We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Favorite Place for Wine Tasting”
Review of L. Mawby Vineyards

L. Mawby Vineyards
Ranked #5 of 24 things to do in Suttons Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We planted our first vines in 1973 and established our vineyards in 1976. We exclusively produce sparkling wine using both the traditional method (bottle fermented) and cuve close (tank fermented) methods. L. Mawby wines are traditional method sparkling wines produced entirely from Leelanau Peninsula wine grapes. M.Lawrence wines are cuve close sparklers produced from Michigan and other wine grapes. Our tasting room is open to the public and our hours very depending on the season. May - Oct: Monday - Saturday, 12-6pm and Sunday, 12-5pm. Nov. - Apr: Wednesday - Sunday, 12-5pm.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolute Favorite Place for Wine Tasting”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful location, friendly staff and one of the few wineries I can say I love almost everything on the menu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tctraveller231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    19
    7
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage, MI
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A MUST”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

They specialize in bubbly wines - or champagnes.... I would recommend doing a small tasting and then getting a small plate of goat cheese of white fish and sit out back with your 2 favorites.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheri22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Winery in the Area”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We returned to L Mawby recently and we were impressed again. Larry Mawby is the furthest thing from a stuffy wine maker--the space is friendly and rustic and be sure to check out the irreverent signs on the walls. Larry is a genius at sparkling wines--I would strongly advise even those who do not think they like sparkling wines, you will find Larry's to be different. The way that they do their tastings is that first they give you a free taste of their Sandpiper which is only available there. You then can do a tasting for a fee of two different wines along with a small bite such as goat cheese and crackers. You sit on a covered balcony or in a lower patio that adjoins some of vines--again, not fancy but relaxed and comfortable. As a specific suggestion try his Redd--a wonderful sparkling red wine. The staff is knowledgeable and helpful--if you are lucky Larry will be there--sometimes out in the parking lot directing traffic. In my opinion a must stop if doing wineries in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is the only sparkling winery in the area. It is a fun, welcoming tasting room. There is not one wine I dislike. A must for folks touring wine country in northern Michigan!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsburg, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Welcoming testing room. We were greeted the minute we walked into the place. All sparkling or champagne. Complimentary two glasses. Bought a bottle for home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L. Mawby Vineyards also viewed

Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 

Been to L. Mawby Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing