We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch spot while touring wineries”

Hearth & Vine Cafe at Black Star Farms
Ranked #13 of 28 Restaurants in Suttons Bay
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Pizza, American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hearth & Vine is a cozy cafe with indoor and patio seating on the beautiful Black Star Farms Winery estate just south of Suttons Bay on the scenic Leelanau Peninsula. The true farm to table menu features fresh local & seasonal ingredients that are sure to delight your culinary senses, especially when paired with Black Star Farm's wine, cider and specialty craft cocktails.
Flat Rock, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot while touring wineries”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Enjoyed a very good lunch on the patio. Service was very good. They offered wines and hard cider produced by Black Star. My companions had a beet and goat cheese salad and a chicken and prosciutto sandwich while I had a thin crust pizza (wood fired pizza oven) which was large enough to share.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, IN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pizza!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We were staying at the Inn here at Black Star Farms, and after enjoying several wine tastings we opted to stay in for the evening and order pizza from Hearth And Vine. Not sure what to order from their unique selections, they suggested the potato pizza. Out of mere curiosity we did, and wow!... We agreed this was the best pizza we had ever had.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oldenkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience!!!' Do Not Miss During Your Visit”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As locals of Traverse City we have visited the Hearth and Vine many times. Old world stone oven pizzas for $14.00 are the best. They also serve salads and sandwiches. The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to make your experience to notch. You can eat indoors or outdoors. After your meal take the family to the free petting farm located right behind Hearth and Vine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pizza, lovely grounds”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Our overall experience here was great, but I do have to say the service was lacking a bit. That being said, the pizza was fantastic!! We had a large group with 7 children. We sampled 6 different kinds if pizza and everyone raved about them. Even the reluctant kids (used to the average chain restaurant cheese pizza) stepped outside their comfort zones and gobbled them up. After lunch we explored the grounds. We all enjoyed petting and visiting the goats, sheep, chickens and horses. A worthwhile visit for sure!

Helpful?
Thank TurkishDelight2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty sandwiches”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After a full morning of wine tasting, we stopped in for lunch and were not disappointed. The chicken sandwich with grilled apples was great!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hearth & Vine Cafe at Black Star Farms also viewed

Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 

Been to Hearth & Vine Cafe at Black Star Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing