We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican Food”
Review of Mexican Gardens

Mexican Gardens
Ranked #4 of 96 Restaurants in Southgate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Southgate, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great shrimp tacos!! Been coming here for years and the food is always good. The hot sauce and chips are the best. If you like flour nachos ask for those chips. They are something different than the corn chips.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dubowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    31
    9
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TROY
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“THE BEST MEXICAN IN SE MICHIGAN”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I have been coming here for over 35 years and its some of the absolutely best Mexican food I have had. It compares to going to Mexican town area in Detroit.. without the drive.

My favorite is the Mexican Sandwich with beef. Yum!! I met my brother on Tuesday and he had the Botanna...Its as good as I always remember.. and their FREE soup is VERY good. Please com and enjoy the amazing food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miller2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Long time favorite”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Mexican Gardens has been a favorite of family and friends for years! I usually visit at least once a month with friends or family members. The recent remodel has brought some pizazz to the restaurant and the menu is largest enough for the smallest or largest appetite. For authentic Mexican food, this is the go-to place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jojoemmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southgate, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Best mexican food I have even had. I've been to Mexico and this is as close as your going to get. Fresh ingredients. Been going for 18 years and will keep going. There tacos are the best!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonnyringworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln Park, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This family run business is also one of the finest family restaurants downriver. We usually eat here once a week and have been going so for over twenty years. The new remodel has updated the look of the restaurant but the menu continues to deliver the same great taste and value so many of us love. I don’t think its and exaggeration to say we’ve never had a bad meal at Mexican Gardens.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mexican Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Mexican Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing