We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suttons Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Black Star Farms
Ranked #2 of 9 Suttons Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2011

My wife and I stay at BSF for our anniversary every December for the last 7 years. (been married 13) We can't say enough how nice this place is we have stayed in several different rooms and have enjoyed everyone, Atlas being our favorite. We have also made the trek up there from Chicago in July and Sept as well and all though a little more crowded still love it!
The innkeepers make you feel at home and the gourmet breakfasts are wonderful and not to be missed. They also cater to my wife's picky eating habits! Coffee is always fresh in morning and thru out the day, nice when you have been out snow shoeing all day.
Wine reception is always nice with a wide selection of wines to drink and creative appetizers from their great chefs, hiking thru out the vineyard is always a plus no matter what the season... Tastings in the winery and the cheese from the cheese makers on site what else could you ask for on a weekend away from reality!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Decoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2011

My husband and I just left the Black Star Inn and we cannot stay enough wonderful things about this place. The staff are the friendliest people you will meet. The rooms are absolutely spotless (and I am SO picky). Ask for the Atlas Room - beautiful room with an enormous bathroom. The Inn is situated on a farm in Sutton Bay, but it also is a winery and a cheese manufacturer. The breakfasts are out of this world ( who gets Tenderloin Steak for Breakfast?). and the "reception hour" is wonderful food and wines from the vineyard from 5:30 - 6:30. The wine at Black Star was the best out of the 14 wineries in the region! I have never written a review with trip advisor, but I always read reviews before I stay - I cannot tell you how wonderful this place is. GO!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhodaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Fantastic place and we will be back. It seems that all of the rooms are great, from the largest to smallest. Our mattress could stand to be replaced, but don't let that detract. The people are nice, the food was fantastic, location perfect, and it's just beautiful there. Perfect place for a getaway (not great for kids I don't think, though there are animals that you can visit with there), close enough to Traverse City to get there pretty quickly. Easy access to all the wineries. I wish we had more time to just hang on the great front porch of the Inn but maybe next time.

From tasting hour (with snacks) every day at 5:00 (or was it 5:30) to the really great gourmet breakfast to a glass of wine always available, the service is perfect. I can't say enough.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChelseaPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon last week, and were completely enamored by everything about Black Star Farms.

The breakfast given each morning is amazing, and made with many organic products that are grown onsite (bacon, asparagus, etc) and/or from local businesses. The farm onsite has an array of animals, which for an animal lover like myself was a joy (baby turkeys, horses, chickens, goats, baby geese, pigs). The wine tasting that is given to you complimentary as a guest was wonderful. Besides finding many wines (Pinot Gris, House Red and White, etc) that were wonderful, we were also treated to finding some amazing brandy's that were made, as well as, some wonderful cheeses (There Raclette is a must try!!).

I also have to mention there staff. Each and every person we encountered were true custodians, going above and beyond to ensure that our stay was enjoyed.

Most importantly, the room we stayed in was absolutely perfect. The room was very well made, having an abundance of storage cabinets for clothing, his/her sinks and the most comfortable sheets I have ever had the pleasure of having in a hotel/inn.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nunzio50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Planned a girlfriend's Wine Tour weekend and stayed at Blackstar Farms Inn for 2 nights. What an amazing experience! From the second we checked in, Jill was such a gracious hostess the entire weekend. She made us feel special without being overbearing. We loved the hospitality hours, and the breakfasts -- WOW! Really fabulous food! The chef cooked a special dinner on Saturday which we took advantage of and it was incredible. We stayed in the Castor/Pollux suite which was perfect for 3 adults. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable and we LOVED the sitting room with fireplace and view of the stables. What a great place to relax and catch up. The grounds are beautiful, we went for a hike in the morning before hitting the Wine Trail, and even though temps were in the 20's, the forest and the vineyards were beautiful and we enjoyed our walk. We even watched some of the equestrians work their horses in the indoor arena. Overall, it was a perfect weekend and I can't say enough about the awesomeness of this Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racerxgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Although we moved from southeastern Michigan to New York in January of 2008, we continue to visit the Inn at Black Star Farms for a long weekend every October. It’s a lengthy trip, but BSF feels like home. The innkeepers are warm and welcoming, the accommodations are comfortable and luxurious, the chef prepares a wonderful breakfast each morning, and the hospitality hour affords an opportunity to try Black Star Farms wines away from the crowds in the winery’s tasting room. We experienced a wonderful fall weekend last week, cool but sunny, perfect for hiking on the property’s trails and visiting with the horses and other farm animals. My favorite: a pony named Whoa Nelly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PammyJo10510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Just spent the most relaxing weekend at Black Star Farms, it is incredible and worth every penny. Doe Coe, the managing partner and Kelly were warm and friendly. The rooms include a bottle of wine, appetizers and drinks in the evening. Breakfast will satisfy the most picky foodie. My most enjoyable part was visiting the farm and seeing the animals and gardens. The restaurant on site, Hearth and Vine is amazing and has the best pizza you will ever taste. We were surprised to see Mario Batali there with his family enjoying the pizza! The visit includes all the tastings you want at the winery, the wines are very good. We were so impressed we booked another weekend in the fall!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettyvanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suttons Bay
8.5 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
82 reviews
11.7 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
12.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,407 reviews
3.2 mi away
Korner Kottage Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
M-22 Inn Suttons Bay
M-22 Inn Suttons Bay
#1 of 2 in Suttons Bay
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Black Star Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Black Star Farms

Address: 10844 E Revold Rd, Suttons Bay, MI 49682-9703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Suttons Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Suttons Bay
Price Range: £171 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ultimate escape in the heart of Leelanau Peninsula Wine Country where you will feel comfortable, pampered, and renewed. Our distinctive Bed & Breakfast Inn nestled below a hillside of vineyards and overlooking barns and pastures, features ten luxurious guestrooms with an exceptional package of amenities. Every overnight stay package includes a gourmet, farm-fresh breakfast, nightly hospitality hour with wine and hors d’oeuvres, a bottle of our house wine, and a VIP tasting at our exclusive onsite Barrel Room, a value of $120! In addition guests receive discounts on tasting room purchases, dining at the Hearth & Vine Café (seasonal), private use of our sauna room, and access to our hiking trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Black Star Farms Hotel Suttons Bay
The Inn At Black Star Farms Suttons Bay, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing