We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who knew?”

Wheeler's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Standish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Who knew?”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Traveling home from U.P. We stopped at this little "joint". What a nice place. Who knew I wold try Swai Fish for the first time in a place like this?? Salad bar was great. Soup was excellent. Serivce was wonderful. Nice way to end a vacation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Been stopping for 60 years!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

When time allows traveling north, a stop at Wheelers is a must. This spring it was for breakfast and memories. As usual the food is great and good coffee too!
But the memories are what keeps me coming back. As a senior now, I reflect back to when I had meals with my parents when we too were traveling north. Long before I-75 even existed, this was the route and Wheelers was our stop!
Can you imagine, putting a coin in the jutebox from your table as it is located on the wall of your booth. The photographs on the walls are so historic and the decor reflects 1930. Its the place for locals and tourist alike. Treat yourself to this one of a kind venue and enjoy the homemade meals and cozy ambience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oxengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Love the old time diner. Built in 1934 yet clean and serving a G R E A T breakfast. Glad we stopped here. Beats those fast food breakfasts all to heck!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ekimilopan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hot lunch with a warm smile”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had been on the highway for several hours and began looking for a lunch stop. We hit the GPS and Wheeler's Restaurant popped up. It was a few miles from the interstate but worth the ride. Cozy with original booths and fixtures from decades ago. Big salad bar with what I believe to be homemade soups. It's not a fancy place but the locals go there for a reason.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rleNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Branch, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The salad and soup bar is excellent. Make sure you get this even if you don't want it. The fish is also another one of my favorites to get there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Licorice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wheeler's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wheeler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing