We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Firendly Staff, Clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
741 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very Firendly Staff, Clean Hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for five nights recently on a business trip. The staff was very friendly and greeted me as a platinum member. The lobby and hallways by the convention rooms are very nice. The hallways by the rooms are clean but need remodeling. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. They also gave me a free breakfast coupon at check in. I would stay here again if I had business in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    48
    32
    13
    17
See reviews for
40
19
8
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Pretty much what I would expect from a Holiday Inn. Plenty of towels, bottled soaps, etc. for my wife and me. Bed was comfortable with lots of pillows. We did get a free bacon and egg breakfast with juice...even though our online booking stated that breakfast was not included. The attached bar served us a nacho large enough for four people with two beers for $14.
Cons: Toilet tissue repeatedly did not flush on our first attempt. Lack of bathroom fan caused mirror to steam up while shaving along with not dispensing odors from bowel movements.
I rated low for value because there was a LaQuinta nearby 50% cheaper. In hindsight, to save 50%, I should have checked out the LaQuinta reviews...but I was in a hurry to do the booking due to a death in the family.
OldTOm

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldT0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrouge
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had a great time me and my family enjoyed our time i room was really clean i can say i had no complaints everyone at the hotel was welcoming they have a great staff especial brittany from housekeeping she really went above and beyond i had no Landry soap and she offer to get me some and to wash my items for me she really a great help and staff member when i try using the one they had for guest and it wouldn't work for me overall i would recommend this place to anyone great time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina_dorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The price was good - about $10 cheaper than comparable chains. When I first arrived, I was disappointed as it looked old, small, and dated. It is clearly an older hotel. As soon as I entered I could see attention had been placed internally as the lobby area and hallways were updated, clean and nice. The staff was friendly and quick. My initial room impression was good as it was clean and typical of a Holiday Inn. However, as I settled in for the night I found the HVAC unit was not working properly the bed was not comfortable so it was not a good night sleep for me. I ended up leaving after one night (had planned on two). I am still giving this a 3 because of the cleanliness and staff friendliness. I am hopeful that I just got a bad room. Still, next time I will pay the $10 to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Kingmba,

Thank you for your feedback and recent stay at the Holiday Inn Southgate. I'm sorry you did not have a restful night sleep. Be assured I will look into both of the issues you had. We are doing lots of up grades to our rooms and hope that if you are in the Southgate area again you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here at the beginning of March for 1 night. The hotel is about 20 minutes or less from the airport and very easy to find. Once at the hotel you notice that the highway is very close and easy to get to. The hotel is only 2 stories with a lot of rooms. So the hallways are very long and if you park in the front of the hotel it may take you some time to walk all the way to your room. The rooms are nice. Well suited with everything you need. It's not glamorous but it has the essentials. I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

First off, my caveat is, if it hadn't been for the shuttle situation, I would have given this hotel a 3 or 4 rating. But the shuttle situation marred the entire experience in the worst way. So if you are thinking of staying here, if you don't have to take the shuttle, I actually recommend it! If you do need to rely on the abhorrent shuttle situation, STAY FAR AWAY.

Therefore, I have very mixed feelings about sharing this review. The front desk staff at check-in was great. Being a Platinum member of the Priority Club program, I was given a fantastic suite. The hotel clearly has been around for a while and it shows. But it also has a bit of old school charm. There's an odd assortment of old, unused appliances of some sort in a stairwell, which is strange. But overall, the property seemed quite well-maintained for its age.

So, as I checked in, I asked about the shuttle schedule. The person at the front desk said the shuttle runs every hour on the hour. I asked if it's the same when you are at the airport, explaining that I needed to go to return my rental car and wanted to take the shuttle back. She said, in that case it's on demand. So call when I'm there and she'll send the shuttle "right out" to pick me up. "Great,” I said! Famous last words!

I returned the car and got dropped off at the North Terminal at DTW. I immediately called. The person asked me what terminal I was in and then said that the driver had was just returning to the hotel with a load but he should be back out in 25-30 minutes. I said that since it's so cold outside, I would go upstairs where it's warm and come down in 20 minutes in plenty of time for his return. She, in turn, very nicely promised to call me back if he returned early. Excellent plan! Exactly 20 minutes later I was back downstairs shivering at the bus stand waiting....and waiting, and waiting. A half hour later I called back. It was a different person (shift change at 11pm presumably) who seemed to know nothing about the original plan but said that the driver had been to the airport and returned, and talked about how when the 4 seats fill up he goes. I explained that I never even saw him and she kept referring to Delta and I kept saying I'm not at the Delta terminal. I'm at the Northern Terminal.

I explained that it was extremely cold and rainy. And, even if I waited inside the door, not only is it still very cold (because there wasn't any heat inside the door and the doors were constantly open with a steady stream of folks going in and out), plus the windows were frosted and I couldn't see the buses properly when standing inside. So I asked if she could let me know when the driver will be back approximately, so I could come down and be outside waiting. She said 15 minutes and she would call me back if that changes. Well, a half hour later, still no shuttle and no call.

Then, when I called back again she said she was having a hard time reaching the driver and asked if I had a cab voucher from Delta. I said, "I know you all have a lot going on, but again, for what must be the 7th time, I'm not flying with Delta. I'm not flying at all. I went to return a rental car. I'm not at the Delta Terminal. I'm at the North Terminal in the hotel shuttle waiting area." While i waited she was finally able to reach him and she said he would be there in 10 minutes maximum because he was close. Twenty-five minutes later I called back. She got him on the phone while was holding said he was waiting in the pick-up area and I wasn't there. I said that I was standing with all of the other hotel shuttles are. Then there was an exchange and she came back and said he was at "The South Terminal" and he would be right over. Maurice finally came (He was VERY nice and professional).

However, all of this made me wonder if the shuttle had ever come to the North Terminal at all, or if it was just going back and forth to the McNamara Terminal while I froze and struggled to stay awake WAITING FOR TWO HOURS AND FIFTEEN MINUTES after a long day in Lansing and a white-knuckled drive in the snow and freezing rain to get back to Detroit.

To bring this long story to an end, the folks on the van also had their own stories of woe re trying to contact the hotel and get the shuttle. After this ordeal, we got to the hotel at 1:20am!!

If all of this wasn't horrific enough, to add insult to absolutely egregious injury, I called down to the front desk to sign up for the 6am shuttle in the morning. I was informed that every shuttle from 5am to 8am was fully booked. She asked (same person I had been speaking to all night) if I had been given a cab voucher from Delta. (grrrrrrr) When I explained, yet again, that I wasn’t with Delta. (she was apologetic saying that almost everyone in the hotel was a distressed traveler stranded with Delta) She then informed me that the only thing I could do is book a cab and pay for it. I had 3.5 hours of sleep! When I got to the airport I paid a whopping $36 DOLLARS for the cab ride ($30 flat fee plus tip). Now I’m on my third flight of the day to Los Angeles after staggering around airports and nodding off on planes all day, thanks to this situation and am $36 poorer for the experience.

Holiday Inn Southgate has the distinction of providing one of the most horrible hotel experiences in my lengthy and extensive history of travel. Extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConstantRoadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Constant Roadster,

I would like to personally like to apologize for the inconvenience of our shuttle service.We appreciate your feedback and your Business. I will personally look into this issue and address it accordingly. We pride ourselves on giving our guest, great service. I make no excuses for the lack of communication, but i assure that we take this issue seriously and will take all measures to correct it. Thank again for your recent visit to the Holiday inn Southgate. We hope that if your ever in the Southgate area, you will allow us to make this up to you.

Sincerely,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southgate hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here (used my air mile points - for those who have them) January 17 & 18, 2014 and really enjoyed my stay. Check in was simple and the desk staff (sorry did not get the ladies names) were very pleasant. i stayed on the first floor (room 105) the room was very quiet, pleasantly decorated and very clean. I went to the jacuzzi - nice. I received a 25% off coupon at the restaurant (Charlies Chophouse) and the food was very good and done to my order. All the wait staff appeared very eager and looked like they enjoyed their job. Josh my server - was awesome - learning about wine and looked like he was getting an A!! Breakfast buffet was ok - nothing special - food was not as hot as i would prefer but edible! I will be back - thank you to all who made my staff so enjoyable

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelakmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southgate
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Southgate
Comfort Suites Southgate
#3 of 8 in Southgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southgate - Detroit Area
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center

Property: Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
Address: 17201 Northline Rd, Southgate, MI 48195-2336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center 3*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Southgate Banquet & Conference Center is the place to be for business or pleasure. Luxurious, spacious, clean & comfortable rooms await you in the downriver Detroit area. You will be treated like royalty with friendly, hospitable service. The Holiday Inn Southgate Banquet & Conference Center is the place to be and be seen. Your hotel features Downriver's largest indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, award winning & outstanding restaurant - Charlie s Chophouse - and lounge - Club Charlie s - with live entertainment on weekends. Our luxurious & elegantly decorated ballrooms accommodate 10-700 people. With over 35 years of combined experience, we welcome you to see for yourself why the Holiday Inn Southgate Banquet & Conference Center is second to none. The Holiday Inn Southgate Banquet & Conference Center is nestled in a beautiful, safe and comfortable suburban community, conveniently located off interstate I-75 exit 37 and Northline Road. Just 15 minutes from the heart of downtown Detroit, Detroit Metropolitan Airport 9 miles, Greenfield Village, Henry Ford Museum & Ford Rouge Tour 9 miles, MGM Casino, Greektown Casino, Motor City Casino, Casino Windsor, Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers) Ford Field, DIA Detroit Institute of Arts, Fox Theater, Joe Louis Arena, Cobo Hall, and so much more! Customer service is our top priority. Smiling & friendly faces await your next trip to the Detroit area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Hotel Southgate
Southgate Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing