We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel - very up to date!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stevensville
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel - very up to date!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had already stayed at this hotel about 7 years ago - and back then it was very modern, and renovated. We had the chance to stay this year and see that it was completely renovated again!

It looks very modern - lobby and rooms were clean and spacious. Quiet A/C in the room.

Breakfast was very good.

Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEscalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for the feedback on the room. We pride ourselves on a great hotel and great hotel staff. We hope to see you and the family back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    108
    72
    44
    20
See reviews for
153
91
20
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The staff here were friendly, the hotel is in a good location, workout facility was new, pool was a nice size for the kids (bigger than most Hampton pools) however cleanliness is a deal breaker for me...hence the three stars. Our family of four stayed three nights.

Upon check in there were 2 dirty towels on the back of our bathroom door, I can live with that. However, there was hair on the bathroom floor from the previous guest as well as several bobby pins on the floor...that does not give you a good feeling for the overall cleanliness of your room. I wiped the hair up and picked up the bobby pins. I later found another bobby pin on the carpet in the room too. There was a chip in between the beds that never got vacuumed, I left it there to see if the room was vacuumed and it was never picked up which led me to believe our room wasn't vacuumed.

The elevator was out one day but we like taking the stairs so it didn't impact us. However, if you are disabled and rely on an elevator I'd request a first floor room.

We did like the location as it is about a 5 min. or so drive to Lake Michigan. Silver Beach was a very nice family oriented beach, it was very clean too. If you forget anything, Meijer is across the street from the hotel.

Upon check out on a Sunday I let the front staff know about the lack of cleanliness in the room. She was surprised and brought out someone from housekeeping to let her know, I was then told by the front desk staff member that I would be hearing from the hotel manager. It is Tuesday evening and I still have not received a phone call. For the first time ever, we did not leave a tip for housekeeping on our last day. We did tip housekeeping the first two days.

Room Tip: Stay on the side facing Red Arrow Hwy to avoid the highway noise from the highway behind the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartans95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review for the hotel. I apologize for the problems you did encounter at the hotel. We will definately take this back to the staff to ensure this doesn't happen again. We will also make sure someone contacts you and takes care of the situation. Once again thank you for the feedback and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystal lake, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

had a great experience a this property. very clean. hotel staff very helpful and friendly. breakfast was well stocked and fresh. staff worked with a smile. location to beach was also a plus. only issue was i think the room felt a little small

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for the feedback from your stay. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and we are glad you enjoyed that and the staff. You picked a great time to come with the beach and weather. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Me and my mom love traveling to St. Joseph, MI! We usually stay at the Comfort Suites near the Hampton, but the Comfort Suites had no availability (since we booked last minute), so we decided to check out the Hampton. So good we did! The price was a little higher, but so worth it. We thought the Comfort Suites was nice, but this is definitely our new go-to hotel for when we visit St. Joes! The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating (gave us a call about 30 minutes after we checked in to make sure everything was okay). The lobby was so modern and nice, something you wouldn't expect from a chain hotel. The room was awesome! We loved the modern feel.. not that typical, old green carpeted floor with outdated curtains and paintings on the walls. Instead, one wall was painted a beautiful burnt orange; another wall had a great built-in desk; teal couch pillows and curtain; modern metallic foot rest/coffee table; flat screen TV with HBO; cool table lamps with outlets built in; comfy bed; and gorgeous bathroom. We absolutely loved it! The only downside is its physical location. While it is just minutes from silver beach and all the hustle and bustle of downtown St. Joes, it is located right off of the highway, with views of that. They did try to enhance the view by planting some big trees to block the highway, and with a few more planted, the view would be much better. But all in all, it did not bother us and would not prevent us from staying there again. We loved it here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank sseeber7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn. Thank you also for the great feedback about our remodel. A lot of great stuff was added to the hotel and we were very excited this summer to show off the hotel. We hope you come back and visit us next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Enjoyed the stay, everything one expects in a Hampton. Nice location, near local in down town St. Joseph but also close to Freeway. Have used other hotels, the Hampton beats all other St. Joe hotels. Staff is clean, attentive. Only complaint were temporary. They had apparent recurring issue with the elevator. Would return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn and also taking the time to write a review. We do pride ourselves on the cleanliness and have a great staff here at the hotel. The elevator has been fixed and is in great shape. We really hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel seemed a little small and worn out. It is located very near the interstate and you could feel the truck traffic noise all night long. We were there five nights. For two of those days, the elevator was out of service, making it necessary for us to carry our luggage down the stairs when departing. The breakfast dining area was very small. On several days, there was no place to sit for breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful. But it is hard to overcome the drawbacks of the facility. We always choose Hampton Inn when can. But we would avoid this one in the future.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the street side, avoiding the back, which is near the interstate highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vilson53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Hampton Inn. We do apologize for the problems you did encounter during the stay. We will take the feedback and problems you encountered to make future stays better! Feel free to contact us at the hotel. We appreciate the feedback and would love to have you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very nice place but kinda pricey for the area. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean, but very small and could use some more light in the bathroom. The bed is reasonably comfortable. Breakfast is very basic and boring. The elevator works only once in awhile. They do not have a guest laundry which to me is a major drawback. Highway right next to the hotel is very noisy. Also the room doors are very heavy which causes everyone to slam their door very annoying!!!

Room Tip: Get a front facing room to avoid the highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LONEMOON79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. We apologize about the issues you had at the hotel. The elevator is back to running normal. We will take the feedback from breakfast and the rooms to try and make it a better stay next time around. Feel free to contact us at the hotel with any other concerns you have. Hope you give us another try and would love to have you stay here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevensville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
6.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
5.9 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
262 reviews
4.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94

Property: Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
Address: 5050 Red Arrow Hwy, Stevensville, MI 49127-1014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Stevensville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stevensville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Joseph i-94 Hotel Stevensville
Hampton Inn Stevensville
Stevensville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing