We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a major update.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at St. Ives
Ranked #2 of 2 Stanwood B&B and Inns
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Needs a major update.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent the weekend of 10/12 /13 at the Inn of St Ives for my husband's birthday. It really was all about the golf. I read the reviews before we arrived so I knew it was not going to be first class accommodations. I was still shocked at how outdated the rooms were. Old, musty and (in the case of the shower) dirty. UPGRADE for pete's sake.

The Golf courses themselves are AMAZING. Clubhouses are beautiful. Grounds immaculate. The food also was above average. The staff was quite helpful. But we will not stay there again. ICK.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Libbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    10
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
windsor on
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My boyfriend, his son (15) and I stayed at the Inn for one night. This was his second time staying there. The purpose for our stay was so the boys could golf the first day at Tulleymore, (the sister course to St. Ives), the afternoon of our arrival, and St. Ives the next morning.
The two courses are about 5 mi apart. The accommodations consist of The Inn and some surrounding rentals around Tulleymore.
The room we stayed was sufficient for a one or two nights stay, but i wouldn't plan on spending anymore time there. The mattress was hard and I was handed an extra towel with some sort of brownish stains on it.
My room was not available when we arrived so I had to kill 2 hrs..this resort is in the middle of nowhere, so if you don't feel like driving at least a half an hour to shop, you better like walking.
We were travelling with our dog, so I found a nature trail which follows along Tulleymore golf course a long ways.
When I went back to check in there was no one at the desk, and a lady who was a general hotel worker had to go hunt down someone to ck me in.
The boys said the golf courses were in excellent condition, but again the staff at St. Ives were inattentive.
We ate at the Inn the night of our stay and found the food very good. The next morning b'fast was included in our pkg. and it was a really nice buffet style setup with good food.
Generally, the Inn was quiet and we had a good sleep, but it is basic. I did not look at the pool area, which is in a separate building than the Inn itself.

Room Tip: we stayed on the second floor at the very end, which was not handy to the elevator, but close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whalehugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

It is a very small resort with only probably less than 30 rooms in the entire facility (3 stories) next to a golf course. The room is old, the towels are old, the shower curtain is dirty! No free Intermet provided by the resort, thanks God we have our own. The kitchen is very small. You won't be able to prepare a full course meal for six. If you don't wash the dishes, you will be charged $50. Besides of the dish washer, there is no sponge provided for lite wash. All cookwares are stored messily, no organized. No oven is equipped. No ice maker. Coffee machine is provides but no welcome coffee set! Furniture is old and dirty. One laundry machine and dryer set is on the second floor for the entire resort. No free movie channel. Air cond is not central air. The only thing we like this resort is the room has two queen size beds, one queen size sofa pull out and one pull down queen bed. Can sleep up to eight. As a guest, yoi receive free continental breakfast for the entire stay. Hot food breakfast coats additional $6/person. Nevertheless, we feel unhappy with the quality of this resort and cut our stay short. We rather to stay at hotel for rest our trip.

P.S. the standard room costs $200, whirlpool $240, and $280 for a suite. It is not expensive to rent it as a hotel room in my opinion. Don't use your expensive timeshare to exchange this resort.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenson Ranch, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed in rm#104, facing the parking lot. This's our first time and definitely will be our last at this ghetto resort. We drove so far away into the wood and found this dissatisfied resort. If we weren't tired from a long drive from Berries, ON., we would turn back and search for other place else. The furniture and decor looks exactly more like a motel than a resort and looks unpleasant plus stuffy smell. The website is misleading to fool us with the pictures of their other nearby resort, The Tullymore, We would not exchanged ours with this resort if they were honest. I wouldn't recommend anyone to take a vacation or getaway here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oui I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I purchased a discounted stay on-line and we definitely got a great value. The inn is nice, the room was clean and had a large jacuzzi in the corner of the room. It's not luxurious but certainly very livable. There is an indoor pool, great if you get a rainy day. The highlight was the golf course. It's well maintained and in great condition. When we played we had the course to ourselves - we never had to wait and never had anyone behind us. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty52Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundelein, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed in room #102, which was supposed to have a kitchenette available for us to use. THis consisted of a mini-fridge on the floor and miniature microwave stacked on top. This was obviously wasn't this type of room but modified to qualify the price. My other complaint is that there was mold in the shower, totally disgusting. Not very pleased, and won't be going back. If you want to play golf, the course is awesome, just stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
199 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Came to golf - clubs never left the bag. My better half sprained an ankle. Found a lot to do in towns within 1 1/2 hours driving distance. From Grand Rapids with the Gerald Ford museum, the zoo, Meyers garden and Founders brewery. Then Big rapids for another brewery called Krankers and a restaurant called Shubergs. Then to Mt pleasent for a visit to CMU and movie called the Heat. Finished it off by going to the dunes. Quite a trip. Might have to come back again. Might bring the clubs. Golf courses are very nice also

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuronsForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanwood
11.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids
10.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Big Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
#3 of 4 in Big Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Two Hats Ranch
Two Hats Ranch
#1 of 1 in Big Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
11.0 mi away
Super 8 Big Rapids
Super 8 Big Rapids
#4 of 4 in Big Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at St. Ives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at St. Ives

Property: The Inn at St. Ives
Address: 9900 Saint Ives Dr, Stanwood, MI 49346-9363
Region: United States > Michigan > Mecosta County > Stanwood
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stanwood
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
The Inn At St. Ives Hotel Stanwood
Bed Breakfast St Ives
St Ives Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing