We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a not so great area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sturgis-Lagrange Area
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sturgis
Au Train, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good hotel in a not so great area”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Ended up checking in on our way to indiana. Check in was good but the lady was super busy at the front desk. Got to our room at the end of the hallway. Wasn't to bad. Except we had a very ugly view of the motel next door the american inn. It looked very scary. And we saw some pretty interesting things..We drove around the area of Sturgis and that was a very ugly creepy area. The pool was small and a bit dirty so didnt swim long. Overall I think there trying to do there best for the area there in. Was decently clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbigailR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    65
    31
    15
    11
See reviews for
80
42
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sturgis/LaGrange, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The room rate was quote good and the staff was helpful and very pleasant. The decor was dated; and there was a musty odor in the hallways and to a lesser extent in the rooms. Overall, this was a quite good value with average room value and excellent staff responsiveness.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was one of our best hotel experiences in a long time. We had a quiet room on the top floor. The complimentary hot breakfast was amazing and possibly the best we've ever had at a hotel. The only thing we had a complaint about was that the pool area floors were extremely slippery.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank matt0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A great location as it is right off the interstate, staff extremely helpful, pleasant and kind, quick to suggest restaurants in the area for lunch and the in house breakfast was very nice. Rooms clean and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank kmr858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Heights, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hotel services and breakfast was fine. Had a issue with a double billing, but they were very willing to look into the issue and credit my card. I would be willing to stay again in the hotel, but would be careful to insure billing was correct.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel was just okay...but there aren't many choices in this area. They didn't have a pantry to purchase beverages or food, and the young lady working at the front desk was surprised when I told her that other Hampton's have them. I had to ask for soap for the shower, and the bathroom needed attention. On an extremely positive note...every one of the employees that I encountered were very helpful and also very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Based on the price I was quoted prior to my stay, I expected this to be an older Hampton Inn or one in need of renovation. I was pleasantly surprised to find this hotel was in great shape, very clean, and looked like it might have recently been renovated. Other than the average friendliness of the staff (one desk clerk, Christine, didn't smile much but was efficient, although another one, Bonnie, was very friendly), this was a very good experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgis
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Sturgis
Travelodge Sturgis
#2 of 5 in Sturgis
136 reviews
10.4 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Super 8 Three Rivers
Super 8 Three Rivers
#1 of 3 in Three Rivers
231 reviews
10.0 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
770 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Sturgis-Lagrange Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sturgis-Lagrange Area

Property: Hampton Inn Sturgis-Lagrange Area
Address: 71451 S Centerville Rd, Sturgis, MI 49091-9753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > St. Joseph County > Sturgis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sturgis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sturgis-Lagrange Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off Interstate- 90, on the Michigan/ Indiana border, the Hampton Inn Sturgis - Lagrange Area hotel gives you clean, comfortable accommodation and great value. When you stay at this Sturgis hotel you are in easy reach of local businesses such as Abbot Labs and close to popular attractions like the Shipshewana Flea Market and Amish country. Just an hour’s drive from Notre Dame Stadium, this is the perfect place to stay if you’re going to see a game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Sturgis-Lagrange Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sturgis
Sturgis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing