We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less Than Impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Less Than Impressive”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have visited this location's lounge before but have never stayed in the hotel overnight. I will not do so again. Myself and two friends booked a room for NYE and enjoyed the band in the ballroom. The first problem came when we booked a ground floor room specifically and it was not available to us at check-in. Next, we booked a two bed room and when we arrived, they were two full-sized beds - this was mostly on me for not checking that but I didn't even know that any chain hotels still had full-size beds. We could not get a roll-away due to the fire code. The room otherwise was acceptable other than the location for the coffee service was tucked under the nightstand between the two beds.

The elevators are another story. They are very short in depth and it's very difficult to maneuver the luggage cart around the short corner to fit it in and with no extra people.

Our package came with 2 breakfasts which equated to $20 off the bill (the buffet was $9.99 per person). The meal was little more than a continental breakfast. The eggs were cold, the muffins and danish were dry, and the french-toast sticks were tough. I was evident most items came from a can or freezer from a local food-service grocery. On top of that, they nailed us with $2.25 ea for coffee or tea! They did not, however, charge us extra for orange juice.

Room Tip: choose a king if there will be two people sharing a bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Tammy R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are glad to see your high score for the Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    102
    47
    21
    22
See reviews for
85
101
4
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel was very nice and clean. Pet friendly which is nice. They do not offer a continental breakfast but have onsite restaurant. Indoor pool was great, had it to ourselves for most of our stay. Would be great place to visit in the summer as right on water and outdoor pool as well.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreannMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGHSL, Director of Rooms at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you and your furry friend during your stay with us! Our pet rooms are located in a prime location to accommodate all of your four-legged family member needs. We were also happy to hear that you enjoyed your time spent in the pool area. The indoor heated pool is a popular spot in the cold of winter along with the indoor hot tub. We truly hope you are able to visit us again this summer when we have our outdoor pool and Tiki Bar open – a great spot to sit, relax, and enjoy the waterfront!

Warm Regards,
Emily Moore, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Good family vacation spot, and there was a good cover band in the bar. Children's activities near the pool were not available as advertised, though. Everything else was good. The outdoor pool was a bit cold, but the indoor one was warm. Fitness room was good. Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Our room was by the parking lot on the ground floor. I didn't love that, but it wasn't a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGHSL, Director of Rooms at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments! We are so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your time spent with us. Our award winning restaurant, Jack’s, is located on the Grand River providing a fantastic view to enjoy while having breakfast, lunch, or dinner. I am sorry to hear that you were unable to enjoy the children’s activities. We do try our best to keep the activities outside in the summertime, however, depending on the activity they do get moved around sometimes. Our Kid’s Club staff can always be found in our Holiday Inn green staff shirts to assist you. We truly hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Emily Moore, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel rocked in every possible way. We arrived a half hour before check-in, but were still allowed in to our room. The room was spotless. Everything worked beautifully. We hadn't requested a special view, but were given a water view nonetheless. The room even came with a cute little balcony, which would be even more spectacular in warmer weather. And I've saved the best for last -- we left our bag of toiletries behind. My husband called the hotel and left a message; they called the next day. They said they could ship it to us and put the charge on our credit card. She said it'd have to ship ground because of the aerosol products, so it might take longer. It arrived in 7 days, nicely packed, nothing out of order, and to top it off, they included a $20 gift certificate good for a whole year we can use on our next stay toward a room or the in-hotel restaurant! If TripAdvisor made it possible to rate even more than 5 circles, I would.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGHSL, Director of Rooms at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time spent with us! We are also glad to hear that we were able to have your bag of toiletries delivered to you safely. Our main goal at this property is to provide world class service and to make sure our guests feel comfortable during their stay. We truly hope you will be able to come back and visit us soon - our water view rooms with balconies are most popular in the summertime when you can watch the boats sail by on the Grand River and watch the festivities taking place at the Tiki Bar!

Warm Regards,
Emily Moore, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I had a great time at the hotel, did an overnight. The complimentary breakfast was awesome. My friends joined too for the overnight stay at the hotel. They loved it too. The lunch was great overlooking the lake, had shrimps and a club sandwich. I recommend this place to anyone. Looking forward to it again. The rooms were clean and enjoyed the free internet too.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family2012544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGHSL, Director of Rooms at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments! We are so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your time spent with us along with your friends. Our award winning restaurant, Jack’s, is located on the Grand River providing a fantastic view to enjoy while having breakfast, lunch, or dinner. We truly hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Emily Moore, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Clean andconfortable hotel with kind management. We had a large room wih balcony overlooking the lake. As most of Holiday Inns, it is a bit far from downtown, but if you have to make a stop during a long travel, it is the right place to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGHSL, Director of Rooms at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time spent with us. Our hotel is in a prime location located just one mile from the downtown Grand Haven area and less than 5 minutes from Lake Michigan. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn for your future travel needs! We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Emily Moore, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I hadn't stayed at the Spring Lake Holiday Inn in years, because it used to be a pretty crummy hotel. I read on Trip Advisor that they had renovated, so I decided to give the place another try.

While the lobby looks much better than it used to, I still saw - immediately upon entering - a hallway cluttered with folded up tables and what looked like junk. It was there at 3PM when I checked in, and was still there late at night when I returned from my evening activities.

My experience with the staff a just OK. I asked for a room overlooking the river, and was given a room overlooking a large maintenance building. When I called down to the front desk to see about a different room, I was told they were booked solid and they didn't have any other rooms - even though there was absolutely NOBODY in the parking lot and it was a Friday afternoon, so the weekend guests had not even checked in yet. There is no ice machine on the 2nd floor, so you have to go up or down to get ice.

On Friday and Saturday they have live music in the bar downstairs. This is great if you want a hotel with a bar and live music. It is not great if you want to SLEEP and you can hear the live music all over the hotel until 1 AM. Also, there are railroad tracks that run by the hotel, so you will hear trains at night. Bring ear plugs.

While this hotel is better than the hotels in Grand Haven, if you go a few miles up U.S. 31 to Muskegon (and I mean just a few miles) there are some newer Hampton Inns and other chains with nice acommodations near a mall and lots of restaurants. Next time I will be doing that.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor overlooking the river. Otherwise you will overlook a highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trnmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGHSL, Director of Rooms at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I wanted to apologize for any issues that occurred during your stay with us. I also understand that your time is valuable and that you deserve a comfortable and enjoyable stay. I have spoken with the front desk and maintenance departments to ensure that these issues do not occur again. I am very sorry to hear that you were disrupted by the band noise. We do try to inform every guest of the band that plays here and I apologize that you were not told about this at check-in. To better address your concerns with your recent stay, please contact me directly at the hotel. Unfortunately we cannot change the circumstances of your past visit but we are open to discussions for a mutual resolution and hope that you will choose our property for another future event.

Again, thank you for sharing your comments with us and I hope to hear from you soon!

Warm Regards,
Emily Moore, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
2.0 mi away
Best Western Beacon Inn
Best Western Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
11.6 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
18.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Haven
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake

Property: Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake
Address: 940 W Savidge St, Spring Lake, MI 49456-1627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now featuring all smoke free hotel rooms and brand new bedding! Start your day on the banks of the Grand River. Relax and play in the sun at Lake Michigan beaches and spend an amazing night at the Grand Haven Waterfront Holiday Inn. Located just 2 miles from Lake Michigan beaches and directly on the Grand River, the Grand Haven Waterfront Holiday Inn is your best choice in West Michigan. You ll find the things that are most important to you whether you're here for business or pleasure. Discover the convenience and refreshing experience of the only full service property in the Grand Haven area. Feel your troubles melt away as you relax in our indoor pool or heated outdoor pool. Play a round of 18 at nearby Grand Haven Golf Club. Slip away for a quiet dinner at our award winning restaurant Jack's. Enjoy our nightly happy hour in Jack s Lounge. Sip our signature Rum Runner as you watch the sunset at our outdoor Tiki Bar. Have your morning coffee while strolling along our docks. Traveling on business? Your business is our pleasure. When it's time to get connected, our complimentary WiFi access is waiting for you. Polish that presentation at our business center and we even have the right place for your professional meeting. The Grand Haven Waterfront Holiday Inn is a favorite for business and leisure visitors to the Grand Haven area and we want to become your favorite too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake Hotel Spring Lake
Holiday Inn Spring Lake
Spring Lake Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing