We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
A TripAdvisor Member
Ecorse, Michigan, USA
1
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I were recently displaced from our home due to an unfortunate electrical fire, and our homeowners insurance put us up in La Quinta until we were able to head back home. I though the process would be extremely difficult, given the circumstances, but we were treated like family from beginning to end. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. You won't find a friendlier, more helpful staff. The rooms were clean, the Internet was always available, and the beds were nice and comfortable. Thanks, La Quinta!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 298 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Traverse City, Michigan, USA
1
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have stayed at this La Quinta hotel several times when we come down from Traverse City. It is ALWAYS clean, comfortable beds, and good service. Breakfast is good with a good selection. We will return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Charlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Nice , clean hotel right of I75. I will stay here again. Great Value. The bed was comfy. The heat worked. I stayed in a room with a king bed. Also had a nice lounging chair complete with ottoman. Refrigerator and microwave were both clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Midland, Michigan, USA
1
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I had a temporary assignment in Taylor and had to stay in a hotel for a week at a time. I tried two other locations before trying LaQuinta. I found it the best value. It is located very conveniently just off Northline Road next to the Wendy's. The online reservation process is very streamlined. Check in was quick and easy. The room was clean and comfortable with good WiFi and TV reception, a small fridge and a microwave. A plus is the plug-and-play feature on the flat screen TV. The free breakfast is conveniently located right off the lobby, and they keep coffee available through the evening - a real treat after dinner. I have recommended this location to co-workers for their future visits.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Bonnie19662015
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were here three times and enjoyed the stay. Wendy at the front desk is excellent. She has always been very helpful and kind. The fourth time Wendy continued to be excellent under bad circumstances. When my husband and I checked into the room late in the evening there was a bug on the floor. I was afraid it might be a bedbug. Thank God it was not; however, there were other problems with the room: the rug had large stains in several places, and and you could see what looked like muddy footprints in many places. We had driven from NYC tired, and wanted to get ready for bed -- we could not. The floor wasn't clean, and the bed was not properly made, this was disappointing to us both. Wendy gave us two other rooms to check out on the same floor. The first room looked at was worse than the original room, and the second room also had large stains, but was it better than the other two. We took it but discovered one of the light bulbs was out, the sink faucet dripped, the towel rack in the bathroom had a screw missing and came apart (I put it back together), and the bathroom floor was not clean. The next day we left the room about 12:30 p.m. and returned at 4:30 p.m. We were disappointed to find that our room had not been cleaned. The bed had not been made, waste basket had not been emptied and we didn't get fresh towels. We called Wendy at the front desk. She said that the record showed that we had a "do not disturb" sign on the door. I explained that we put the "do not disturb" sign out before 12:00 noon. When we left, we took the sign off the door. We actually passed the cleaning person who was two doors down from us. We were told that the house manager signed off that we had a sign out that said, "do not disturb." That was not true. Wendy said she would clean the room; however, that didn't happen, and we didn't expect her too. She delivered the towels. Again, she was very nice, but made excuses for the staff who did not do their jobs. This was a very disappointing stay, unlike our previous stays, which we had enjoyed very much.

Room Tip: Our complaint is with the cleaning staff. Wendy who works at night is outstanding and very professi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southgate
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Metro Airport – Taylor
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Southgate
Comfort Suites Southgate
#3 of 8 in Southgate
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southgate - Detroit Area
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Taylor
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate

Address: 12888 Reeck Rd, Southgate, MI 48195-2270
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Price Range: £47 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate Hotel Southgate
La Quinta Southgate
Southgate La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing