We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat offenders”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suttons Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Black Star Farms
Ranked #2 of 9 Suttons Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have stayed at The Inn At Black Star Farms three times now and our stay was just like the last two, simply amazing. The impeccability of the rooms, the warmth of the innkeeper Jil and the gourmet breakfast made this last minute getaway memorable, given it was our 9th wedding anniversary. We upgraded to the romance package and the the back-to-back massages Sunday morning were much needed given our hectic schedules. The bottle of BeDazzled and wine flutes were a nice touch with the package as was the Long stem rose waiting for my wife on the bed when we entered. We will definitely come back again!

Room Tip: The Lyra is the most cost effective, $225 high season and $150/night low season.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marzen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatbsf, Innkeeper at The Inn at Black Star Farms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is always nice to see you both. We very much appreciate your repeat business. -Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Black Star Farms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

My sister planned and booked our trip and this was a new place for both of us. More bed and breakfast then hotel. We stayed in Betelgeuse - lovely room. All the suites are named for stars.
A great spot to stay if you want to visit Petoskey, Charlevoix and Harbor Springs - all a short drive away. Very pretty property and breakfast was delicious! We enjoyed the wine reception as well as the tasting room and picked up some cheese too. 2-thumbs up - we will certainly go back!

Room Tip: Look at the website it is very descriptive
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatbsf, Innkeeper at The Inn at Black Star Farms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves. We appreciate your visit. -Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Black Star Farms is a beautiful inn. The outside is charming and rooms are large, clean and with high end finishes. You will pay a pretty penny for a suite though! The grounds are grand and more of a farm than vineyard. The vineyard is on the smaller side. I really did enjoy my stay but there were a few disappointing factors. We visited in mid May which according to their calendar and prices is the beginning of prime season. If its prime season why was the wine bar and market closed? Also, why was the restaurant on premise closed for dinner? If guests are paying up to $300 per night I'd expect for these to be open. There was a lovely, complimentary breakfast though and a complimentary hospitality hour at the bar which was nice too. The actual tasting room was open until 6 or 6:30 and offered 8 complimentary wines to taste for their guests along with two brandies and a souvenir wine glass.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackstarfarms, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Black Star Farms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I'm sorry that you had a negative aspect to your stay. Our high season begins Friday of Memorial Day weekend every year, and we time our cafe's opening to that holiday. We were able to open for the Saturday and Sunday of the weekend prior this year, albeit with shorter hours. We also would like to be able to open our cafe and provide dinners earlier in the year, but the business does not support adequate employment of staff although this gets better every year. We make every effort to direct our guests to the many fine restaurants nearby who really appreciate the business we can send them in the quiet times of the year, and we do offer picnic dinners, as indicated on our website and in our confirmation emails, that guests can enjoy at their leisure. I hope that you will visit again in the future when our on-site dining options are in full operation. Kindly, Kellie Parks, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We have been visiting Blackstar Farms for the past 6 or 7 years! We cannot imagine a year where we wont go at least once! When you know all of the Innkeepers and chefs by name, you know you have been made to feel welcome! Even the folks in the tasting room remember us! Thank you Kellie, Jill, Street, and Stephanie! Amber from Tastes-it was nice to meet you during vinyl night!! We may see you in the fall for a getaway! If not, we will see you in May 2014!

Room Tip: If you want a fantastic tub, get Atlas!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 835Edith_E835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackstarfarms, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Black Star Farms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to your visits every year! We missed you for Asparagus Fest this year... Hope to see you soon! -Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

What a wonderful stay we had! The rooms were cozy and inviting. The breakfasts were beautifully presented and delicious! There was so much to do. The wines were yummy the farm a great place to stroll. We had a relaxing and peaceful time there. There we may place to visit staying there too. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackstarfarms, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Black Star Farms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you Jeanine! We enjoying having you. -Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This was the 2nd year in a row we spent a weekend at BSF's. After the first stay, we were hooked. Everything is top-notch from the friendliness of the staff, to the beautiful setting and emaculate rooms to the gourmet breakfast and dinners. Being treated as a VIP at the tasting room just adds to the experience. Can't think of one negative thing to say. We already can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jk0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackstarfarms, Manager at The Inn at Black Star Farms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We very much appreciate your continued business. -Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

There is something special about the Inn at Black Star Farms. It's peaceful and quiet, and the inn owners are wonderful and warm, like friends who've invited you to their cool house in the country for a few days. It's a great place stay while exploring wineries on Old Mission and Leelanua peninsulas. It's not cheap, but it comes with a good amount of food and wine. The breakfast quiche was delicious and upscale, the freshly ground coffee from a local beanery incredible, and loved the happy hour with good wine and appetizers. Loved waking up in the morning, watching as the mist burned off the Bay, listening to the horses. Nice couple getaway for a few days. (My one criticism is you need thicker coverings on our room with East facing windows; very bright in morning.) The winery there is among my favorite. Also, do not miss 2 Lads winery on Old Mission; it's representative of the huge progress Michigan wineries are making.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BellaAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackstarfarms, Manager at The Inn at Black Star Farms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate it. -Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suttons Bay
8.5 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
80 reviews
11.7 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
12.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
13.9 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,249 reviews
1.2 mi away
M-22 Inn Suttons Bay
M-22 Inn Suttons Bay
#1 of 2 in Suttons Bay
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Black Star Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Black Star Farms

Address: 10844 E Revold Rd, Suttons Bay, MI 49682-9703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Suttons Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Suttons Bay
Price Range: £167 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ultimate escape in the heart of Leelanau Peninsula Wine Country where you will feel comfortable, pampered, and renewed. Our distinctive Bed & Breakfast Inn nestled below a hillside of vineyards and overlooking barns and pastures, features ten luxurious guestrooms with an exceptional package of amenities. Every overnight stay package includes a gourmet, farm-fresh breakfast, nightly hospitality hour with wine and hors d’oeuvres, a bottle of our house wine, and a VIP tasting at our exclusive onsite Barrel Room, a value of $120! In addition guests receive discounts on tasting room purchases, dining at the Hearth & Vine Café (seasonal), private use of our sauna room, and access to our hiking trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Black Star Farms Hotel Suttons Bay
The Inn At Black Star Farms Suttons Bay, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing