We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not at all like in pictures”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not at all like in pictures”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel needs updating. Well used. Beds are doubles. Very small room. Comforter had red stains on it. Complained at desk and they didn't,t seem concerned. Gave me another one! Was so glad when morning arrived to get out of there. The walk away breakfast was junk food. Did not feel safe in the parking lot. It is very close to Lakeside Mall. Hwy near by is very busy and hard to get on and off. Having a fully equipped kitchenette would. Be good for a longer stay than one night.q

Room Tip: Ask for a queen bed room or a suite if you want more room. Check the covers and sheets when you arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you so much for your response Gayle. We truly do use the information gained from our reviews to improve the quality of services and amenities that we provide to all of our guests. I have informed the necessary departments of your concerns, and we are acting on that information. We take pride in our property and can assure you this property is extremely safe. We have the luxury of sharing a parking lot with Lakeside Mall. This provides added security as the mall has their very own security patrols. Our guests do thoroughly enjoy having a full kitchen for short and extended stays. Thank you again for the feedback Gayle. I hope you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    41
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
29
14
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I was in the sterling heights area , several weeks for business purposes, and stayed long term
at the TownePlace Suites as it was convenient to all major routes, Detroit Arsenal, and DAU. This facility is also on Hall Road, near shopping and restaurants. Hall Road is a few miles long, and just PACKED with places to eat, and places to shop. If you are from Boston you will find lot's of familiar eating venues (IHOP, Outback Steakhouse, Red robin, Dunkin Donuts, Ruby Tuesday's, etc.,) all in one area. My room at the Towne Place was the basic studio, but was excellent! It had an L shaped desk, with places to store both above and beside the desk. It had a sofa bed, coffee table, end table and chair. It had an efficiency kitchen with an oven, stove, sink, refrigerator, and the cabinets were full of dishes and cooking pots and pans. One queen size bed with two nightstands. The room was nicely laid out, compact but not crowded. What a great place to stay for business. There was breakfast offered, Basically just fruit and cereal. surprisingly limited for such a high end hotel. Outside pool was small. There is no room service offered, but you can take the breakfast back to your room. would highly recommend this TownePlace Suites if you need to stay in the area long term. Great place for DOD travelers as the per diem rate is applicable.
The other great feature is that this location is in a very safe area. Definitely high end.
CONS: Breakfast was disappointing, work out room is basically a closet with a couple of treadmills, pool is small even for kids.
Bottom line fantastic place to stay and very reasonable.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor as it can be very noisy. If you are from New England and desperate fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZMANN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PENNSYLVANIA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were in Michigan to purchase a boat, and the seller suggested we stay at the TownePlace Suites as it was on Hall Road, near shopping and restaurants. Hall Road is a few miles long, and just PACKED with places to eat, and places to shop. Our room at the Towne Place was excellent! It had an L shaped desk, with places to store both above and beside the desk. It had a sofa bed, coffee table, end table and chair. It had an efficiency kitchen with an oven, stove, sink, refrigerator, and the cabinets were full of dishes and cooking pots and pans. Oh, and of course it had a queen size bed with two nightstands. The room was nicely laid out, compact but not crowded. What a great place to stay. There was breakfast offered, and an outside pool. There is no room service offered, but you can take the breakfast back to your room. would highly recommend this TownePlace Suites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REDNUGJOAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We just stayed Saturday June 14th 2014 in a 2 bedroom suite. There ended up only being my husband and I and our 14 yr old daughter. The room was excellent, clean and very comfortable. We relaxed by the pool and had plenty of choices for evening activities in the area. We didn't make it to the breakfast in the morning because we over slept. But that was because of the great night we had. Also there was fruit infused water both days at the front desk that was wonderful. Staff was also very nice.We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresaas9835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Excellent location for shopping, eating out or in. The kitchen was equipped for all your needs including a dish washer, t towels ,dish detergent. We had one of the best nights sleep...the pillows were like marshmallows. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shostra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T.o.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed at the TownePlace Suites in Sterling Heights at the beginning of March. The property is just on the outside of the Lakeside Mall and thus is convenient for shopping. Its also off Hall Road which is convenient for shopping and dining. However, the traffic is busy on Hall Rd 24/7.

I had a basic room with came with a double bed. The room is adequately furnished and was clean.
Pros:
-Off Hall Rd and close to shopping and dining options
-Building is decent condition and property is clean.
-Front desk was pleasant

Cons:
-I stayed, Building B, the Halls had a funky cooking smell on third floor.
- Bathroom sink was slow to drain.
- Ice machine is only in main building. If you stay in building B, you have to go outside to main building (A) to get Ice. They have 1 ice machine.
- Breakfast is very poor if you are comparing against other chains. Just cereal, yogurt coffee/tea available.
- Hall Rd is busy 24/7 (think mini highway)
-I saw some other guests who appeared to be long term residents based on the volume of items being moved into room
- Some individuals were hanging around the parking lot outside the property in the evening. Waiting for a friend or loitering?

Overall adequate accommodations and the location is convenient. Even better if you can get a deal on the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your response. We use the information gathered from all of our reviews to improve our services and amenities for future stays. I have notified the proper departments of the issues you discussed in your review. I am happy that you found our front desk pleasant and our rooms clean. We do have extended stay guests that enjoy our full kitchens. Again thank you so much for helping the TownePlace Suites by Marriot of Sterling Heights improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff was very warm and welcoming, showers were "roomy" and had good pressure, clean rooms, the standard room (312) is a bit smaller than other extended stay places I have stayed in and the queen bed is smaller than my queen at home but overall, I really liked this hotel. I'd stay again!
This is not a hotel issue but for someone who is not familiar with the area, the location is great but Hall rd traffic is a nightmare. Expect it and just deal with it. Lots of malls and restaurants close by.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dayna86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling Heights
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling Heights
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling He...
#1 of 6 in Sterling Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights

Property: TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights
Address: 14800 Lakeside Circle, Sterling Heights, MI 48313-1344
Region: United States > Michigan > Sterling Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sterling Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights Hotel Sterling Heights
Towneplace Suites Sterling Heights
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing