We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Black Star Farms
Nearby Hotels
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leland Lodge(Leland)(Great Value!)
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Indigo Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayshore Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Place Hotel(Traverse City)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Traverse Motel(Traverse City)
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambria Hotel Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
132
13
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
13
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting roomhospitality hourwine tastingatlas roomevery morningbarrel roomon tapwine receptionfall weekendthe barnyogurtgrounds are beautifullittle thingsamazing place to staythe daily happy hourplace is beautifulwould recommend this place to anyone
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband and I just came back from the Inn at Black Star Farms. It was our second trip to the Inn and was as wonderful the first time we stayed here. Rooms and grounds are beautiful. Food was excellent, if you have the opportunity to have dinner here I highly recommend it. Staff is friendly and attentive. Best of all is the unlimited wine tasting with a short walk back to you room and the happy hour at the Inn. Definitely will visit again.

Room Tip: Mira is the only room with a kitchen. Also is on the ground floor with a rear entrance you can drive to. It was very quiet, no problems with noise.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VGMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Black Star Farms is located right off M22, one of the USA's most scenic stretch of highway. The grounds are beautiful and rows of grapevines greet your entry to the property. The Inn is a stunning Kentucky style building with a large porch with large columns. My husband and I were stunned before we even got out of the car. As you enter the foyer of the Inn you see a large winding staircase and marble floors; the interior is equally as beautiful. We were greeted by Jill and shown right to our room, we didn't even have to sit down or sign anything, that was great!

Our room was on the first floor and was like a small apartment, including a full kitchen. I choose this room so we would have a refrigerator and could bring food for lunches and snacks and drinks. We also had our own back entrance and parking area. I loved these features. We backed our car right up to the bedroom door to unload (and load). The room was beyond fantastic, plenty of room to stretch out and relax without having to just sit on your bed or in a "decorative" chair, as is so often the case. Coffee/tea was delivered to the table outside our door at 7:30 every morning, what a treat! The room was A++

The food and service were also A++. Our first treat, afternoon snacks. On our first day the snacks were chocolate eclairs and chocolate dipped rice krispie treats. We LOVE our afternoon coffee and it was a short walk to the kitchen for fresh coffee. Day 2 brought cream puffs and a sponge cake type of muffin/cupcake. Yummy! Every evening we had a hospitality hour which included appetizers and wine. Each night had two food offerings, including quesadillas that were awesome. There were several wine offerings and a wine on tap that was always available to guests. But as wonderful as these food offerings were, the highlight was breakfast! As you walked into the kitchen area the chef would start preparing your entree. While he did so you were greeted with several fresh juice choices, yogurt, fresh fruit, granola, and various home made breads and sweet breads. This would have been enough, but a few minutes later you were treated to a gourmet breakfast that was to die for!! An absolute treat!!

Also included with your stay is an expanded wine tasting at their tasting room. What an experience! This was also fabulous, and such fun.

I cannot say enough about the room, food, service, beautiful grounds, and the people at the Inn at Black Star Farms. Truly an experience to be savored. I fully understand why they are in the Select Registry, and well deserved!! We WILL return. (Oh, and they give perks for returning guests!) I couldn't believe the Inn at Black Star Farms is #2 on TripAdvisor, I cannot imagine anything could top this B&B!

Room Tip: Two rooms are on the first floor and have a separate rear entrance. One of the two has a full kitchen with fridge.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaelicmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Just spent the Memorial Weekend at Black Star Farms. Have to say I was a little reluctant to go to a bed a breakfast and will tell you my impression has completely changed! They had amazing service and Really cared about my experience! The room was AMAZING!! The Food was AMAZING!! I am a foodie and a snob when it comes to resorts. Black Star Farms not only met my expectations but well exceeded it!! Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatmandew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We have stayed at the Inn at Black Star for the last 10 years. We have yet to be disappointed and are continually amazed at their hospitality and gourmet breakfast. Love the happy hour, wine in the room and the great hiking trails as well. Keep up the good work and continue to offer a great value as well!

Room Tip: Any and all!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The Inn at Black Star Farms provided a very personalized, relaxing and flavorfull experience ~ even the drive in to the Inn was wonderful. The Diadem room was beautiful ~ the fireplace and sitting area were MOST inviting and romantic after touring the grounds ~ wine tasting, cheese store and horse arena. "Our" appetizer plate was a wonderful adjunct to their wines. Breakfast was personally served by the chef who was knowledgeable about the areas resources. All the staff (Kellie, Jill, John, Cary and Don Coe) from arrival to departure were very friendly and gracious. We're ager to return for a longer stay and utilize more of their offerings!

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet and secluded... Easily reached by the back stairs, too!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exercise23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews