We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for two nights and would stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed for two night as part of a week long vacation in Michigan. The hotel has been recently renovated. What they have done is nice but they seem to have missed some of the finer details (bathroom door nob was old and wobbly). The lobby was nice, the room was clean, the beds were very comfortable, the hotel staff was helpful, the towels were new and soft, and the crib was study and safe for my little one. The deck was a nice feature but seemed a little run down. The outdoor pool was nice and clear while the indoor pool was so cloudy you couldn't see the bottom. Unfortunately our room was located next to the ice machine so we could hear people getting ice in the evenings and in the morning but it wasn't so loud to wake us from our sleep. Overall, we would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

Arrived very late on a weekday, about 1030pm, had a double bedroom on the second floor facing the parking lot towards the highway. It was a very nice room, looked to be renovated. Very clean all around to include the carpet and windows. Modern clean furniture. TV was a flat screen, but oops...... the remote control did not work....don't worry Holiday Inn I was born in the early 60's so I knew I could get up off my butt and change the channel on the TV :)

Bathroom was very nice and well appointed with product. The bed was somewhat hard but not too bad. The A/C was not too bad.

All in all this is a very nice hotel, but from what i have heard don't take a room near the pool and make sure you ask if the hotel is hosting a wedding reception as it gets loud!!

I will stay again. Thanks Holiday Inn

Room Tip: The rooms to the back facing the parking lot and highway are not bad at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Traveurcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I am a business traveler who has stayed in hotels around the world. I particularly like this hotel because it has all of the things that are important to me – a comfortable room, consistent free internet access, a small but useable exercise room and pool. When my day is over, there is a great area for walking and a nice restaurant with a lovely view of the waterfront. Easy freeway access as well as walking distance into town for weekend extensions. The people at the front desk are nice but professional – a sort of small town spirit but without the nosiness.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kao2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We just concluded a few day stay at the Holiday Inn Grand Haven-Spring lake (henceforth in this review referred to as HIGH) to enjoy this relaxing area. It was our second visit in three years, so we were able to see the renovation 'before' and 'after'. As I always do, I am breaking this review down to the Great, Good, Bad, and Ugly with some bottom line-type comments. Ready? Here goes . . .

GREAT

* Backdrop: Most of the reviews here seem to focus on the rooms themselves but a real strength of this hotel is the beautiful backdrop - when staying at the HIGH you will be treated to a pretty setting of Spring Lake, which seemingly surrounds the property. It was nice to stroll along the peir and peruse all of the yachts. This hotel makes good use of it's beautiful setting. In many ways, you will feel like you are staying at a far more expensive hotel.

* Grounds / Facilities: The HIGH features two pools (inside & out) and a very festive outside bar that always seems to feature some kind of lounge act entertainment. The restaurant looks fantastic as does much of the event space. Again, combine these things with the backdrop and you will struggle to find other hotels in this price point that 'feel' as nice and spacious as the HIGH.

GOOD

* Location: hotel facilities aside, we stayed at the HIGH to enjoy a few nice summer days at Grand Haven and we felt this was an ideal HQ. This hotel is minutes from beautiful Grand Haven beach and town center where you will be able to enjoy good dining options and the musical fountain - a corny but fun summer tradition. HIGH situates you with Grand Haven central and the beach one way with PJ Hoffmaster State Park the other (with a very nice beach and visitors center of its own).

* Cleanliness / Newness: One consistent past knock on this hotel was that it felt 'outdated'. After our first stay (2009) I would have agreed to an extent but it is clear the HIGH has made a significant investment in their property. Our room had that 'we're the first ones stying in it' feel. A constant knock I have with hotels is true here as well - from a design standpoint, there is little that is memorable about the rooms, but they are clean and modern, which is all you can ask. I did like the photo montage of some historical shots of various Holiday Inn hotels.

BAD (room for improvement)

* Noise: I didn't feel like this was the most noise-proof hotel I've ever stayed in. I mentioned the nice festive outside bar but . . . if you're a light sleeper and not outside partaking yourself, you may find it a bit noisy. And, you'll hear a lot of background noise from the hallway. In one morning there, hotel staff - housekeepers, maintenance - just seemed to 'swarm' in the hallway outside. I could hear the particulars of their conversations but . . . that could have been an isolated incident. And, noise seemed to pour in from the outside too. Each room has it's own balcony (even the first floor) which is great but it will add a bit to the background noise - you'll either overhear the pool / bar on one side or car doors from the close parking lot on the other. All of that said though; this is a common issue with similar hotels and it did nothing to diminish our stay.

UGLY

* In-room coffee: Your room will have a coffee-maker with some nice provided Starbuck's coffee - this is great but . . . our coffee-maker was missing a key part. We therefore could not use it. Not a big deal and I have no doubt the hotel would have taken immediate action if I made a request but . . . I was anxious to get my day started and did not. Again, not a big deal but check it when you ARRIVE. Don't mess with my freakin coffee!

BOTTOM LINE

* The HIGH is a great base for enjoying this great summer area. If your day at the beach is rained-out you'll be better off here than at any other area hotel. The fact is, HIGH actually has surprisingly little area competition which makes it a doubly nice choice.

* Come to this hotel with accurately-calibrated expectations (applies anywhere, really) and you will not be disappointed.

Feel free to write me with Q's

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ShoelessJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Thank you for rating our hotel the Great, the good, the bad and the Ugly. We always appreciate the comments whether good or bad. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here the end of June for Soccer in the sand tournament in Grand Haven. The Holiday Inn was a little weathered but great for large groups or families who are there to have fun. Kids were able to fish off the docks nearby as well as play soccer on the large grassy field on the property. The indoor/ outdoor pools were a hit as well as the tiki bar for the adults. The rooms were clean and modern . Dinner at the restaurant on site was ok, not great. Would definitely recommend this hotel to large groups/ parties but probably not to couples.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djschwey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience! We pride ourselves on having numerous activities for not only kids but adults as well. If you are ever here on the weekend, please check out our Kids Club Activities!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed here just one night for a wedding. Convenient location to Spring Lake and Grand Haven. Room was clean and modern. Also, very quiet even though it was fully booked and a busy weekend night. I was really surprised at how quiet it was even though we were on the first floor. One disappointment - the bathroom was really small, with a single sink and very small counter. Not even enough space for two people to get ready. Also, we wanted to check in somewhat early because we had a wedding to get ready for, but the room was not available until 4:00 (which, to be fair, is the check-in time). The staff was apologetic and there was really nothing they could do about it. We had a cocktail at the outside tiki bar, which was fun and had a nice view of the water. No continental breakfast but maybe that's true of all Holiday Inns? Anyway, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michiganmom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

You are correct in the no continental breakfast at this hotel as well as all Holiday Inn’s. Unfortunately for us, people think we are the same as an Express who does offer complimentary continental breakfast. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We've enjoyed staying at this hotel, great location on the waterfront. Close to the Lakeshore communities and Grand Rapids, but we love the beach in Grand Haven. The hotel has been remodeled, very nice and we enjoyed the restaraunt. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: East side of the hotel faces an outdoor pool and tiki bar, keep this in mind when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjmiller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Our pool view rooms are very popular during the summer months as well as our River view rooms. You are correct that the east side of the building has great views. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
2.0 mi away
Best Western Beacon Inn
Best Western Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
482 reviews
11.6 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
18.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Haven
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake

Address: 940 W Savidge, Spring Lake, MI 49456
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: £80 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now featuring all smoke free hotel rooms and brand new bedding! Start your day on the banks of the Grand River. Relax and play in the sun at Lake Michigan beaches and spend an amazing night at the Grand Haven Waterfront Holiday Inn. Located just 2 miles from Lake Michigan beaches and directly on the Grand River, the Grand Haven Waterfront Holiday Inn is your best choice in West Michigan. You ll find the things that are most important to you whether you're here for business or pleasure. Discover the convenience and refreshing experience of the only full service property in the Grand Haven area. Feel your troubles melt away as you relax in our indoor pool or heated outdoor pool. Play a round of 18 at nearby Grand Haven Golf Club. Slip away for a quiet dinner at our award winning restaurant Jack's. Enjoy our nightly happy hour in Jack s Lounge. Sip our signature Rum Runner as you watch the sunset at our outdoor Tiki Bar. Have your morning coffee while strolling along our docks. Traveling on business? Your business is our pleasure. When it's time to get connected, our complimentary WiFi access is waiting for you. Polish that presentation at our business center and we even have the right place for your professional meeting. The Grand Haven Waterfront Holiday Inn is a favorite for business and leisure visitors to the Grand Haven area and we want to become your favorite too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake Hotel Spring Lake
Holiday Inn Spring Lake
Spring Lake Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing