We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Eaton Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Ioften stay at this LaQuinta because of it's location. It is extremely close to I-75. Ten minutes to downtown Detroit. Ten minutes to airport. The staff is very friendly. Carpet is a little dirty but for the price, it doesn't bother me a bit. No frills, just clean and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    96
    52
    24
    11
See reviews for
107
60
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stay at this location every year. Great staff from the front desk to the breakfast bar. Right on route I-75 so easy to visit Detroit and other sites. There is a gas station right next door and you can fill up and drive right down the street to the airport -- less than 10 miles, as required. You will remember the names of the staff and you won't be afraid to sleep on the sheets. I can stay anywhere but I always stay here. Thank you, Wendy and all of the others whose faces I know and names I forget. You are the best.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stay at this hotel at least once or twice a year, usually in the Fall and any other time we have the need for being in the Southgate area of Michigan. I always ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor The rooms are quiet and have always been clean. Have never had a complaint about the bathrooms. They have always been clean. Always plenty of hot water. Soap, shampoo and adequate towels have always been supplied. This last time, I was not feeling well and was very chilled. My husband went down and secured extra blankets for me. The staff were most accommodating and said to let them know if we needed anything else.
The breakfast room has been recently redecorated and is always neat and tidy They have a staff person maintaining the area during the time the breakfast room is open. The breakfast bar is constantly being restocked.
There is a good selection of cold breakfast cereal items, hot cereal, waffles and hard boiled eggs, breads and pastries, fruit and yogurt. Juice, coffee, tea and hot chocolate is also provided.

There is a train that runs behind but it has never disturbed us.

The staff have always been friendly and courteous.
I always recommend this location to friends visiting the Southgate area.

We have also been at this hotel when it has been filled to capacity with sports teams at weekend tournaments and even a wedding party. The rooms were still quiet, and the breakfast room although busy still had adequate food at the food bar and the room was still neat and tidy.!

I understand from the Manager that the building will be undergoing some renovations in 2014. Rooms will be updated including new mattresses Can't wait to see the updates.!

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd level, and preferably facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This particular stay wasn't the best. The elevator smelled musty and the doors kept sticking in the open position. Walking up and down the stairs wasn't bad, but the musty smell was there, as well. We had forgotten to bring conditioner, but when we asked the front desk if they had any, we were told they didn't provide that, only shampoo. When we took showers, the towel rack kept falling every time we touched a towel. Clanging metal is not what you want to hear first thing in the morning or at bedtime. We finally just left the towels on the floor. We were there at the beginning of the "Arctic Vortex" and the temperatures were dipping into the negatives and the windchill was negative 24. On our third night, the heater broke and kept blowing cold air. We visited the front desk and were to to go back and "reset" the unit. When that didn't work and we called the front desk, we were told to "try resetting it again." Seriously??? Why couldn't someone come up and check it out or simply move us to another room? After the third complaint about the frigid air coming from the heater, they told us we could come down to the front desk and they would find us another room. So here we are lugging our things to another room when we should be tucked in nice and warm for the night. So, when we checked out the next morning, we thought we might receive some kind of apology for the inconvenience, right? Not so. The clerk handed us the bill/receipt without even asking about our stay. Apparently no notation had been made about our nighttime move from room to room. And to add insult to injury, they charged us more for the room on the night we had to move (apparently the rates are higher on weekend nights). Again, I say, seriously??? A little common courtesy goes a long way and from a marketing/customer service perspective, they struck out completely.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler10102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nahe Wien
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We have only stayed overnight but enjoyed the Hotel a lot - like our stay in La Quinta/Elkton, Maryland. This hotel chain offers such a fine and stylish ambiance at very moderate prices, it seems to be near luxury.
I only critizise that the (good) breakfast has to be eaten from plastic plates with plastic forks and knifes, like the plastic coffeecups. I understand the economics behind it but it just does not match the standard.
Nevertheless highly recommandable!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southgate
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Southgate
Comfort Suites Southgate
#3 of 8 in Southgate
46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southgate - Detroit Area
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Allen Park
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate

Property: La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
Address: 12888 Reeck Rd, Southgate, MI 48195-2270
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate Hotel Southgate
La Quinta Southgate
Southgate La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing