We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel due to reservations through Hotwire. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with recommending local restaurants and shopping. The room and bathroom were very clean, but we were disappointed with the mattress--the hotel desperately needs to upgrade the mattresses. We tossed and turned all night trying to find a comfortable corner, but kept falling back into the well-worn ruts. As noted in recent reviews, the breakfast is rather limited. Also there are no computer facilities for hotel guests--we had to drive to a local library to print some dining and attraction coupons. I would consider returning to this location only if I knew the mattresses had been updated.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel was so clean! The staff was so nice and greeted us everytime we came out of our room and always joked and laughed with us and helped us with our keys with no problems...

Our room was beautiful and very very clean.
For a hotel that accepts pets we thought it would stink or look dirty but we were so wrong it was so clean.

Breakfast was awesome and there was an entire assortment of things to eat. Milk juice hot chocolate coffee muffis make your own waffles bagels cream cheese cereals.

The only downside is if you needed anything for your room you were best getting it your self because the cleaning ladies always said they would bring you something but they never did and we were there for a month....

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nobodyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Niles, Michigan, USA
1
Reviewed 24 July 2012

They were ready for us when we arrived. The staff already had my port-a-crib set up. They were also very knowledgable about the area and gave me directions to a gread park down the road for the kids. The breakfast wasnt great but there were waffles.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Norton, OH
11
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Clean room and comfortable mattress. Bathroom was clean with no standing water when you showered, how refreshing!! We were up too late to have breakfast which ended at 9:00 and suggested 10:00 would be better. Internet was provided in the room at no extra cost, nice feature. Great location, excellent staff and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The staff were Super Awesome to our Family in our time of need. We stayed here for 5 nights for a Family Funeral. Our pets were somewhat loud, which we apologize, but during this time we had no choice but to leave them alone. Thank You to all the staff and other guest for understanding our difficult situation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank spanka_dis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I spent 1 night there with my family. We had adjoining rooms and for an extra $10.00 they provide a folding day bed for one of my grandsons. The beds are double, not queen, but the room was clean and the bathroom also was very clean. The breakfast was good, yougurt, bagels, toast, donuts and waffles, which my grandson, really ejoyed. The staff was friendly and we were well pleased. . The rate was $53.00 plus tax and we were shocked to find this room as nice as a much higher hotel accomadation. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The difference between this $60 room and the $50 rooms I had been staying in during my trip was evident. Nothing dirty or depressing about the room at all, which at that price made it a place I'd recommend. They need to do something about getting rid of the tobacco stink in the hallways though - it really reeks and probably turns a lot of people off. The wi-fi was unacceptably slow at times.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank richardjlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southgate
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Metro Airport – Taylor
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Southgate
Comfort Suites Southgate
#4 of 8 in Southgate
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southgate - Detroit Area
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Taylor
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate

Address: 12888 Reeck Rd, Southgate, MI 48195-2270
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Price Range: £48 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate Hotel Southgate
La Quinta Southgate
Southgate La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing