We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value and Everything You Need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
American Inn Sturgis
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sturgis
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value and Everything You Need”
Reviewed 29 June 2010

I stay here frequently. I own my own business and travel throughout the region. The rooms are large and comfortable. Internet access and desk allows me to do work at night. The decor is dated, but the rooms are clean. The manager is very friendly and is available if you need anything. The pool has just been re-done. The bottom line is you can certainly find places more luxurious, but if you're looking for a clean, safe place at a fraction of the cost, you won't find anything to beat it in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akascootman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
4
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Owners are friendly and accomodating. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Good wireless internet included free.

The rate is fantastic. Look, if you want a newly decorated room with an indoor pool, exercise room, and breakfast, then stay next door and pay $99 per night. I'd rather stay here and save $60 per night.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPicture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

For the second trip needing an overnight stay off of the Indiana Turnpike this summer, we decided to pull in rather than spend 4 more hours on the road and push it to home after a long day of travel. Since I was here with a friend earlier this summer, I recommended this hotel to my husband.

My family was very pleasantly surprised. The value for the room was great. It was easy to plan an overnight stay at the $50 rate by using the internet coupon--we didn't need to show the coupon, just asked for the internet rate. My husband remarked that the room was exceptionally clean, and "smelled really clean". On the front end of our vacation, we stayed in the Pittsburgh area at a Marriott hotel, and this room was cleaner and certainly more easy to unload our suitcases and overnight gear from the car parked directly outside of our door. It cost $90 less a night and was at least twice the size!

Even though the hotel is on a busy road, the room noise was minimal. It was easy to spot off of the freeway.

Let's say we will plan to be back again on our travels to and through the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjrswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

This was a one night stay while driving across the country. The motel was close to the highway. We arrived late at night and left early in the morning, so it was "OK". The room was very large and reasonably clean. The shower was not the best, but "OK". There are absolutely no frills-just a bed and shower!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sand Springs Ok
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We stayed here for only one night, so I didn't need anything fancy, and it's not fancy, but it is clean and comfortable. This was the largest room we had on this trip, it even has a couch on one side of the room, along with a fridge and microwave. The wireless internet worked pretty good and the outdoor pool looked clean. It is located just off the Indiana Turnpike, but noise was not a problem. I paid $45 thru Priceline and I would say that was a fair price.

  • Liked — Wireless internet
  • Disliked — no breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgis
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturgis-Lagrange Area
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Sturgis
Travelodge Sturgis
#2 of 5 in Sturgis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Howe
Super 8 Howe
#3 of 4 in Howe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Howe
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn Sturgis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn Sturgis

Property: American Inn Sturgis
Address: 71381 S Centerville Rd, Sturgis, MI 49091-9753
Region: United States > Michigan > St. Joseph County > Sturgis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sturgis
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn Sturgis 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes to I 80/90 and Shishwana, the American Inn of Sturgis is just a short drive to Pokagon State Park, Western Michigan University, University of Notre Dame, golfing, and more. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers free wireless internet, an outdoor pool, large vehicle parking and pets are welcome with additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your American Inn Sturgis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing