We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly Staff but food just average”

Charlie's Chop House
Ranked #31 of 95 Restaurants in Southgate
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
741 reviews
480 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Staff but food just average”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Ate dinner here two nights in a row while on business in the area. Each night I had the salad and soup bar that was not that bad. The first night I had a steak and it was tough and not very flavorful. The second night I had the philly cheesesteak and it was very over cooked and did not have very much cheese on it at all. The staff was vey friendly and helpful. The restaurant was clean. It would be a a great little restaurant at the hotel if they just put a little more attention into the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Treat”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I arrived at the hotel tired - to be honest i was too lazy to find a restaurant. So i decided to eat at the hotel. I was greeted by a very cheerful host. My waiter was Josh. Josh was a very nice young man who was very enthusiastic about his job - and very passionate about his recent wine class. We had a lovely discussion about wine. josh's service was awesome - thank you! The host ? or manager dont know and i forgot to ask her name - sorry - came over and we discussed what new wines they were getting in. All staff appeared to like their job. The food was good. I had the steak and asked for medium rare and i GOT medium rare - the scalloped potatoes were to die for - all around a great job for dinner. I also had the breakfast buffet. Typical breakfast buffet - tasty but luke warm - although i didnt starve!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelakmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

What an enjoyable meal we had in this restaurant , the price was what we expected to pay in a Hotel restaurant , little higher than average , but well worth it , the salad and soup starter from a buffet table was so good , all cooked on site from scratch I think , as much as we wanted to have , and then our main course served at the table by such a pleasant genuine waiter called Josh ,who was eager to please without being there every second bothering us , I had a pasta dish served with fresh prawns in a very tasty sauce , and my husband had a very large portion of a Chicken Cordon Bleu , served with potatoes and fresh veg. really this was an excellent meal and service , well done to all the staff in this place , we were only there in Michigan for one night so we didnt have the chance to go again , but if I ever get back there I will certainly go and enjoy another meal at Charlies Chop House at the Holiday Inn.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Can You Say Healthy Entree? Not!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I didn't want to go off property for dinner, but wished I had. Service was annoying, kept asking me what "we" had decided and I was by myself. Nothing healthy on the menu, it was either fried or breaded and fried. Salad bar was sad. Wilted iceberg lettuce, limited selection of add-ons, no soup bowls or spoons for the soup. Food was mediocre at best.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ohtobeinsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The appetizers were the best. 5-7 happy hour”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The managers toast was nice with some appetizers once a week. The swimming Pool was huge and hot tub was so nice after a long day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie's Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing