We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, the rest is "so-so".”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were in town for a wedding weekend. We were given two options for wedding accommodations--this hotel, or another which was way down the list on trip advisor. First the positives--the check-in was very quick and the staff helpful and courteous. The complimentary breakfast buffet was adequate, but nothing special, and the restaurant staff very friendly and attentive. At first glance the hotel feels a little dated but overall clean and well kept with a spacious guest room which conveniently included a frig and microwave. Now for the not so good. Bathrooms were very small with the dressing area and sink located outside the bathroom. The air conditioner ran continuously even though it was a cool weekend. The air felt damp as did the carpet. It took us awhile to realize that after walking barefoot on the carpet, our feet were almost black! The bathroom and main room felt clean until I dropped a pair of glasses behind the bedside table and discovered all of the dust behind it. What really creeped us out was returning back one day to find a centipede crawling across the comforter. I might have thought this was a rare occurence had I not had to keep swatting away small fruit fly like insects while I brushed my teeth at the sink. We were located on the ground floor with a lot of flowers and landscaping directly outside which may have been the source of the critters. I would have mentioned it upon checkout, but on a Sunday they seemed short-staffed at the desk and she was trying to wait on guests and answer numerous phone calls simultaneously. The other thing we found rather odd was that housekeeping comes by very early in the morning. While we were trying to get ready for the wedding at 9:30 am, we put out the do not disturb sign. This resulted in a notice under our door that they would not be doing service on our room that day unless we called the desk and scheduled before 3:00. Seems a little early to miss your chance for service given that there must have been plenty of check-outs to take care of first. Overall we had a decent stay but if we visited the area again we would check out the options outside of this exit. There are few hotels here, and I think this was one of the best there was to offer, but not up to the standards I would have expected.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kycoltsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear kycoltsfan,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our front desk staff and room amenities.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding cleanliness, housekeeping and bathroom size. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

My flight was cancelled on this occasion, and I was sent by the airline to this hotel.
Staff were very friendly- because we checked in at 4.30AM, the receptionist allowed us to check out later the next day so we could sleep as much as possible before heading back to the airport. Breakfast was very nice. Bed was very comfortable.
My only complaint is that the curtains in our room were not able to be closed. As it was a bright, sunny day, it was quite hard to sleep during the day.
Apart from that, my short visit was uneventful and staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha_UK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Nice hotel; easy drive to Detroit and the airport. Bed was very comfortable; breakfast was good for a comp. Hotel staff pleasant. Hotel bar (and live entertainment) was nice; rather empty on the Friday night but was full following two weddings returning to the hotel on Saturday night. Appeared to be an older (or well used) property but overall the hotel was a very good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had a great stay at your hotel. the staff couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful. Your restaurant was fabulous. The seafood buffet was wonderful and your breakfasts were more than sufficient. We ran into a number of employees that we would like to commend . Claudia served us in the restaurant for breakfast, Sheila was a bartender doing double duty as a waitress in the restaurant for the evening meal. They were both wonderful and couldn't say enough nice things about working at such a wonderful place. Angie was a great help with reservations and room accommodations. We will certainly comeback to this hotel due to the wonderful service we received. Please let these three employees know how happy we were with their service.

Room Tip: first floor, right next to the door 3 to outside. Great room, no noise and easy reach to everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The staff was wonderfully helpful and friendly. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard and pool with tons to see and do in the area. Angie at the desk was very, very helpful and lots of fun to visit with. She went out of her way to make sure we had a pleasant stay. Sheila in the dining room was wonderful too and took time to visit a bit with us. Claudia in the dining room in the morning also went out of her way to be friendly and helpful. It was a great trip, the staff made sure of that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Every time I stay at this location i'm impressed with how great the staff is. Everyone is friendly and makes you feel so welcome. Katie and Alexis always remember me at the front desk and always offer a warm welcome as I walk in the front door. Mike and Megan did a great job in the bar. As always, Mike was friendly and made my evening relaxing and enjoyable. Dinner was great! Food came out hot, fast and tasted wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here for one night when visiting the Henry Ford museum. I chose this hotel because they were close to the museum and the reviews on tripadvisor were helpful. We arrived on a Thursday around 5:30. Check in was easy and quick. This is a two story hotel and it is spread out quite a bit. The room we were given was a long, long way away from the pool, restaurant and lounge. The hallway carpeting looked in need of a good cleaning but the room itself was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean but we needed more soap and towels. We had requested a roll-away bed for our daughter. When it was delivered it was tied together with a plastic bag so I had to undo that to set up the bed. We went out to dinner at a nearby Olive Garden. There were several good restaurant choices within 10 minute drive or so from the hotel. We did not choose to eat in the hotel restaurant. I did, however, stop in for a quick look at the lounge during happy hour and sampled some of the free bar food - chicken wings and cheese and crackers. I didn't buy a drink so I got a not so pleased look from the barmaid. When we returned from dinner we went to the pool where our children swam for about an hour. The pool is huge and it stays open until 11:00 pm. It was a nice to be able to go there. Also, this is a non-smoking hotel but we saw people outside smoking quite a bit. While we were at the pool a couple went tot he door leading to the courtyard and stood in the open doorway while they both smoked. Big turn off. The beds were comfortable and we all slept well except that my daughter got a spider bite in the night. Also a big turn off. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. The tv was ok with a fair channel selection although we did not watch much. Our room overlooked the courtyard just outside the pool and it was probably the best view you could have in the hotel and one of the best we've had at any hotel. The hotel restaurant offered a buffet breakfast - I think a complimentary breakfast should have been included. I checked out the buffet in the morning and did not fell it was worth the asking price of $8.99 per person. We went to a nearby McDonalds instead. The checkout was easy and all in all this was a good value, just nothing really special. If we were to return to the area I would first look for a different hotel just to be somewhere different but if I could not find something suitable I would go back here.

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard outside of the pool is a good choice but you will probably have a long wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedLester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southgate
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southgate - Detroit Area
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Southgate
Comfort Suites Southgate
#4 of 8 in Southgate
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
8.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Dearborn
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Allen Park-Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center

Address: 17201 Northline Rd, Southgate, MI 48195-2781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Price Range: £77 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center 3*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Southgate Banquet & Conference Center is the place to be for business or pleasure. Luxurious, spacious, clean & comfortable rooms await you in the downriver Detroit area. You will be treated like royalty with friendly, hospitable service. The Holiday Inn Southgate Banquet & Conference Center is the place to be and be seen. Your hotel features Downriver's largest indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, award winning & outstanding restaurant - Charlie s Chophouse - and lounge - Club Charlie s - with live entertainment on weekends. Our luxurious & elegantly decorated ballrooms accommodate 10-700 people. With over 35 years of combined experience, we welcome you to see for yourself why the Holiday Inn Southgate Banquet & Conference Center is second to none. The Holiday Inn Southgate Banquet & Conference Center is nestled in a beautiful, safe and comfortable suburban community, conveniently located off interstate I-75 exit 37 and Northline Road. Just 15 minutes from the heart of downtown Detroit, Detroit Metropolitan Airport 9 miles, Greenfield Village, Henry Ford Museum & Ford Rouge Tour 9 miles, MGM Casino, Greektown Casino, Motor City Casino, Casino Windsor, Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers) Ford Field, DIA Detroit Institute of Arts, Fox Theater, Joe Louis Arena, Cobo Hall, and so much more! Customer service is our top priority. Smiling & friendly faces await your next trip to the Detroit area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Hotel Southgate
Southgate Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing