We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough start, Great Finish!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Even with a standing, confirmed reservation, I schlepped luggage to 2 different rooms before landing in a very nice clean 3rd room where we stayed for 8 nights. The first two were either occupied or unmade from previous occupant. This hotel is very well located, 1 block from I-75, 1 mile from Telegraph, 3 miles from I-275. Breakfast offering is sparse by comparison to other La Quinta hotels where I have stayed but the waffles were good. No hot eggs, no bacon nor sausage nor biscuits and gravy. Lobby area is badly in need or refurbishing and the parking lot has deep ruts typical of the rest of Michigan roads. Still, our stay was very pleasant in our mini-suite, which was kept very clean by our room attendant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank bobbrownson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

When visiting the Detroit area be sure to try this hotel. Reasonably priced (special plans if u stay 7 days or more), pet friendly, clean with a friendly staff. The 24 hr Sunoco stn across the street has EVERYTHING you could need Freeway, Sams club(4gas)& McDonalds nearby.:)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
3  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I was so disappointed with this hotel. It needs a serious upgrade. It was dirty and dingy. I did not feel safe walking barefoot in my room. We had to switch rooms due to the fact that the first room looked like it had blood smeared on the bathroom wall! The second room was no better. I will not be staying at this location again. The Utica location is WAY BETTER!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank MrsRoberta330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The staff was very nice and pleasant. The grounds were very clean. The rooms were clean and kid friendly(plug&play) for the tv which is a plus. The beds were sooooo comfy, I could've slept for days. Overall I stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Darlette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Quite and comfortable place to stay. Just off of the freeway. Friendly community atmosphere. Good value. Food (chain) options are good but a short drive to the East (just pass the Sam's Club) check out a local spot in Southgate (Wild Coney & Grill Inc).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Little far from Detroit Downtown, this place is absolutely good place to stay. Every thing is good in this hotel.This hotel is in very good location. Shopping is not a matter of worry at all. Near by restaurants, shopping centers all gives comfort of the place. Rooms are clean. Breakfast items are just fine. If hotel add more towels and bath accessories in room. That would be even better. Overall I enjoyed staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: This is good place to stay for the folks who loves peace and shopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bibash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Check in was smooth, staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. It was close to a lot of restaurants and even a nice park to go to. Price was reasonable.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouLeo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southgate
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Metro Airport – Taylor
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Southgate
Comfort Suites Southgate
#3 of 8 in Southgate
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southgate - Detroit Area
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Taylor
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate

Address: 12888 Reeck Rd, Southgate, MI 48195-2270
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Price Range: £47 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate Hotel Southgate
La Quinta Southgate
Southgate La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing