We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Stevensville
Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Spent 8 days at this hotel property while on location for work. The rooms are clean and efficient with full refrigerator, stove top, microwave, sink. The only thing I would update is a bigger coffee pot. The 4 cup is too small for an extended stay. Laundry facilities onsite (free to guests), convenient store with essentials for purchase, exercise room, hot tub. Directly behind Cracker Barrel and close to gas stations, groceries and other restaurants. Safe area for parking. I would book this property again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyr399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    14
    9
    11
    5
See reviews for
9
17
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brighton, mi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is the 4th time I have stayed at this hotel this summer. Good location for anyone visiting St Joseph/sliver beach/lake Michigan. Like all Candlewood suites hotels 1 bedroom suites are very large and have a full kitchen and sitting area. A lot of space for a little price. Hotel painted, added flat screen TV's and cleaned up the rooms last year. Front desk staff including manager Frank and staff member Crimson are excellent. I have stayed at a lot of hotels and the two of them are among the best anywhere! Overall, good value, good location, good staff. Only problem: 2 of the 4 times my room smelled like smoke even though the hotel is 100% nonsmoking. Staff tried to assist but there is a limit to how well you can quickly get rid of that smell.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghwmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here on our way to enjoy Silver Beach and Warren Dunes State park. We walked in and were given a AAA rate of $108.99. We were given a room on the first floor though we did not need a handicap accessible room. The property does not have a swimming pool but it does have a nice hot tub and if you were a person with physical disability, for the first time I saw a chair that would automatically lower you into the hot tub. The room smelled a little musty but after running the ceiling fan things cleared up while we were out of the room. No breakfast is included but there is a small shop to buy items if you need them. We went around the corner and went shopping for fresh fruits and veggies, meat and bread at a local Meijer's super store. The rooms include a small kitchenette. We enjoyed the complimentary use of their gas grill to grill steaks and chicken. Beds were comfortable and bedding was clean. A few of our towels seemed a little ragged on the edges and a tad stained but were nontheless very clean. We enjoyed a great picnic dinner under a screened in tent. Internet access is a breeze. Free DVDs are available even for kids. We also made use of the free washers and dryers onsite after exhausting our clean clothing supply while on vacation. We found the staff to be very helpful, cheery and welcoming throughout our stay. If you want to eat out there are a variety of eateries, including several cafes to dine outdoors. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back where there are woods for a quiet experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabbageroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This place is ok but not worth the $135 a night we paid. It was the July 4th week and I couldn't find anything else online that looked better. I've stayed at a Candlewood before that was so much nicer so I was really surprised how run down this one was. The bed sagged in the middle and the room was well worn but clean. The shower had a plastic hand held nozzle. There was no breakfast included. Coming from a $45 a night Hyatt Place the night before this was a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sndaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear sndaily,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry you about the saggy bed and the plastic handheld nozzle of the shower. I understand the discomfort this caused you. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stevensville hotels

michigan, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

After reading reviews I almost canceled but glad we didn't. No it is not the Ritz but our room was clean and comfortable. Liked having a fridge and microwave. Excercise room decent. Nice selection in pantry. Kinda bumbed that we are platinum members and got nothing at check in - and we booked 2 rooms on a slow night. Price was great for a stopping point on the way to Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubafrog869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
91 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

My husband and I stayed one night at this Candlewood Suites on the way to another destination in Michigan. We had stayed at this brand of hotel before, but this location was quite nice. We booked a one-bedroom suite, and it was extremely spacious and clean. The staff was extremely friendly (and provided a nice little treat due to my Priority Club membership). The hotel was very quiet, and I would never have known I was next to a highway. We enjoyed the hot tub, which was nice after driving for several hours, and the Pantry allowed us to purchase a snack for the evening without leaving the hotel property. I would definitely stay here again, especially for longer stays, for its proximity to the MIchigan shore and other attractions. The price was certainly much better than many of the resorts in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed here 3 years ago and liked it very much, so we decided to go here again for a special weekend away. We were very disappointed in how run-down it's become. Furniture had holes and white/grey stains, carpeting wasn't vacuumed well, and there was even a puddle of sticky something by the toilet (!!).

The shower curtain rod was halfway out of the wall, doors on cabinets were loose and ready to fall off, etc. etc. Too many things to mention them all, really.

When we went to the hot tub room down the hall, it was obvious it hadn't been cleaned in a LONG time. Grey/dark matter caked on the sides of the tub, for example.

It looks a lot like they've sold the place and are just waiting until the new owners take over and fix everything. It also looks like the maintenance staff was laid off months ago, and the housekeeping staff sees the writing on the wall and doesn't care anymore.

The only positive is that the front desk staff (1 person on a given shift) was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevensville
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
#2 of 6 in Stevensville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
5.5 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor

Property: Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor
Address: 2567 W Marquette Woods Rd, Stevensville, MI 49127-9326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Stevensville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Stevensville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites of Stevensville, Benton Harbor & St. Joseph is Southwest Michigan's premier hotel for overnight, Corporate housing and Relocation stay. Minutes from Fourwinds Casino Resort in New Buffalo, near restaurants like Tabor Hill, Tosis, Grand Mere, Rye Belle and Silver Beech Pizza. Surrounded by premiere golf courses like The Harbor Shores-Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Club, Hampshire Country Club and Berrien Hills Golf Club. Visit our Wineries like Tabor Hill, the Round Barn, Domaine Berrien and Lemon Creek. Have fun at Silver Beach in St. Joseph, plus other beaches up and down our beautiful Lake Michigan. Come for the Art Fair in June, enjoy festivals and concerts all summer long, and witness the Whirlpool Steelhead Triathlon in August. Visit the U-Pick Farms in summer and fall. With all our rivers and lakes, our guests enjoy kayaking, paddle boarding, fishing and kiteboarding. Each room is equipped with a full size kitchen - like in your home, high speed internet, DVD player, movies available. Also available for use; free laundry, a large private patio grill area, hot tub & fitness center, and our Cupboard (mini-store). Meeting rooms and business center, geared for business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Stevensville Hotel Stevensville
Candlewood Stevensville
Stevensville Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing