We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Detroit-Southgate
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“All Okay”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed here in late December 2012. All was okay and was what we expected. The room was clean but some of the fixtures are becoming dated.

We had a very difficult time with the Internet. Also, the room next to us seemed to have people coming and going all night long.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    2
    4
    19
See reviews for
4
11
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Nice, affordable and great service! Close to home and always stay there for a little getaway. My husband and I randomly get a room locally instead of vacationing. Since our budget is low, we get a room for a weekend just to get away from home.
Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: I always get there jacuzzie room just to relax. Nice and affordable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludington, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

If you want to stay at a nice hotel do not come here. Unless you want horrible service, run down rooms, and managment that dont care about noise and drinking. I would not EVER stay here again. I think they just want the money and dont care about service whats so ever

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southgate hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Been staying here for work last 3 weeks, week one found 2 bottles of pills behind the nightstand and a small needle for checking blood sugar in my bed. Week two, different room shower pressure was so low I could have cleaned better with the sink. Week three, i just found a crack cocaine pipe in the room. I didn't know what it was until I took it to the desk where multiple people informed me and I promptly washed my hands. ALL of the rooms were filthy as if cleaning is a weekly event if that. Staff has a hard time speaking/understanding English. Wifi is broken all the time, if work would pay for a better place I would leave ASAP. Do not stay here. Motel 6 on northline road in southgate Michigan

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank screenamerequired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Custer
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

O
Both of our beds presented with wrinkled sheets. The towels were thin, gray and rough feeling towel. The rug was dirty. The furniture was scarred and there were old cigarette burns. This motelmotel a general feeling of dinginess. Don 't leave the light on for me, I won 't be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The ownership of this Motel 6 is AMAZING they make sure everything is perferct for guest the front desk is wonderful help you out with anything you need and welcome you. Like how a guest should be treated I have been to many Motel 6 but nothing like this location. The lobby is unreal for a Motel 6. Recommend to everyone especially for the value you get what you pay for

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Review313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinckney, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

First, let me date this so others can have a reference time when reading all of these reviews I stayed at this location June 2, 2012.

After working a 16 hour day I needed a place with a shower & a bed for 3 nights rather than driving over an hour home only to turn around in 3 hours and make another hour long drive back to work. So, Motel 6 seemed to be a perfect location & cost. MISTAKE ! ! !

Filthy carpet left my feet black after walking on it. Light switch at door didn't work and housekeeping - when/if they came in, couldn't tell by looking at the place - turned off the light by the bed I left on. So I had to walk across a dark room after midnight each night to get to a light. So much for "we leave the light on"!

Shower curtain was molded & bottom of tub was black. Sitting chair was very stained. All in all a very disgusting room. Had I not been working so many hours and needed a place close by to stay I certainly wouldn't have stayed!

I realize that I didn't pay a lot for this room, however, no one should have to pay to stay in a place that probably should be shut down by the health department!

Room Tip: Don't stay here - look for another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southgate
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Southgate
Comfort Suites Southgate
#3 of 8 in Southgate
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southgate - Detroit Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Detroit-Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Detroit-Southgate

Property: Motel 6 Detroit-Southgate
Address: 18777 Northline Rd, I-75 at Northline Road/Allen Road, Exit #37, Southgate, MI 48195-2262
Region: United States > Michigan > Southgate
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Detroit-Southgate 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Southgate is near downtown Detroit and is a smoke-free location. Gibraltar Trade Center, Southland Mall, Cobo Hall and Greektown are nearby, making this location great to visit. Amenities include Jacuzzi Suites and Wi-Fi for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Detroit-Southgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Southgate
Motel Six Southgate
Southgate Motel Six
Southgate Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing