We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay!!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My Husband and I stayed here for 1 week and it was so nice!! I knew the minute we pulled up that it was going to be a nice place. The Staff here take pride in the property. The staff are so friendly and helpful, not to mention how friendly the "Extended Stay Folks" are too ;)
Our room was very clean and smelled great! The full kitchen was a life saver too!!
For Folks that spend a great deal of time traveling...You make it alot easier on us ;)
Just a HUGE Thank You to ALL the Staff here @ our Extended Stay America....Keep up the good work!!!

Room Tip: Walmart is right across the street, you are back off the road & have plenty of restaurants to ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Robin – Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. It is great to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly during your stay with us. As well, I am happy that you enjoyed your clean room and your fully equipped kitchen. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    40
    18
    11
    17
See reviews for
19
23
19
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The staff on duty was not properly trained to handle emergencies, stepping outside to have a cigarette you have to avoid the MANY piles of dog feces outside the entryways. Although free with options to pay for better services, the WIFI is slow.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKelley110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. To prevent this from happening again, my team is reviewing emergency procedures as well as sweeping the grounds more often to ensure the outside of our hotel is clean and welcoming.

I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at dsh@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Toni was a breath of fresh air every morning. Entire staff was great! Location was great, shopping center center right across the street. This was my second visit and I definitly will be back. Tom the maitance is a great guy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Mike - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm so pleased to hear that you had a great experience with Toni, Tom, and the rest of our staff. Furthermore, I am pleased to know that you found our location and amenities to be convenient for your needs.

Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plover, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Extended Stay America in Sterling Heights (near Detroit) is a quite acceptable place to stay considering the price per evening. The rooms are clean and tidy, but if you want to wash the dishes they provide, I suggest you bring your own dish detergent as the substance provided isn't great.

Room Tip: I suggest using Priceline for better prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbergtkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am so happy to know that you found our hotel to be so comfortable and your room to be clean. I am sorry that we do not provide detergent, but thank you for making the suggestion. We will look into providing this amenity to our guests in the future.

Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We always have a great stay. The location is great, not over priced and the front desk staff is very helpful and accommodating. This time our front desk staff was Toni, Mark and training was Aaron. Our trips are usually for a shopping weekend therefore having the full size fridge and kitchenette is perfect. We have one fur baby that travels with us and it is awesome that she is as welcome as well are! See you in December ;-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Lisa- I appreciate you taking the time to write such a kind review. I am proud of our team for making you feel you have a "Home away from home" when you travel down for your shopping trips. Your "Fur Baby" is always welcome!

Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I look forward to providing you with another comfortable stay in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Nice hotel. Probably stay again. Maybe one day the hotel will considered hot breakfast. Even when traveler come they can wash their clothes for free. Make tubs for handicapped people alittle bigger. The hotel team was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations we provided, and felt comfortable staying with us. Thank you for the kind comment about our staff.

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I Loved this hotel! Booked this room on priceline for a pretty good rate (very good considering it's right in the middle of Michigan). The location was perfect, it was only two blocks away from the BAE Systems where I worked for almost 3 months there.
It's a very nice hotel. Free wi-fi. Clean. Quiet. The staff was super friendly and easy to work with. Especially, there was a front desk lady (Muriel) was super nice to me every morning.
Overall, I was highly satisfied with my stay in Extended Stay. I've already even recommended it to our families. I can for sure say that I will go back to this hotel again the next time we go back for another trip.

Room Tip: third floor is quieter offcourse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tron n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Tron- Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm so pleased to hear that our staff and facilities helped you feel you had a "Home away from home." I have shared your kind words with the staff, especially Muriel. I am also happy we were located conveniently to your place of business.

Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling Heights
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling Heights
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling He...
#1 of 7 in Sterling Heights
329 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn And Suites Detroit Warren Tech Center
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sterling Heights-Detroit Area
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ste...
#2 of 7 in Sterling Heights
16 reviews
6.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterli...
#3 of 7 in Sterling Heights
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warren MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

Property: Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights
Address: 33400 Van Dyke Ave, Sterling Heights, MI 48312-5927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Sterling Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sterling Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Sterling Heights
Sterling Heights Extended Stay
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing