We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option Downriver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Option Downriver”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have recently spent 2 weeks at the Hampton Inn Southgate MI. It seems very new and has nice ammenities. I always appreciate a good workout room and this one is very nice. Equipment is in good shape with a nice big screen TV in front. The breakfast has hot food options. It is fairly close to the DTW airport too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneUrban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    95
    40
    30
    29
See reviews for
183
86
22
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel was very clean and the facilities were well appointed. The breakfast was very good and the young lady who maintained the room and food was very pleasant and friendly. Check-in gentleman was also pleasant and helpful. The morning check out person was efficient, although no smile was noticed, but understanding that working the night shift can be taxing. Overall, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Doug N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Newer hotel that was very clean. In town to go to Comerica Park and this hotel was a convenient location . Bed was a little uncomfortable, and other's conversations were heard clearly while in the bathroom. Price checked through all the booking websites, and really thought this was a good value based on price and location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our hat is off to Hampton for building this Hotel; the site is perfect just 9 miles from the airport with a shuttle service to and from right the Airport, And just off I-75 and Northline intersection; from this location you can drive anywhere in a short time frame
The Hampton is located in Southgate, This is one city of many that makes up the Downriver Area.
Wyandotte, Taylor, Allen Park, Lincoln Park, Riverview, Trenton and Grosse Isle. For many of years, wanting to visit my Hometown, Wyandotte, we always stayed by the airport which made things a little difficult.But a Hampton moved in this year, You will get all the amenities that Hampton has to offer. The staff were friendly and very helpful and understanding to our needs. We spent 4 days at this Hampton from 16th July till 20th July; our stay was perfect and the prices of the rooms were very reasonable , Also there are so many eateries close by. You cannot go wrong booking the Hampton if you have business or just visiting the Downriver Area. I know this Hampton is at the top- of- the list when we visit Wyandotte, Thanks Again Hampton Inn Hotels. See Ya Soon!!!!!!!!
Happy Traveling
John Scalise
Dunedin, Florida

Room Tip: Stay away from the Freeway side, if possible, very quite at night!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scalise12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, well kept and attractive landscaping all in place. Definitely a must stay when in town looking for a great rate with comfort and cleanliness. The only downfall was that the a/c units in the room I had was a little loud. I don't think it really distracted me or work me up though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was on a business trip when my flight was cancelled. All hotels near the Detroit airport were filled. When I called the Hampton Inn Detroit/Southgate, the hotel sent a shuttle to pick me up. It was midnight by the time I arrived at the hotel. After a day of delayed flights and then cancelled, it was wonderful to be treated kindly by the front desk and shuttle driver. I stayed in a king suite, which was wonderful. My only disappointment was that I was too exhausted to enjoy the lovely room. The thing I like most about Hampton Inns is dependability. I have stayed in them across the U.S. for business and for personal travel and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Although the hotel is 20 minutes from the Detroit airport, the complimentary shuttle made it easy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wivoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just an average ho-hum hotel, nothing special. Room a/c had an annoying 'whine' when the cooling unit turned on. Beds were very firm. Don't know much about the breakfast area. It was cramped and poorly laid out, resulting in many people standing in line, blocking access to many items. Gave up on that. Seemed like they were trying to save some operating $$ because lobby, eating area and elevators were very warm. Good location, with access to I-75, about 10-15 minutes from Comerica Park. A few restaurants and limited shopping within a short drive, nothing walkable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uvan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southgate
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southgate
Comfort Suites Southgate
#3 of 8 in Southgate
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southgate - Detroit Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
1.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate

Property: Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
Address: 13555 Prechter Blvd, Southgate, MI 48195-0127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Detroit/Southgate hotel is located just nine miles south of Detroit. The hotel is three miles from the Taylor Sportsplex and eight miles from the Henry Ford Museum/Greenfield Village and offers easy access to shops, restaurants, sports venues and many popular Detroit attractions including theaters and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing