, I would like to genuinely apologize for the inconveniences that you went through during your stay. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. Should you desire to discuss your visit in further detail, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Gail M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Nice hotel for money. Many hockey teams bookings from local tournaments. Security treated guests like prisoners. Fire alarm activated three times. Minors running rampant and screaming all over. Nightly curfews in effect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Costa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our stay at this hotel was terrible to say the least: - no heater in the pool (never fixed during our stay) - fire alarms going off and our hockey team being blamed (and embarrassed in front of other guests) - only to find out later it was one of the other guests (no apology provided) - no heat in the room - goldfish crackers and pretzels as "appetizers" for the evening reception - attitude from some of the staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank kissy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Our stay at this hotel was terrible to say the least: - no heater in the pool (never fixed during our stay) - fire alarms going off and our hockey team being blamed (and embarrassed in front of other guests) - only to find out later it was one of the other guests (no apology provided) - no heat in the room - goldfish crackers and pretzels as "appetizers" for the evening reception - attitude from some of the staff

Gail M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The staff was abusive and threatened guests and their children. The pool didn't work the entire weekend. The fire alarms could not be heard. The lower level stairwell was locked, in a real fire we would have all died in the stairwell.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I am sincerely sorry if you found our staff to be abusive in any way. I can assure you that this is not consistent with our values of providing our guests with an exceptional service and would be more than happy to discuss this in further details with you. We are always looking for reviews to provide insight into our hotel. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.

Your business is very important to us and I sincerely hope that you give us another opportunity and consider returning again. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me. We are always listening to our guests!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights over Thanksgiving weekend. First of all, the hotel rooms are run down with filthy carpet. The hotel was filled with the rudest most obnoxious hockey families that I have ever encountered. These people pulled the fire alarm five or six times causing the hotel to be evacuated. It was not just the kids that were badly behaved. The adults were drinking beer and partying in the halls all night. We tripped over stacks of empty beer cans in the morning when we left our rooms. According to a hotel employee, this has happened before with hockey teams. We would have appreciated being told this when we made the reservation! This was a nightmare visit and we will never stay at this hotel again!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank KST93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. I am so sorry if there were some of guests who were rowdy and disruptive. I especially would like to apologize that our staff did not resolve this issue promptly. I truly appreciate you bringing this issue to my attention and I assure you that I have spoken to our security team regarding your comments. I hope you will not let this isolated incident detour you from staying with us in the future. I am confident that given the opportunity, your next stay with us will be a more pleasant one.

Again, I apologize for any inconveniences you went through and hope that next time you are in town; you consider staying with us again. If I can assist you further, certainly let me know. Thank you.

Gail M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The service, friendliness of check-in staff and cleanliness of the room at the Embassy Suites, Southfield, MI will keep me coming back. Highway access is a definite plus. In addition to the hotel restaurant, numerous other establishments are a short drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank garhodes73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#3 of 20 in Southfield
292 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Detroit Southfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#4 of 20 in Southfield
246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#7 of 20 in Southfield
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield

Address: 28100 Franklin Rd, Southfield, MI 48034-5514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range: £85 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDER-GOING A MULTI MILLION DOLLAR RENOVATION. COMPLETION IS EXPECTED MARCH 2016*** The Embassy Suites Detroit - Southfield is the only full-service, all-suite hotel in the center of it all. Our Detroit - Southfield hotel is just 20 minutes away from almost every metro area destination. Business and corporate guests find the volume of local and high-profile businesses in the hotel's vicinity impressive and convenient. Enjoy spacious, two-room suites equipped with all the amenities of home including two modern televisions, plush furnishings, a small kitchenette, and luxurious bathroom. Wake up every morning to a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and cap off the night with our complimentary Evening Reception happy hour. Our friendly staff can address all your needs and will ensure a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you, and we hope you enjoy your Southfield stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Embassy Suites Southfield
Southfield Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing